Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Frozen Bananas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Frozen Bananas

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on September 24, 2010

      Funny...I never thought to do it any other way. Another helpful hint. I like to freeze mine in the qty that I need them in a recipe. I have a banana bread recipe that takes 4 medium bananas so I freeze either 2 per or 4 per bag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2010

      I LOVE this trick! It IS hard to peel a frozen banana, but I hate for them to go to waste, and I LOVE having nice, frosty smoothies without diluting them with too much ice. Thanks for posting! Made for Veg*an Swap, September 2010

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      What a great idea! Very handy indeed. Great in summer when it's very hot,instead of an ice cream.Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      Seems so obvious now, but why for years did I not peel the darn thing??! This is great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      Love it! What a great way to freeze bananas! I have spent so much time freezing my fingers off peeling frozen bananas! Not any more! This worked great! I used one in your Strawberry Banana Sunrise Smoothie this morning for breakfast! This has completely changed the way I freeze bananas! Thanks for the great idea! Made for Veg'n Swap March 2010 for my Chosen Chef! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      I've had great success just throwing the bananas with the peels still on into a ziploc baggy. That also keeps them from sticking together. The peel turns black but does not affect the quality of the actual banana. Thanks for the tip.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      Love how well this works. Hate when bananas get over ripe and you don’t have time to bake. Now I can just freeze them till needed for smoothies or baking. Truly a great way to save bananas. Thanks so much for the post.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      Such a simple idea - why didn't I think of it myself? I dislike bananas if they have even a speck of black on them, so I was always throwing out the ones I couldn't use up in time. Now I keep a bag in my freezer and as soon as I realize I'm not getting them used up, in the bag they go. Now I always have the perfect basis for a smoothie and they never go bad. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      I had a few bananas that were on the ripe side and I didn't have time to make anything with them so I used this recipe. I pulled them on Sunday and made smoothies for the family and it worked out perfectly. Made for NZ/AUS recipe swap.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      It's nice when something so simple can get such great ratings - you don't have to get fancy to make good, healthy food. I have done this with bananas for ages and it's very convenient. I still freeze my black bananas for banana bread, etc. and microwave them for about 10 seconds to peel. These are better for smoothies, etc. like you mentioned.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      I gave this recipe 5 stars. I love to freeze bananas for later use especially to use in banana bread. I've always just froze my bananas in plastic wrap and foil. I try freezing them on the plate first next time! Thanks for the tip and posting this! Christine (internetnut)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      I hate wasting bananas :-) I have used this method for several years...it saves you from immediately having to make banana bread. Frozen bananas are great for smoothies or once thawed they can be used as normal in baked goods. I don't bother placing them on a plate first...I just throw them in the ziploc bag and I haven't had any trouble with them sticking together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      I've been making this FOREVER to use in smoothies - that way you don't need to use ice. Anyway, You MUST peel the bananas before freezing - a mistake I made only once when I was younger. These are so yummy! Made for Feb. Photo Tag Game :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      Love the frozen banana thing! I always have leftovers that are past eating plain but great used in other things, so freezing them means I just have to pull the needed amount out and go for it! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Before I knew better, I dumped my frozen bananas in a hot water bath for a minute, that way they are easy to peel, but it gets a bit messy. I also tried taking the bananas out of the freezer the night before and shift them to the fridge, but they turned completely liquid! The method you discribed is so much more practical!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      I have been doing this for a while. You always have some banana to add to smoothies, and when frozen, you can cut down on the ice!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Frozen Bananas

    Serving Size: 1 (473 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 105.0
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    34%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.9 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 14.4 g
    57%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes