8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a great teacher you are Mean Chef! Your instructions are clear enough for the yeast challenged (me), and the final product is wonderfully crispy crunchy on the outside, and tender and light inside. I have already made the recipe twice, and I plan on making it at least once a week. Thank you!!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canarygirl April 12, 2003

Mean, thanks so much for this excellent, detailed recipe. The baguettes are awesome, but I am even happier to have the confidence to tackle recipes like this, knowing that you will be around to help. Sincere thanks!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moxie April 11, 2003

This deserves more than 5 stars. The most wonderful tasting French bread I've ever eaten, and low fat, low-calorie. It has a Crisp yet chewy outside crust with a tender inside that has a nice little chew and good texture. This is definitely a winner even though I missed your class! If you follow the directions exactly, you can't fail to have wonderful bread!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeachGirl April 14, 2003

Awesome!!!! I made them to use for meatball subs. When I took them out of the oven, I couldn't wait for them to cool to try so cut off a little piece. It was so good. I will definitely be making these again and again. Thanks for such a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea April 05, 2009

Great Recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DKsister March 06, 2007

This bread was easy to make. What I did was I made enough for 6 loaves then went ahead and made MINI loaves...just tiny one meal, pull out of the freezer, breads. I used 4 c whole wheat flour and 2 c bread flour. When finished cooling, I put about 10 mini loaves into a large zip lock bag. This made 3 bags full.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heystopthatnow January 10, 2007

This bread turned out very well and tasted great. I just have one comment. After you turn the oven to 500 degrees and put a pan of water in there, BE CAREFUL when you open the oven door, the hot steam will scald your face. I know from experience.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PalmCoastGirl October 06, 2006

Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe. The baguettes were just like from a bakery. I felt really proud that I could bake such good bread at home. But, I must say I just followed the great recipe! I only changed one thing: I didn't have sesame seeds, so I sprinkled some cornmeal on top of the baguettes too. I loved it. Thank you again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucychef March 15, 2006
French Baguette