Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Fast Tomatoes With Basil and Balsamic Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fast Tomatoes With Basil and Balsamic

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on May 12, 2010

      I had some hard "bullet" tomatoes, and this really made them tasty! I cut them in half, salt and peppered, then put them cut side down in a frypan with a little butter. I added the balsamic, then slid them on top of the fresh basil and put them in the oven. I baked them slowly for about an hour, (the men were late :) wonderful side dish with bacon and eggs! Aussie swap May2010

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2014

      I do these on the grill instead of oven. Brush tops with olive oil and put them face down. When done, I then drizzle the balsamic and top with the other ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2011

      I just have to agree with my fellow chefs. This is an excellent fast healthy side dish. A real keeper.
      Made for Aus/NZ swap December 2011

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2011

      It doesn't get any easier than this. I made this as a side dish at my in-law's house because they love tomatoes as much as I do. We had these tomatoes along with some grilled chicken, asparagus and scalloped potatoes. Everyone loved these tomatoes. We baked them for 18 minutes and they were still a little firm, which we thought was just the right texture. The balsamic vinegar, basil and seasonings were the perfect blend with the tomatoes. We like balsamic vinegar so we used a bit more than the 1 tablespoon called for in the recipe. This recipe is so fast and easy that I will be using it often. Thanks for another great recipe, Chef floWer. Made for October 2011 Aus/NZ Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2011

      Delicious and quick...I like dish on demand. Made for A-NZ#53.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      So quick and easy, but oh so good. We really enjoyed these, will go back and make this recipe often. Can not wait until the spring crop of tomatoes comes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      I adore roasted tomatoes, and this version is superb. It's especially good as it doesn't require any oil. Used about 1 1/2 punnets of plump cherry tomatoes and roasted for about 20 minutes. Also a great way to use up a bit of homegrown basil. Thanks Rose!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      A very tasty and easy side dish. Thanks for posting this little gem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

    • on August 24, 2009

      These are a great side!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      These tomatoes are awesome. I used a new sweet variety, (Chocolate tomatoe) that is deep and robust in flavor. Prepared this way they almost tasted like sun dried tomatoes. They were wonderful. I used white balsamic vinegar and fresh basil from the garden. A small leaf variety, so no slicing was necessary. I will be making these again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      I love fresh tomatoes with basil not to mention balsamic vinegar. The flavors are simple just like the ingredients but there is allot of flavor! So refreshing. I did add some fresh oregano and some mini boccocini cheese (fresh soft mozzarella) balls before serving. This looked so pretty and colorful. Made and reviewed for NZ/AUS recipe swap #26, March '09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      I made these tomatoes awhile ago and just forgot to review them! These were fantastic and as soon as tomatoes come back into season I plan to make it again! Thanks for such a fresh and flavorful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      I used cherry tomatoes and added a little but of mozzarella to it and made it to put on crackers. It was great, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      The combination of Campari tomatoes with the fresh basil, balsamic, fresh cracked pepper and kosher salt was a burst of summer goodness in every bite! It really couldn't have been easier and along with a bit of bread- it is all you need for a lite lunch that will truly satisfy. I can't wait to share this one with my family! Made for ZWT 4!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      These were delicious! I added some oregano as well. Made for ZWT4 for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      These were very tasty and fresh. I loved them! Made for ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      Really nice! My daughter told me to give these 5 stars, she loved them and thought they were the best part of our meal. Unfortunately i forgot to buy extra tomatoes so i had only 2 left, but as there are only 3 of us that was fine (after i agreed to give DD the last half, lol) I did put the basil underneath the tomatoes so the flavor would stay "fresh". Made for ZWT4 for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      Delicious. I cooled it down, dribbled evoo over it, and served it as a salad. Extremely flavourful - especially for tomatoes that may not be up to par yet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      Easy and delicious side dish. Hey I love fresh basil and balsamic vinegar on anything, but particularly tomatoes. The vinegar taste was evident but not overpowering. I cooked this for 30 minutes, which seemed perfect to me, but I could see some people wanting to give it a little extra time. Made for ZWT 2008, the Italian basil challenge. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fast Tomatoes With Basil and Balsamic

    Serving Size: 1 (66 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 13.7
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    53%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites