27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a weird recipe. The dough is a runny mess. I had to add over a cup more flour. What's the point - why not correct the recipe with the correct amount of flour? Why knead it more after it comes out of the bread maker?
I use a kiawe-wood-fired bread oven. Tasted good - like pizza dough with olive oil. Next time I'll just put olive oil and seasoning on my pizza dough.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MauiPizza April 10, 2011

I have made this recipe 3 times now and its been great every time. I make it into a large rectangle as i cut it in to squares and then cut those horizontally to make sandwiches. It is fantastic made with imported salami, sharp provolone and a drizzle of basalmic. If you want to go all out, heat it up open face style in the oven......great recipe! 5 STARS!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yinzer Chef January 19, 2010

I wish I would have read all the reviews beforehand and increased the flour because it came out of the bread machine as a sloppy gloppy mess. I had to add an additional 2 cups of flour before I could begin kneading :( I'm fairly experienced with making bread in general, never had a dough like that before.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmark August 25, 2009

Really good focaccia bread! I just sprinkled the top with salt and rosemary, didn't have parmesan and wanted to make it now. A keeper, can't wait to make it again, yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susang February 05, 2015

I made this recipe and loved how it came out. While the dough was runny, I have found this to be a common thing in focaccia. I know some people don't like all the kneading, but I have noticed that without the kneading it does not taste the same. I have taken some culinary classes and so in those they did teach us about how kneading actually is used to spread flavors throughout the dough that can settle during rising times. While this recipie can take kinda a whole day to prepare, it is amazing. I've shared it with friends and people loved it.....even told me it was pretty addicting. while I will admit that I also put olive oil in the pan when I cook it and that makes it amazing! Just be careful because again it can become adicting and help make friends! ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wolfielovestocook13 November 12, 2014

EXCELLENT!!!! Crispy on the outside, light and airy on the inside, the flavor is incredible. I brushed the dough with 2 Tablespoons of olive oil, sprinkled on top with 1 teaspoon Kosher salt, 2 teaspoons of oregano and 2 teaspoons of rosemarry. Oh, I made it by hand and used regular AP flour since I didn't have bread flour. Wish I could give it 10 Stars!!! Thank you for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB December 30, 2008

I used half the dough to make Reuben Turnovers and the other half I made into a small round loaf. This was a great recipe and I will make it again! *update* I used this recipe to make 3 small loaves and then added them to family sized servings of Potato Soup in a Cup to give as Christmas presents.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * December 29, 2008

Amazing! I topped mine with the olive oil/pesto mix with parmesan and a black olive bruschetta mix from a jar. I will definitely make this again. I only used 3 cups of flour because I didn't read the reviews beforehand. It turned out fine although the dough was very sticky and a little runny in the beginning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brownshawver November 02, 2008

Great recipe, and so easy to prepare! Thanks for sharing :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BowerBird October 11, 2008
Focaccia (Using Bread Machine for the Dough)