Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Frijoles Negros (Cuban Black Beans) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Frijoles Negros (Cuban Black Beans)

    Average Rating:

    115 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 115

    Sort by:

    • on April 07, 2002

      Fantastic and easy! We don't get black beans here, so I used garbanzo, and it probably gave the dish a completely different taste, but I loved it! I used 1 tsp oil and 1/4 tsp of garlic paste for 2 servings, and used cumin seeds instead of cumin powder. Don't omit the vinegar as it adds a wonderful tartness! I had this with rotis for a great lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2003

      Fixed these just the way you directed. Then I put them in the food processor w/ a little lime juice and made the perfect lunch tortilla. Thank you. These will be a regular on my menu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Really good and super easy. I didn't read the recipe correctly and ended up draining my can of beans. Since I didn't have any liquid I substitued with broth and it was still really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      This dish was delicious and easy. It was quite rich, especially considering how healthy it is. I added a seeded jalapeno for spice, and next time I'll leave the seeds in to kick it up a bit. I served this with spanish rice, but I think your suggestion of a simple lime-dressed rice would be better, as it would allow the flavours of the beans to dominate. It wasn't quite perfect for me - but I did forget to add the vinegar, which might bring it to five stars the next time I make it!
      UPDATE: I've made this several times now, and the vinegar is key! I use sherry vinegar instead of red wine vinegar, and I add lots of lime juice too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2003

      Superb. I sliced some grape tomatoes in half and added them in with the garlic. I also added a dash of cayenne pepper while the dish was simmering. It was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2003

      Great black beans! This was very easy and the spices were wonderful. I added 2 minced habanero peppers to the onion and peppers but only because I was craving something really spicy. I'm so glad you suggested serving over rice with lime juice! The lime juice was a fantastic addition!!! Thanks Carol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2003

      Ay Caramba is right!! These beans are delicious. I followed your directions exactly and they were very well seasoned. The cumin and garlic give great flavor with a little zing from the vinegar. I followed your suggestion and served over seasoned rice. Thanks Carol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2010

      Aye Caramba - these ARE gooooood!!!! yum! We have made these several times and I am about to make them again for dinner now!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2010

      Perfect!!! Growing up as a little girl this is what my mima's house would smell like when I woke up from my nap for dinner! This is the recipe that I have been looking for for years! My grandmother was cuban and this is what her black beans tasted like. She passed away years ago and I was not at the cooking age to ask her for the recipe. You must try it, SOO simple and it taste like they have been cooking all day!!! YUM!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      Excellent! Served this with cilantro-lime rice and it was a great hit with the family! Would definitely make again! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      This was really, extremely good! I generally substitute jalapenos in recipes that call for green pepper (I've just never liked the taste of green pepper), but I'm sure glad that I didn't this time. All the flavors melded together so well. And per another review, I added a 1/2 cup of water to the beans in step 4. The beans came out nice and saucy, and went really well with brown rice and lime. Mmm mmm good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Really good. Didn't use pepper due to allergy. Used 1 tsp. oregano, 8 cloves garlic, no salt, 1 cube bouillon, beans were fresh so used water. Very good, even my daughter that prefers not to eat beans liked it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      Really good. Amazingly, it's the same recipe as on the back of the Goya can, exchanging Cumin for Sazon. I will be adding this to my repertoire.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      Loved this! Used a red pepper and increased the garlic. The instructions need to be clearer regarding the draining of the beans. Had I not pre-read others' reviews, I'd have poured the black bean liquid down the drain. This should be corrected. Other than that...perfect recipe! Will definitely make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      Great recipe. I added canned diced italian seasoned tomatoes and cayanne as mentioned earlier.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2003

      These were great. My kids loved them so much I had to make more the next night. And I love that they are healthy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2003

      Excellent dish! Followed the recipe exactly and loved it. I can't wait to make it again and add a few other vegetables to it, perhaps some tomato. Absolutely delicious! Thanks for posting it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2014

      I made a half batch of this to go with some vieja ropa and white rice. I didn't have a green pepper since I used it in the vieja ropa, but it was still delicious. <br/>3 of my 5 children gobbled it up (the other two tend toward extreme pickiness so that wasn't a surprise) and my husband and I both enjoyed it very much.<br/>The nicest part is how easy it is to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2014

      I have made this twice. Only differences, I use 1lb dry beans (Aprox 33oz equivalent) so I triple the recipe. I have also seemed to forget the oregano. So both times I substituted with cilantro. Very very good! I now have two favorite bean recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2014

      I make this often. It is good and perfect as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Frijoles Negros (Cuban Black Beans)

    Serving Size: 1 (111 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 106.2
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    32%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 196.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 6.6 g
    26%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites