19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this to take to a party, and it took some heavy guarding for it to make it out of my house. I guess I'll have to keep a bowl of this around - it's the only time I've ever seen my husband really pig out on fruit. Completely, totally heavenly.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bogey'sMom March 07, 2003

Wish I could give this more stars. I made this as an after-summer-school snack today for the kids and they just loved it. I used cinnamon-sugar greek pita chips (available here) instead of making the tortilla chips, which made it even easier. This is a definite repeat for us!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 20, 2007

Great way to get kids to eat fruit - my kids really don't enjoy fruit but they gobbled this up. I used leftover cherry jelly instead of apple jelly - I liked the extra red and the flavour did not overpower the other fruits. Also served this with whipped cream which I really enjoyed. I did use "old whole wheat tortilla wraps" which worked well (and helped me clean up my fridge!!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen September 30, 2013

A great and versatile little treat. I traded the kiwis for bananas (b/c the market didn't have any good looking kiwis) and added raspberry jam instead of apple. You really could trade in anything probably. I served this for an office Cinco de Mayo fiesta/birthday party -- folks were impressed. I didn't have time to make the cinnamon tortilla chips so I paired the salsa with ginger galletas. Someone suggested trying them with cinnamon-sugar pita chips too next time. Nice, sweet and juicy flavor and a beautiful color. Would go great on ice cream or frozen yogurt too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristine at Food.com May 12, 2011

Took it to a picnic and it was DEVOURED. I'm definitely adding this to my collection of recipes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily C May 16, 2010

This is so good! I usually double the recipe and we eat too much until our bellies hurt! You can switch up some of the fruit and use blackberries or even peaches with some of the other fruits. It's delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeanieK April 30, 2009

I loved Chef 527016's idea to use a spray bottle to spritz with water then add cinnamon and sugar only on 1 side of the tortillas. Worked great for me! These were an awesome snack and one I will be making again. I think it's good to dice up the fruit in very small pieces so they stay on the chips better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FriendlyChefy September 24, 2008

I love this recipe!! I usually only make 1/2 of what is listed, and it makes a good amount. I use a small counter chopper for the apple, and strawberries. I hand chop the kiwi and a can of mandarin oranges. For the chips, I usually get a pack of 12 tortilla. Using kitchen shears I cut them and line a baking sheet with the pieces. To speed the process, I use a spritzer bottle of water to wet only one side and then loosely sprinkle sugar and cinnamon to my liking. This is a great summer snack that always gets rave reviews!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Left Handed Chef May 06, 2008

Fantastic! My kids love this, and it is a definite pleaser at any summer gathering. For heat (for serving adults) I use hot-pepper jelly to give it a kick. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lizbits August 17, 2007

I made this for lunch, so easy & so yummy, I love the apple jelly glaze. I didn't have any tortillas but some leftover Indian chappati bread which is similar & I used that for the crisps only coating one side which I found enough. Thanks for a great recipe. Made for ZWT III.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** June 24, 2007
Fruit Salsa with Cinnamon Tortilla Chips