Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Freezer Apple Pie Filling - OAMC Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Freezer Apple Pie Filling - OAMC

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on February 05, 2011

      Wonderful. I loved this pie, I made up the filling, put most of it in 4 single pie crusts, I ran out of flour, the rest went into a pie plate to freeze and to be put in a pie crust later. I made up one tonight for dessert with a crumb topping and it was yummy, the filling stayed together, didn't run all over the plate. The only changes I made is I used ginger, nutmeg, cloves and allspice instead of just nutmeg and putting in into pie crusts. I will top then when I pick up some more flour. I can't wait to eat it again. I made another batch of this with gala apples, I used the full amount of cinnamon and nutmeg but added 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp cloves and 1/4 tsp allspice to the mixture. The filling tasted awesome. This time I got 6 pies. Four are topped with crusts 1 with crumb topping, the last one with crumb topping but with added oatmeal.

      I just baked one, 375 F for 1 hr and 10 minutes. Came out perfect, no running mess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2013

      Made this yesterday with pears instead of apples, decreased sugar to 3 cups. Have to say it was fantastic. Only used 1/2 of the pears I had on hand since I wasn't sure how it would come out. Today I'm going to do the rest! Thanks for the recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2014

      This year we have been given several bushels of apples. I dehydrate them so I tired of that and thought apple pie filling or topping. But canned apple pie filling is runny. I searched and found an ingredient that would jel and that is Clear Jel/gel. No corn starch but nice thick filling. I get it at MySpicer.com in the 5 pound bag and use it in gravies, sauces and other things I can like beef tips and gravy. It goes through canning and would go through freezing. Not Sure Jell that makes jams but Clear Gel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2013

      I halved the recipe and made up 2 gallon bags. It was thick, but not too much. I'm looking forward to making pies. I did taste and it is yummy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2013

      Great recipe! Easy to make and I halved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2013

      Thanks for a great recipe! I made several bags of these apples for the Boy Scouts to use in cobblers for a local festival. I don't know how many samples of apple cobbler they handed out but people kept coming back for more and many declared our Scouts had the best tasting cobbler at the festival.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2012

      Perfect

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      I really liked this recipe but I thought it could have used more apples. Not sure how long it lasts, I have to try some that are left over in the freezer yet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2011

      What a great idea! I froze 3 and made one right away with a crumble topping. So yummy! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

    • on October 25, 2009

      Three bags in the freezer and one to enjoy tonight. Very sweet - my kids like that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      I followed the directions exactly and this came out beautifully. The perfect mix of apples and "yummy goo". This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      Delicious! Though I didn't watch the apples as they cooked and I ended up with mush. lol. My fault, next time I'll watch closer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      This had a great taste but i really wanted more texture (apple bits) I made a cruble and i will be trying this again but maybe not cooking the apples for so long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      Excellent! Used this recipe to clear out all of the beat up apples in my crisper and will definitely make again. For a super easy dessert, suggest Apple Pie Pockets. My family gobbled it down, then begged for it the again. The third night I put them off so I could have some pie filling left for the freezer. Have had my eye on this recipe for some time, love that unlike the stuff you buy in the store, it has no high fructose corn syrup and tastes like honest to goodness apples. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      Excellent pie filling! The only alteration I made is that I added a splash of vanilla! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      I wanted a homemade "apple pie filling" similar to canned for making camp pies (in the fire). I also wanted sugar free (or close to), so I adapted this and it turned out reasonably well! I scaled it down to 1 pie, used 1 tsp of pure stevia and 4 T of veg. glycerin, and arrowroot powder. I didn't have to boil the first time bcz I didn't have to melt sugar, and it thickened up really well. However, after putting the apples in and boiling (for 6 minutes) the sauce wasn't as thick. I think next time I will cook the apples in a little butter in a skillet first and then add to step 2 and see if it stays thicker. I used 4 granny smith and probably could have used another one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      Couple of changes...subbed xylitol for the sugar and only used 2 1/2 cups; only had about 2/3 cup cornstarch so it wasn't as gooey as I thought it should be...so I tossed the apples (which I increased to 26 cups) in flour before adding to the sauce. I think the combination of the extra thickening agent and extra apples helped. Even then, I was only able to fill 4 quart sized bags. Granted, they were FULL, but I'd have only gotten two maybe three gallon sized bags and I increased the apples LOT! Either way, they tasted yummy fresh out of the pot. I'll review again after I've thawed some and made a pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      What a GREAT EASY recipe! Of course we went apple picking and overdid it. I wanted to make an apple crisp..so I got this recipe out. So extremely easy, no canning necessary. I cut it down to 12 cups of apples, b/c after that I got tired of peeling. I also omitted the nutmeg b/c I am out. But still absolutely delicious...Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      This is an awesome idea. I cut down the sugar but otherwise followed the recipe as stated. DH wants to use this as an ice cream topper too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Freezer Apple Pie Filling - OAMC

    Serving Size: 1 (153 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 32

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 146.0
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    62%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 75.7 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.7 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 31.5 g
    126%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites