Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Garden Vegetable Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garden Vegetable Soup

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on December 12, 2002

      With our miserable bone-chilling weather, I had a taste for a good hearty quick soup. However, when I went to the local grocery store (why are they all called ?supermarkets?? how come there are no averagemarkets, goodmarkets, or alsoranmarkets?} to purchase the vegetables, the only green beans they had looked every bit as bad as TV chef Jamie Oliver?s hair. So I was forced to nix the beans, but I got lucky and spotted a couple of very decent ears of corn, so I cut the corn off the cobs and used that instead. I was out of homemade beef broth and I would only use store-bought beef broth to feed starving Armenians, so I made a quick broth using English Bovril which has an extremely intense beef flavour ? that, combined with the tomato flavour, was absolutely heavenly. I also lucked out and found very fresh herbs in the store, so I used them instead of dried. As to the garlic cloves, I referred to Recipezaar member MeanChef?s famous garlic formula: ?If a recipe calls for one garlic clove, use three?. The end result of all this was a most superior quick and easy soup that warmed the cockles of the hearts of all those who consumed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2003

      This is an excellent recipe not only for people watching their calories and fat, but for anyone that loves a good vegetable soup. I have tried it with both chicken and beef broth and they are equally as good. For a little extra I have added pieces of chicken, mushrooms and celery. Five stars in my book.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2002

      This is an excellent recipe with an added bonus of being good for the diet conscious! I loved it! I am partial to chicken soup, so I used the chicken broth. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2004

      This is a very nice soup we love having when it gets cold. Truly good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2011

      Delicious recipe. I used this soup to break a 30 day fast. Vegetables never tasted so good. I omitted the tomatoe paste and added a can of diced tomatoes instead. I also added a hot pepper to the soup. My guest couldn't stop eating it. I'm adding chicken today. Thanks a bunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2013

      Hmmm...not sure why this recipe didn't turn out well for me. I love veggie soup of all kinds. After cooking and tasting this combination, I had to really tweak it to get some flavor. I used veggie broth and maybe that's why it was so bland, but I added a little red wine, a bit of soy sauce, more onion, mushrooms, celery and half a tomato, some fresh parsley and more salt than I would have liked. The end result was good, but still not very flavorful. Maybe it was my broth? It was a good brand, but you never know. I would have thought the veggies would have given it more flavor, it just tasted watery. I'm glad to have tried this recipe, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2012

      I love this soup, I make it all the time! Only thing I do different is saute the cabbage, garlic and carrots together then add to soup. I add the canned diced tomatoes, and whole tomatoes with the juice drained. Add mushrooms and more broth. I cook it on low all day. It comes out so yummy! Sometimes I add chicken to mix it up a bit. Everyone that tastes it loves it. It lasts for days and it's so good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2012

      This was ok, but I like my own vegetable soup better. I do not know if it was the tomato paste or the low amount of garlic or what. It had a slightly off taste. I usually use more garlic and fresh tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2011

      Made this today for our lunch today...quite tasty. I did minced up a little more garlic and added some red pepper flakes for some zing and in DH's bowl I added some leftover cooked chicken. I think next time I might try another reviewers suggestion and put in a can of rotel tomatoes (for the tomato paste). Made for Junes Tag Game -- Romero y Oregano.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      Very good, quick and easy! About the only change I might make is to cut the tomato paste amount in half. I wasn't terribly crazy about how tomato-y it tasted (neither my DH or I are fans of tomato soup). Otherwise it was terrific! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      Not bad for a diet soup. I didn't think it had much flavor, and it was pretty unappetizing to look at. Still, it served its purpose well for my diet and I would make it again if I need a very low-calorie meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      Really good soup! The whole family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      great recipe! I actually didn't find zucc. at the grocery but I added a potato and some frozen peas and it was fantastic! I added a big can of diced rotel tomatoes with green chilies, and it was way to spicy, so next time I'll just add plain diced tomatos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Wow! I made this using the chicken stock I made yesterday. Instead of tomato paste I added 1 can of rotel tomatoes...that was the best idea I've had all day! It gave it some spice, which I like. No zucks on hand but I did saute celery with the onions. I added a few sprinkles of goya adobo in place of the salt. This rocks and the herbs come through. THANKS SO MUCH!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      I love this soup as does everyone in the family - down to our littlest 3 year old. This is great with a freshly baked loaf of bread. YUM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      How good was this? Well...after making 1 batch, I went back and doubled it to make a second batch and freeze some! This is a wonderfully fresh soup and very comforting to eat. I did end up doubling the broth (and the spices so it would be properly seasoned) just because my family likes a "brothier" soup. I absolutely adore this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      I made this for lunch today and it was a hit. My father-in-law loved it and he's usually not into anything healthy, especially vegetable soup, and he raved about it! I did add some diced potatoes, celery, corn, and black pepper and it was fabulous! Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      I altered this a bit because of what I had on hand. I didn't have any green beans so I used mushrooms and a red bell pepper. I also used a can of diced tomatoes with chiles instead of the tomato paste. I omitted the salt and also added a few dashes of Chipolte Tabasco sauce -- I like a bit of heat. This is a great basic recipe that can easily be modified depending on what is in your fridge at the time. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      Really good veggie soup! I made as directed except I omitted the salt, since I used beef broth, I figured it didn't need any extra salt. This is a really filling soup and a great way to get in some veggies. I will definitely make this again, it's economical as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      We loved it! I doubled it - used about 3 carrots, 1/2 onion, 4 cloves garlic, 6 c. beef broth, 1/4 head cabbage, 2 c. green beans, 2 Tb. tom. paste, 1.5 tsp Italian seasoning, 1 c. zucchini. Didn't add salt. Sauteed cabbage w/ carrots, onion, garlic. Cooked w/ zucchini about 9 min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garden Vegetable Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (104 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 42.1
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    60%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 658.2 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes