Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Fruit Salsa with Cinnamon Tortilla Chips Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fruit Salsa with Cinnamon Tortilla Chips

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on March 07, 2003

      I made this to take to a party, and it took some heavy guarding for it to make it out of my house. I guess I'll have to keep a bowl of this around - it's the only time I've ever seen my husband really pig out on fruit. Completely, totally heavenly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      Wish I could give this more stars. I made this as an after-summer-school snack today for the kids and they just loved it. I used cinnamon-sugar greek pita chips (available here) instead of making the tortilla chips, which made it even easier. This is a definite repeat for us!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2013

      Great way to get kids to eat fruit - my kids really don't enjoy fruit but they gobbled this up. I used leftover cherry jelly instead of apple jelly - I liked the extra red and the flavour did not overpower the other fruits. Also served this with whipped cream which I really enjoyed. I did use "old whole wheat tortilla wraps" which worked well (and helped me clean up my fridge!!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      A great and versatile little treat. I traded the kiwis for bananas (b/c the market didn't have any good looking kiwis) and added raspberry jam instead of apple. You really could trade in anything probably. I served this for an office Cinco de Mayo fiesta/birthday party -- folks were impressed. I didn't have time to make the cinnamon tortilla chips so I paired the salsa with ginger galletas. Someone suggested trying them with cinnamon-sugar pita chips too next time. Nice, sweet and juicy flavor and a beautiful color. Would go great on ice cream or frozen yogurt too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      Took it to a picnic and it was DEVOURED. I'm definitely adding this to my collection of recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      This is so good! I usually double the recipe and we eat too much until our bellies hurt! You can switch up some of the fruit and use blackberries or even peaches with some of the other fruits. It's delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      I loved Chef 527016's idea to use a spray bottle to spritz with water then add cinnamon and sugar only on 1 side of the tortillas. Worked great for me! These were an awesome snack and one I will be making again. I think it's good to dice up the fruit in very small pieces so they stay on the chips better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      I love this recipe!! I usually only make 1/2 of what is listed, and it makes a good amount. I use a small counter chopper for the apple, and strawberries. I hand chop the kiwi and a can of mandarin oranges. For the chips, I usually get a pack of 12 tortilla. Using kitchen shears I cut them and line a baking sheet with the pieces. To speed the process, I use a spritzer bottle of water to wet only one side and then loosely sprinkle sugar and cinnamon to my liking. This is a great summer snack that always gets rave reviews!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2007

      Fantastic! My kids love this, and it is a definite pleaser at any summer gathering. For heat (for serving adults) I use hot-pepper jelly to give it a kick. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      I made this for lunch, so easy & so yummy, I love the apple jelly glaze. I didn't have any tortillas but some leftover Indian chappati bread which is similar & I used that for the crisps only coating one side which I found enough. Thanks for a great recipe. Made for ZWT III.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      A yummy and healthy snack. And so easy to throw together. Personally I found the salsa on the sweet side, but miss megs didn't agree. For myself I would just use 1 T of both the brown sugar and apple jelly. I also found that my chips never crisped up properly--I don't know if it was b/c I used whole wheat tortillas or I didn't cook them enough or b/c I only moistened and sugared one side. But they still tasted mighty good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2006

      This recipe was extremely easy to make, and even easier to eat! My son would not leave the salsa alone :) I used a honey tangerine instead of the orange, and for the chips, I cut them up using kitchen shears, placed them on the baking sheet, daubed them with a moist paper towel, and then sprikled the cinnamon and sugar onto them. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2006

    • on August 04, 2005

      I had a couple of leftover whole wheat tortillas and some over-ripe fruit and this seemed the perfect way to use them up. I didn't have the specific fruits your recipe called for, so I used 3 kiwi, 2 nectarines and a banana. I didn't have an orange, so I used regular orange juice. I also forgot to put in the jelly, but it was plenty sweet without it. I mixed up the fruit in the food processor, which made it a little too liquid, more a sauce than a salsa, but that might be solved by adding less OJ the next time. I followed someone else's suggestion about only putting cinnamon sugar on one side of the tortillas and didn't bother greasing the baking sheet. They turned out fine and the entire recipe is scrumptious and so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2005

      I recently ate this at a Dinner Party as the first course. The cook used a few other fruits and used raspberry jelly instead of the apple. Instead of using the orange she lightly mashed the combined fruit and it made it's own liquid. She also light sprayed the tortillas before she sprinkled them lightly with the cinnamon/sugar. Both were absolutely lucious. Everyone at my table couldn't stop eating it and would have loved to make it the entire meal. The chips were light and crispy and the fruit was positively awesome. This would make a great lunch for taking to work, a light dessert, or even a late night snack. It is a wonderful fat-free treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2005

      I made this for my family and the fruit salsa was good, but the chips were a bit too sweet. Maybe next time try only putting one side with cinnamon sugar, instead of both.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2004

      This recipe is from Pampered Chef and is so good you can eat it with a spoon! It\'s great with Wheat Thins and it never lasts long in my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2003

      Everyone loves this fruit salsa. I make it every summer for at least one or two get-togethers. I have used white flour tortillas and whole wheat. Both work well. A great way to snack on something more healthy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2003

      Your recipe is very similar to one of mine that I posted. Check out the different way I do the cinnamon chips: Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips #61078

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fruit Salsa with Cinnamon Tortilla Chips

    Serving Size: 1 (223 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 351.0
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    12%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 317.7 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.0 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 6.0 g
    24%
    Sugars 28.5 g
    113%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes