Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Failproof French Bread (Bread Machine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Failproof French Bread (Bread Machine)

    Average Rating:

    128 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 128

    Sort by:

    • on October 24, 2008

      This bread is the BEST! The flavor is perfectly balanced, just the right amount of salt, and the crust especially is amazing- slightly crisp, but not in the least bit heavy... I made the bread as instructed. Some people might find it helpful to know that 1/4 ounce package is equal to 2 1/4 teaspoons of active dry yeast (I buy my bread machine yeast in bulk). Thanks so much for a great recipe ; )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      I have made this twice in the last week. The first time the bread tasted great, but it was not like "french" bread. It was good but not crunchy enough. I read in a cooking magazine that you need to spray the bread with hot water just prior to putting it the oven. Then spray 10 sprays all around the oven walls (not the lightbulb!) close the oven wait 30 seconds and repeat. Now that made some seriously crunchy bread! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2013

      Amazing crispy crust just as french bread should be! I made two batches of french bread (two different recipes). The first was good, but when everyone got a piece of THIS it was like they were experiencing bread for the first time. Thanks for making grandma look good at the dinner table. All three grandkids quickly ate their spaghetti so they could have more bread. This was a winner and a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2004

      No lie, wonderful flavor and easy to make! We loved it. Funny, my bread-machine cookbook had a whole list of ingredients, and this wonderful bread basically had just 3! Go with this recipe, for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2010

      This bread is so good. My husband loved it. Thanks for the great recipe. It is so simple to put everything into the bread machine and just finish it in the oven. I didn't have bread flour so I used the all purpose flour and it came out delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      Easy, tasty, and inexpensive. I use bread flour and yeast from Sams Club, so these only cost a few cents per loaf. (Keep the yeast in the freezer and it lasts for a year). Now I'm trying to find the best way to freeze the loaves to make for quick thaw/cook.
      I have found the crusts are even better if baked on a preheated pizza stone, though it can be tricky to transfer them after they have risen. Just use cornmeal on the sheet they are rising on, then let them roll onto the stone so you don't have to push on them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      Oh my, just pulled this bread out of the oven and it's perfect. Light, moist and airy inside with a crispy crust. Thank you Marie for posting this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2010

      I have nothing more to add than the other reviews have already said. Just make sure you slit the bread before you let it rise. I put some butter and garlic salt on the bread for the last 5 min of cooking. Yummy!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      I as well had a problem with the bread getting crusty during the second rise. But most likely is was something had done, I am not very proficient at bread making. I also didnt know to make slices in the dough right away and when I finally did make the slices the bread was already crusty. Despite these problems the bread did come out of the oven tasting wonderful, so what if it wasnt the most visually appealing. You live and learn!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      This couldn't be easier to make and was delicious. I turned it into garlic cheese bread by using Incredibly Delicious Cheese Garlic Bread Spread for the spread. YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      I will never buy french bread again. This is a keeper. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      So simple and so good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      Wonderful recipe. I have made this many times and it is a crowd pleaser. Very easy and it has consistent delicious results.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      I can't believe I forgot to rate this. You are so right - this bread is perfect every time. Who knew such simple ingredients could make such tasty bread. If you don't get perfect bread, it's on you - this is a PERFECT recipe. Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      Failed. The outside got crusty when it was rising so it didn`t rise much and not at all when baking. I may try again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      Fabulous!! This is simple, but by far the best French Bread I have ever made. After the dough was done in the bread machine I divided it into two long loaves, cut slits in the top, let it double in size, brush with egg whites, bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes, and it was PERFECT!! Will make again tomorrow!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      This was perfect, made for my vegan friends. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      This is a very nice french baguette recipe. It turned out nice and crisp on the outside and soft on the inside, yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      This is a wonderful and easy bread recipe. Definitely putting this in my keeper recipes. Can't wait to make this again. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      I belive I heard the word magical I served it with Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti easy and good will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Failproof French Bread (Bread Machine)

    Serving Size: 1 (93 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 201.9
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    67%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 293.3 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes