13 Reviews

Wow! Total winner here, this was so super easy to make and utterly delicious. Will make it again and try other berries and maybe pineapple juice instead of water and sugar. Very versatile.
I used millet farina to be gluten free, and it worked out perfectly. Thanks for sharing!
Made for Ramadan Tag / N*A*M*E Forum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany July 27, 2012

Easy! One could use a number of other fruits: fresh berries in season, peaches, etc. I liked the taste best well chilled. A good use for 1 cup of leftover frozen organic cranberries from Christmas time. Thanks for posting! Perfect balance of tart/sweet. Reviewed for Veg Tag/July.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl July 07, 2011

ridiculously easy as well as delicious! Made a great dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba June 06, 2010

A recipe my grandma made and it's just as I remember it! She called it lappa pudda as well, we called it purple pudding because she used blueberries too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
k_lo February 17, 2009

This was a recipe my grandmother made. The best part was when she took the bowl out into the snow to whip the pudding. It is great icy cold. I have made it using cranberry juice as a substitute for the cranberry part and add some extra sugar. After it has cooked to the desired consistency, I set the bowl in icy water to beat it. It's a wonderful holiday treat! My grandmother called it Lappa Pudda.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jyflnz December 15, 2008

Have made this dessert twice now, & both times had A REALLY OUTSTANDING TREAT! The 1st time it was made as directed, & we enjoyed the smoothness & the sweet/tart combo! Then, the 2nd time I didn't run the berries through a sieve (wanting all the nutrients I could get) & that was very nice, too, although I understand that I didn't get the end result expected with this Finnish dessert! Still, a great keeper! [Tagged, made & reviewed for one of my vegan partners in the Vegetarian/Vegan Recipe Swap 3]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike October 19, 2008

This IS ridiculously delicious! This is essentially a cranberry pudding, right? Like another reviewer commented, it has such a rich taste/texture that one could swear it has cream in it! I served it with a little dollop of whipped cream. Thanks, Elmotoo! Made for Vegetarian Swap #2.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees October 12, 2008

I made this tonight for my family and they all LOVED it. This is going in my familys finnish recipe book. Thanks this is great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
apuppets April 18, 2007

I made this tonight, except instead of Farina, I used cream of rice, so that my DH with his potassium limited diet could have some. I did have to increase the amount I used by 1/4 cup to obtain the proper consistency. All together though even with the subsitution this was darned good, EddieBear enjoyed it without complaining, and so did I. Very delicious, and well worth the making. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, I will be making it again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chabear01 June 03, 2006

Apparently when I tried to review this before it was lost in translation...I made this last week and I'm making it again already! Great recipe! Very different-I had people ask me if it had whipping cream in it. Perfect balance of sweet and tart, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaarin November 27, 2005
Finnish Cranberry Whip (Vatkattu Marjapuuro)