Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Festive Black Bean Soup in the Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Festive Black Bean Soup in the Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 23, 2008

      This is the best recipe I have tried in a very long time. It suggests that it is good frozen, I admit that I have never frozen food that I have cooked, so I tried it and it tastes better after being frozen. Knowing my family's tastes, I add two bell peppers and two fresh jalepenos. I also rinse the tomatoes to reduce the sodium and use a natural, preservative free broth to make it healthier, but the recipe is already plenty healthy. I wish more recipes were as consistent as this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      I followed this recipe almost as close as I could. I didn't soak my beans overnight, never do. Used Rotel tomatos (yum), substituted jalapeno (had no green pepper) and chicken broth (had no vegatable). Also didn't have any cajun seasoning so I added hot paprika, salt, pepper & cumin. Cooked on high for about three/four hours, added some water and turned to low for another five/six hours. I also used the immersion blender on about half of it. Very, very tasty. This is a VERY easy soup to put together with things that I usually have in my cabinet. Served with sour cream and grated cheese. This and some Mexican cornbread make a soul satisfying meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      I found this to be lacking in flavor. Maybe we are just flavor junkies, (we pile on garlic and Tabasco) but this recipe was just to bland as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      Although this is filling my beans were definitely not soft -- even though I soaked them overnight and cooked in the crockpot for 8 hours -- oh but when I re-read the recipe I was supposed to cook them on high for 8 hours -- so this is probably what happened. I'll try again cooking on high and if I have better luck will revise my review.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      Superb soup...rich and flavorful...I used what was on hand 'cause it was close enough and sometimes a crock pot recipe should not require shopping at all- right {{:) ???}...used 2 8ounce cans of tomato sauce with chili...threw in extra peppers (sweet and hot), extra garlic...some carrot some dried chili peppers (dehydrated from last summer's garden} I like a play of sweet and heat- went all "Jackson Pollock" with my spices...couldn't even begin to list them- which is why I can never share recipes properly w/ peeps ...cinnamon and cocoa stick out :)...pureed half and returned to pot...served with cashew cream and pumpkin bread...delicious - Thank You Prose...Made for "I RED-OMMEND TAG"!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      5 Stars, this was so good it did not require a swig of sherry, it's a recipe that can be served to carnivores without complaints. The Rotel (Original) tomatoes with mild green chiles added welcome zing. Used my immersion blender to thicken the soup's texture. Made for Veg*n Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      This was a big hit with Dh even if I wasn't quite as enthusiastic. I thought it lacked some depth of flavor but Dh thought it was perfect as written. I'm rating it for my better half. I used Emeril's Creole Seasoning (aka Bayou Blast).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      This is really good. I used chicken broth because it is what I had on hand, and I added some carrot, fresh jalepeno and a little cayenne pepper. YUM! ("Some Like It Hot" *wink*) Thanks, Prose, for the recipe! It was great, but the photos weren't. ~Made for PAC FALL 07

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Festive Black Bean Soup in the Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (208 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 215.2
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    80%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 288.1 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.5 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 9.1 g
    36%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 13.1 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites