43 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

you are absolutely right Lennie, there is no going back to regular jam after this. Just two suggestions, 1, try Ball pectin it really has the freshest flavor, and if you can choose the type of strawberries. that you will use there are some called Shucksan here in the Pacific Northwest that are just huge and quite dark, but they have the most intense strawberry flavor.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lulu B August 08, 2002

This recipe is perfection in a jar! It was basically the same recipe as the one listed on my Kroger brand pectin, but I like the way this one is written better. This recipe used about two containers of strawberries once cored and sliced. I used plastic freezer jars and it filled nearly six jars. My two nieces commented that it tasted better than grandma's! Quite the compliment for my first try at jam!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hadice July 10, 2009

This recipe was very easy, I thought I would take a short-cut and chop the berries in my food processor (please don't do this) You MUST crush the berries by hand, or you will have a soupy mixture, instead of a jam. I made a second batch and crushed the berries with a potato masher. This worked perfectly. This is a great No-Fail recipe. I will use this again and again!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThatJodiGirl April 27, 2008

This is my first time making jam at home, and I can say with confidence that I will never go back to buying jam at the store. However, I will say that this particular recipe came out a bit runnier and sweeter than I like my jam to be. I think next time, I'll add less sugar and more pectin.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melilia May 23, 2010

My first batch was more like syrup, but with help from the Community Board, I found out where I went wrong. You can NOT cut back on the amount of sugar. Use the exact measurements for this, and achieve PERFECTION :) just like I did. My friends love this, and for me, it's like a spoonful of goodness. My grandma used to make this, and everytime I have it, I think of her. Pamela, thanks for sharing and for the wonderful memories it's brought back. YUMMY! YUM!!! PS ~ I've frozen this in both glass jars and plastic containers and both work well.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SugaJ October 27, 2008

WOW !!!! you are not kidding that once you try this there is NO way you will ever want to put commerical jam in your mouth EVER !!! this is my first time making this and even though I goofed (I had the jam and sugar setting for *10 min) I forgot to stir it and not only that I added the sure jell after less than 5 min !! I jumped ahead of myself. All in all no worries turned out PERFECT !!! now seeing as it is strawberry season here in Eastern NC I will go pick more cause dh cannot keep his hands off my jam !!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shirl (J) 831 May 04, 2010

This was fantastic ! My family gobbled up a whole jar tonight at dinner. What I thought would last us a year in freezer jam might only make it through the month. Thank you for the easy and yummy recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommyWhoBakes July 19, 2009

What a pleasant surprise. This jam positively delicious. I added some lemon juice to break some of the sweetness, but I will try all sorts of different versions of this jam.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rotties Rule June 15, 2008

Freezer strawberry jam is a family favorite. It is also a favorite gift--it always gets rave reviews from the recipient. Sometimes out of season, frozen strawberries work great--not as good as fresh but any freezer jam is still better than store bought jam in a jar. Another favorite is three berry jam using frozen blueberry, blackberry and raspberry mix from the store; follow directions inside the pectin package. The calorie and carb count listed in the nutrition info are high, but a serving is around 2 tablespoons rather than a cup, which makes one serving around 80 calories. Thanks Lennie!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donut Chef July 15, 2005

I much prefer freezer strawberry jam over processed jam---The strawberries taste much fresher. This recipe is wonderful, hands-down the best I've ever tried. I use small, sweet Springtime strawberries and make enough to last all year. I put it in 1/2 pint canning jars and store the inventory in my freezer. It is wonderful to have on scones, toast, bagels, waffles, pound cake, angel food cake, ice cream...And the list could go on forever. A simple, foolproof recipe that is exponentially better than anything you could buy at the grocery.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenniferky August 05, 2011
Freezer Strawberry Jam