Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Finnish Cranberry Whip (Vatkattu Marjapuuro) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Finnish Cranberry Whip (Vatkattu Marjapuuro)

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on July 27, 2012

      Wow! Total winner here, this was so super easy to make and utterly delicious. Will make it again and try other berries and maybe pineapple juice instead of water and sugar. Very versatile.
      I used millet farina to be gluten free, and it worked out perfectly. Thanks for sharing!
      Made for Ramadan Tag / N*A*M*E Forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2011

      Easy! One could use a number of other fruits: fresh berries in season, peaches, etc. I liked the taste best well chilled. A good use for 1 cup of leftover frozen organic cranberries from Christmas time. Thanks for posting! Perfect balance of tart/sweet. Reviewed for Veg Tag/July.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      ridiculously easy as well as delicious! Made a great dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      A recipe my grandma made and it's just as I remember it! She called it lappa pudda as well, we called it purple pudding because she used blueberries too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      This was a recipe my grandmother made. The best part was when she took the bowl out into the snow to whip the pudding. It is great icy cold. I have made it using cranberry juice as a substitute for the cranberry part and add some extra sugar. After it has cooked to the desired consistency, I set the bowl in icy water to beat it. It's a wonderful holiday treat! My grandmother called it Lappa Pudda.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      Have made this dessert twice now, & both times had A REALLY OUTSTANDING TREAT! The 1st time it was made as directed, & we enjoyed the smoothness & the sweet/tart combo! Then, the 2nd time I didn't run the berries through a sieve (wanting all the nutrients I could get) & that was very nice, too, although I understand that I didn't get the end result expected with this Finnish dessert! Still, a great keeper! [Tagged, made & reviewed for one of my vegan partners in the Vegetarian/Vegan Recipe Swap 3]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      This IS ridiculously delicious! This is essentially a cranberry pudding, right? Like another reviewer commented, it has such a rich taste/texture that one could swear it has cream in it! I served it with a little dollop of whipped cream. Thanks, Elmotoo! Made for Vegetarian Swap #2.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      I made this tonight for my family and they all LOVED it. This is going in my familys finnish recipe book. Thanks this is great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2006

      I made this tonight, except instead of Farina, I used cream of rice, so that my DH with his potassium limited diet could have some. I did have to increase the amount I used by 1/4 cup to obtain the proper consistency. All together though even with the subsitution this was darned good, EddieBear enjoyed it without complaining, and so did I. Very delicious, and well worth the making. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, I will be making it again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2005

      Apparently when I tried to review this before it was lost in translation...I made this last week and I'm making it again already! Great recipe! Very different-I had people ask me if it had whipping cream in it. Perfect balance of sweet and tart, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2005

      We were mixed here. I liked it but the rest of the family found it way too tart. Interesting flavor and I'm glad I tried it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2005

      I used frozen cranberries and splenda instead of sugar. Also added a bit more farina to make this a bit thicker. Nice taste, and just a bit of tartness from the cranberries. Will be making this again, thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      This is absolutely fantastic! Traditionally made with lingonberries, but just as good with cranberries - slightly tart, best served with cold milk! I put in double the amount of farina to get a bit thicker consistancy, and I used frozen cranberries - otherwise followed instructions. This recipe totally rules, thanks elmotoo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Finnish Cranberry Whip (Vatkattu Marjapuuro)

    Serving Size: 1 (175 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 270.5
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    65%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 45.1 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.5 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 51.9 g
    207%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites