Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Ethiopian-style Lentils With Yams (or Sweet Potatoes) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ethiopian-style Lentils With Yams (or Sweet Potatoes)

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on February 14, 2010

      The best thing about this recipe is the spice mixture --- I had never used fenugreek and it plays nicely off of cinnamon and allspice (yum!). Rather than split red lentils, I used whole green lentils, which worked fine --- I just increased the cooking time a little. I also doubled the proportion of lentils in the recipe, which worked well. (I think the pictured version also must have increased the lentil proportion from what is in the written recipe.) The sweet red pepper is the key to this recipe and ties everything together. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      What a wonderful (and healthy) recipe! I made this in my crockpot which took all of the guesswork out about what to add when. I used a whole sweet potato and 3 tablespoons of red lentils. I also added cayenne pepper, cardamom and some fresh spinach for color. I also had trouble finding fenugreek, but ended up finding it in a local Halal market but spelled "Funigric". I served it with Ethiopian Spiced Honey Bread. . .it was a great combination.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      Delicious! I doubled the recipe, omitted the fenugreek (since I didn't have any), and used about a cup of leftover canned diced tomatoes that was sitting in my fridge. Reduced the proportion of water to compensate. I also cooked the sweet potato in the oil for a bit before adding the onions and red pepper together, followed by the garlic (I can't stand the taste of burnt garlic). Only difference I'll make next time I do this (and there will be a next time) is get my hands on some fenugreek. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2012

      Absolutely delish!!! The blend of spices is wonderful! I added the cayenne as suggested as an option, along w/ the soy & just a touch of fish sauce for saltiness. The only thing I would do differently would be to triple the recipe so I have lots of leftovers. Thank-you, catwolf!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2014

      Love the flavours. I have made this a few times. I don't measure the main ingredients exactly, but I do the spices. I have also added cabbage or spinach or kale to it as well. I also use a V8 type juice instead of tomato paste and water. The whole family likes it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2014

      This recipe is WONDERFUL! I find myself making it at least once a week. I don't have the fenugreek on hand, but add some ground cumin and fennel seeds and it tastes great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2013

      Very nice. Healthy, tasty and cheap :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      Great recipe. Unfortunately I couldn't find fenugreek, but I did add cardamom as I had seen it in the recipe for berbere sauce. I would do that again next time! I more than quadrupled the recipe so I had food for a few days, and used cayenne instead of paprika. Perfect spice level- gets the tongue tingling but wasn't too hot. Next time I would use a lot more lentils and less sweet potato, though. Made it with some injera and it was a fantastic meal! Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2012

      This is really good and low-cal, too! One comment - the cinnamon is listed in the ingredients, but I did not see where it was supposed to be added to the dish, so I just added it with the other spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      I didn't have cinnamon or coriander, so I used 1/4 tsp chili powder and it was pretty good. Also, I used whole green lentils, more than the recipe, and more tomato paste than called for and put it over quinoa. So good. Next time I will put more sweet potato in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2011

      Good dish. I used less liquid (and used broth), smoked paprika and added some cayenne.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2011

      very good, unusual, will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      This was our first foray into Ethiopian style dishes. It was simple to make. We used the small pressure cooker, and think we cooked the lentils too far down, they lost their distinct shape. Ours also ended up being hot, as we inadvertently used the Half-Sharp paprika, however, I think much Ethiopian food is hot. We are going to try this again, with the regular paprika and do them less time under pressure and will report back.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      A keeper! I really liked this dish! I used sweet potatoes and served over rice. It is real comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      I tried this recipe initially to share with some vegan friends. I love this recipe and have used it several times now, even though I'm not vegan/vegetarian. :) Easy to prepare, a big hit with everyone who's tried it, and still works great left-over. It's not too spicy for me, full of flavor because of the spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      This was my first time making anything Ethiopian. Never used fenugreek before either. I made this for myself, as dh does't like sweet potato. I liked it. I did add a touch of cayenne. Thank you very much for this eye-opening recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      This was great; easy to make and a tasty treat. I'll make it again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

      Wow! Everyone loved this. Lots of flavor. The fenugreek is a must...you can find it at any indian market. Also, just before serving I added some fresh lemon juice. I'm addicted. Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      Thank you so much for this delicious recipe! I'm trying to go vegetarian, and it's savory, satisfying recipes like this that really help me to be able to forego meat-based meals. The flavor was WONDERFUL (although I couldn't find Fenugreek at my regular grocery story so I had to do without it this time...I'll have to scout around the ethnic groceries) Thanks again ! I'll definitely be adding this to my meal rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      My only regret is that I didn't make more of this; it was absolutely delicious! I didn't have any fenugreek, so I just increased all of the other spices, which worked fine. I also added some swiss chard and kale (I added the stalk part of the chard right after the peppers, and the greens at the very end)--worked nicely. I do think I would use a bit less water next time, since it turned out soupier than I had anticipated. I let some of the water boil off at the end and added a bit of bouillon powder for extra flavour. I also used more tomato paste than called for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ethiopian-style Lentils With Yams (or Sweet Potatoes)

    Serving Size: 1 (219 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 245.9
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    20%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 94.7 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.9 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 13.0 g
    52%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    31%
    Protein 9.6 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites