49 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

With our miserable bone-chilling weather, I had a taste for a good hearty quick soup. However, when I went to the local grocery store (why are they all called ?supermarkets?? how come there are no averagemarkets, goodmarkets, or alsoranmarkets?} to purchase the vegetables, the only green beans they had looked every bit as bad as TV chef Jamie Oliver?s hair. So I was forced to nix the beans, but I got lucky and spotted a couple of very decent ears of corn, so I cut the corn off the cobs and used that instead. I was out of homemade beef broth and I would only use store-bought beef broth to feed starving Armenians, so I made a quick broth using English Bovril which has an extremely intense beef flavour ? that, combined with the tomato flavour, was absolutely heavenly. I also lucked out and found very fresh herbs in the store, so I used them instead of dried. As to the garlic cloves, I referred to Recipezaar member MeanChef?s famous garlic formula: ?If a recipe calls for one garlic clove, use three?. The end result of all this was a most superior quick and easy soup that warmed the cockles of the hearts of all those who consumed it.

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fido ®™ December 12, 2002

This is an excellent recipe not only for people watching their calories and fat, but for anyone that loves a good vegetable soup. I have tried it with both chicken and beef broth and they are equally as good. For a little extra I have added pieces of chicken, mushrooms and celery. Five stars in my book.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rugman7 January 22, 2003

This is an excellent recipe with an added bonus of being good for the diet conscious! I loved it! I am partial to chicken soup, so I used the chicken broth. Thanks for posting!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie December 02, 2002

This is a very nice soup we love having when it gets cold. Truly good!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani August 21, 2004

Delicious recipe. I used this soup to break a 30 day fast. Vegetables never tasted so good. I omitted the tomatoe paste and added a can of diced tomatoes instead. I also added a hot pepper to the soup. My guest couldn't stop eating it. I'm adding chicken today. Thanks a bunch.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blest Chef July 20, 2011

A very tasty soup! Quick and healthy, perfect for lunch with a sandwich.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks February 02, 2015

Hmmm...not sure why this recipe didn't turn out well for me. I love veggie soup of all kinds. After cooking and tasting this combination, I had to really tweak it to get some flavor. I used veggie broth and maybe that's why it was so bland, but I added a little red wine, a bit of soy sauce, more onion, mushrooms, celery and half a tomato, some fresh parsley and more salt than I would have liked. The end result was good, but still not very flavorful. Maybe it was my broth? It was a good brand, but you never know. I would have thought the veggies would have given it more flavor, it just tasted watery. I'm glad to have tried this recipe, thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview November 30, 2013

I love this soup, I make it all the time! Only thing I do different is saute the cabbage, garlic and carrots together then add to soup. I add the canned diced tomatoes, and whole tomatoes with the juice drained. Add mushrooms and more broth. I cook it on low all day. It comes out so yummy! Sometimes I add chicken to mix it up a bit. Everyone that tastes it loves it. It lasts for days and it's so good!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHEFFAY June 23, 2012

This was ok, but I like my own vegetable soup better. I do not know if it was the tomato paste or the low amount of garlic or what. It had a slightly off taste. I usually use more garlic and fresh tomatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
becks March 23, 2012

Made this today for our lunch today...quite tasty. I did minced up a little more garlic and added some red pepper flakes for some zing and in DH's bowl I added some leftover cooked chicken. I think next time I might try another reviewers suggestion and put in a can of rotel tomatoes (for the tomato paste). Made for Junes Tag Game -- Romero y Oregano.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf June 14, 2011
Garden Vegetable Soup