12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

WOW!!! This is wonderful!!! We had it for dinner last night and LOVED it!!! Im a Garlic-a-holic and this hit the spot!! I actually used 2 T roasted garlic for a little bit more of a kick LOL THanks for another great recipe!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kzbhansen February 19, 2006

We absolutely loved this, and it couldn't be easier! I even had to go about things the old-fashioned way; the paddle for my bread machine was missing so I prepared the dough by hand and it was still easy peasy. The texture of this bread is really lovely. I used half whole-wheat flour and it didn't become dense and chewy as others will. The loaves were a decent size, too, and I was able to pop the leftovers into the freezer to pull out with dinner a few nights later. It froze beautifully! Thanks, Rita. Made for Veg Swap 36.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian July 08, 2011

Wonderful! Used 2 tablespoons of Crock Pot Roasted Garlic and regular yeast. Bread was beautiful, with a nice brown crust and perfectly soft texture inside. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama June 21, 2008

Wonderful, Rita, I loved this simple and delicious recipe! I made this a couple of months ago and forgot to review it - life got in the way! However, this will definately be a go-to recipe for me when I'm looking for something more spectacular than plain french bread. It went really well with your Rosemary-Garlic Dipping Oil! Thanks, Rita - made for Veggie Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen May 15, 2011

Very good recipe. Thanks so much!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amaloney73 November 02, 2008

Very nice bread, good texture and wonderful aroma, DD1 and I managed to eat most of one loaf by ourselves, sigh!!!!! I try to make a different bread every week, this was an excellent choice that I most definitely will be making again !!!! Spotted and recipe-napped in the Vegetarian/Vegan recipe Swap!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth August 11, 2008

Delicious! I made 4 mini loaves instead of 2 loaves. I let it rest 5 minutes after each fold but think that was not long enough as you can see my folds on the bottom side, and then that might not be the reason. Who knows? Maybe not enough muscle?? LOL! I did not have whole garlic so sauteed minced garlic in a dry pan. Thank you ~Rita~ for sharing. Made for Vegetarian/Vegan Recipe Swap-recipenapped (love that word).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal August 06, 2008

Wonderful french bread. Texture is perfect. Loved the addition of the roasted garlic. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ April 27, 2008

This bread is awesome! I have a mini-crockpot that I roast the garlic heads in...it's easier than heating up the kitchen. The bread smells so good baking, and tastes wonderful!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacya100 November 22, 2006

im with hasen more garlic this is a great bread , made it by hand and it turn out great . dee

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. July 08, 2006
French Bread With Roasted Garlic