Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Fried Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fried Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on February 17, 2010

      Boy does this bring back memories! When I was growing up, my Mom would make fried cornbread to go with fish. I decided to try my hand at making it and it was soooo good!! I like mine to have a nice salty flavor. You need to have your oil fairly hot (at least on medium), so it sizzles when you add the batter. I didn't shape mine into balls and flatten, I just spooned mine into the oil and then flattened with the back of the spoon. That's how my Mom did it. Thanks for the recipe, it brought back good memories of home!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2012

      This is a perfect base for fried cornbread. I don't have self-rising cornmeal so I make my own using the simple recipe posted on this site. Tonight I'm going to try it with thawed frozen corn mixed into it. I serve this with vegan chili and greens and everyone loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2010

      i just made some cabbage, corn beef,rice and wanted to make my meal complete with fried corn bread. It wont be right to have this without the fried corn bread. This is one of the many things that my grandmother use to make. There is nothing like some good old soul food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      Just like my mother in law from Eastern North Carolina used to make! Wonderful! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • This is what is called bannock in New England. Delicious with butter and a little sprinkle of salt. Great with stewed beans, fried tripe or fried fish. Love it! Sally

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      It was super easy to make - but it didn't have any flavor, and even my husband (who LOVES cornbread) disliked it. Perhaps the brand of cornmeal makes a difference - and I used a regular skillet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      This is wonderful. I remember fried cornbread from my childhood and despaired of ever tasting it again. My husband who is part Swede and Northerner to boot had never tasted it before and loved it. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      Recipe is not difficult. (Just add water!) This is a great starting point for something creative. Succotash version was well received. I didn't see an oil temp listed, but found 375 F to be ideal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      Just what I was looking for! This was so simple, I got it right the first time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2006

      Exactly the way I remember it. My grandmother used to make this when she didn't have time to make a batch of cracklin' bread. I got a craving for this one day and knew I'd be able to find one on 'zaar. Thanks so much for taking me back to the good ol' days!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2006

      Simple! Delicious! The Family enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2005

      Good stuff but alittle greasy we thought.They reminded us of hushpuppies. They still went very well with white beans and fried taters,though. I added chopped onion to the batter and also added some chopped red peppers to half the batter to kick them up alittle more. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2005

      Super good. The crispness on the outside and the yummy on the inside made these perfect. Very simple to make as well. Thanks for such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2004

      Oh my goodness! I absolutely love this. It tastes just like the fried cornbread my grandmother used to make. She never wrote the recipe down and I thought I wouldn't have it again and then I came across your recipe. Thanks so much for posting it. It's great on a hot day when you don't want to heat the kitchen up by turning the oven on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fried Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (660 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 611.2
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    15%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3458.9 mg
    144%
    Total Carbohydrate 128.6 g
    42%
    Dietary Fiber 12.2 g
    49%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 15.1 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites