116 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fantastic and easy! We don't get black beans here, so I used garbanzo, and it probably gave the dish a completely different taste, but I loved it! I used 1 tsp oil and 1/4 tsp of garlic paste for 2 servings, and used cumin seeds instead of cumin powder. Don't omit the vinegar as it adds a wonderful tartness! I had this with rotis for a great lunch.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu April 07, 2002

Fixed these just the way you directed. Then I put them in the food processor w/ a little lime juice and made the perfect lunch tortilla. Thank you. These will be a regular on my menu!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea August 10, 2003

Really good and super easy. I didn't read the recipe correctly and ended up draining my can of beans. Since I didn't have any liquid I substitued with broth and it was still really good.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MMMuni May 25, 2010

This dish was delicious and easy. It was quite rich, especially considering how healthy it is. I added a seeded jalapeno for spice, and next time I'll leave the seeds in to kick it up a bit. I served this with spanish rice, but I think your suggestion of a simple lime-dressed rice would be better, as it would allow the flavours of the beans to dominate. It wasn't quite perfect for me - but I did forget to add the vinegar, which might bring it to five stars the next time I make it!
UPDATE: I've made this several times now, and the vinegar is key! I use sherry vinegar instead of red wine vinegar, and I add lots of lime juice too.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lumberjackie November 07, 2010

Perfect!!! Growing up as a little girl this is what my mima's house would smell like when I woke up from my nap for dinner! This is the recipe that I have been looking for for years! My grandmother was cuban and this is what her black beans tasted like. She passed away years ago and I was not at the cooking age to ask her for the recipe. You must try it, SOO simple and it taste like they have been cooking all day!!! YUM!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisap32 August 05, 2010

Superb. I sliced some grape tomatoes in half and added them in with the garlic. I also added a dash of cayenne pepper while the dish was simmering. It was great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Folk Dancer May 26, 2003

Great black beans! This was very easy and the spices were wonderful. I added 2 minced habanero peppers to the onion and peppers but only because I was craving something really spicy. I'm so glad you suggested serving over rice with lime juice! The lime juice was a fantastic addition!!! Thanks Carol.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi March 25, 2003

Ay Caramba is right!! These beans are delicious. I followed your directions exactly and they were very well seasoned. The cumin and garlic give great flavor with a little zing from the vinegar. I followed your suggestion and served over seasoned rice. Thanks Carol.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' March 02, 2003

Aye Caramba - these ARE gooooood!!!! yum! We have made these several times and I am about to make them again for dinner now!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Essie Jane August 13, 2010

Excellent! Served this with cilantro-lime rice and it was a great hit with the family! Would definitely make again! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef OnMyMom July 10, 2010
Frijoles Negros (Cuban Black Beans)