29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I opted for the cherry tomatoes and fresh corn. I used a pint of cherry tomatoes and 2 corn cobs. I used fresh basil, but I wouldn't hesitate to use dried, especially if making in advance. This was pretty and tasty. And for a potluck when time is short, you couldn't ask for a more perfect offering!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinnyP May 18, 2002

Lacking fresh basil I substituted dried basil in excess of 8 leaves and let the mixture sit for a few hours to "hydrate" the basil. It was excellent. The sweet corn compliments the tang of the balsamic extremely well... Oh, and it's super-easy/quick to make.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paul DeSimone April 22, 2002

Excellent side dish on a hot summer''s day.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clifford Boren August 29, 2001

I can well understand the wonderful reviews. I used canned corn that was drained and rinsed. About 8 oz of halved cherry tomatoes was used and a large green onion was sliced and added to the mix. This only took a splash of olive oil. I did add in some freshly ground black pepper. This is an excellent salad for summertime fun.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG May 13, 2010

All the tastes of summer in one beautiful dish. I made this side for a Labor Day barbeque and it went so well with the meats. I used frozen corn and 2 packages of grape tomatoes, sliced. I drizzled olive oil, an italian herb blend, salt and pepper. I forgot the vinegar, but didn't need it...I enjoyed the sweet tastes of the corn and tomatoes and the way they burst in your mouth. Received several compliments on it...it was beautiful as well, served layered in a large glass bowl. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend September 04, 2007

Very easy to make. Pretty and a nice change from our regular green salad. I made it for my entire family including the in-laws, they all liked it very much. I made it with the recipe "Superb Chicken and Shrimp" it was a cooling side dish which complimented the curry in the chicken and no one seemed to mind that the main dish also had tomatoes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
legzzy McKinsey January 27, 2003

What a great dish! I didn't have any fresh basil, but dried worked out fine. I can't wait to see how much better it will get with the fresh. This made for a lovely presentation as well. Seemed very elegant, but was so simple and quick to make. This is definitely "in-law worthy." Served with chicken and stuffing and potatoes. Really brightened up the plate!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill77 January 09, 2003

I made this for my BBQ yesterday and it looked great as well as tasted great. And so easy to make. I chopped up tomatoes and added frozen corn (I also doubled the recipe) and added fresh basil leasves. Very good, and I will be making it again for sure. Thanks for your posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bert August 13, 2002

I used grape tomatos and frozen corn but did use fresh basil and some awesome balsamic vinegar. This was so refreshing and delicious. It seems so simple, but the meld of flavors is just wonderful. I served with asian chicken skewers and everyone came back for seconds!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQue June 30, 2002

This was super easy and quick to prepare. I really liked the freshness of this salad. I used the cherry tomatoes from our garden but I used frozen corn. No matter it still tasted great. My kids weren't sure if they enjoyed this or not. DH and I did though, so I will make this when the kids are at Gma and Gpas. Thank you for sharing with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour June 30, 2013
Fresh Tomato and Corn Salad