Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Enjoy No-Knead, Fridge-Friendly Dough Healthy Bread-In 5 Minutes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Enjoy No-Knead, Fridge-Friendly Dough Healthy Bread-In 5 Minutes

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on January 28, 2008

      This recipe is from the book "Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day" (I received the book for Christmas). The bread is excellent, and so easy to make that we've been having fresh, hot bread almost every day for the past month! I highly recommend the book - it has a lot of variations that you can make with this same recipe. The basic recipe is an excellent way to get started, but eventually you'll want to experiment with other ideas (like the baguette or cinnamon rolls!). The only change I've made is that I cover the bread during the "rest" before baking (I use loose plastic wrap). I think the crust gets a little too tough if I don't (although that's a personal preference).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      This deserves so much more than 5 stars. A friend put me on to the you-tube video, then I found you had posted the recipe....thanks so much. Well, this is simply the easiest and by far the tastiest bread I've ever made. (I'm going to borrow the book from the library) I'm THAT person that never makes a good loaf of bread, until now. The crust is probably my favourite, although the inside is pure heaven. If you have any doubt at all...put it to rest and grab a bowl. I cut the recipe in half and used 1 cup of multi-grain flour with the all purpose. Next time I will try increasing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2010

      Warning, do not try to do this with only whole wheat flour! I use only ww pastry flour in my house and this came out like a doorstop. I'm sure it's great for white flour but I won't be doing it again until I can find a healthy whole wheat version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2012

      I was looking for a whole grain bread so I played with this recipe and the results were outstanding. I used 2 cups whole wheat, 2 1/8 cups unbleached bread flour, 1 cup Quaker Multi-Grain Hot Cereal (not cooked), 1/2 cup flax seed, 1/2 cup cracked wheat, 1/4 cup sunflower seeds, and 1/4 cup kamut seeds. Other than that I followed the directions exactly. When resting the dough I covered it with a cloth, I also wet the top of the loaf when putting into the oven and also a few times while baking. This was some of the best bread I've had.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      This is a great way to make great bread with a minimum of effort. I used weights instead of volume for better control (32.6 oz AP flour, 25.6 oz water, .49 oz active yeast, 0.88 kosher salt). I also used whole wheat flour for 25% of the total flour by weight).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      WOW !!! Hubby has just said "Now this is what real bread should taste like. Nice crust on the outside, slightly chewy on the inside " . It is so simple. I halved the recipe as I thought I did not have a big enough container and my fridge is small. I made a mistake and added the yeast and salt to the flour and then then added water. I do not have a pizza peel and can not get cornmeal here, so simple mixed rice flour with some semolina onto my plastic chopping board. It slid off so easily into the oven onto my oven pan. Did not have a broiler so used my ss sugar bowl (lol) . My loaf was quite small as I did not take up enough dough. Yet it turned out fantastically. I have since ordered the book the recipe came from"Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day" . Thanks Dianamite for putting this in your review. I now have another batch getting ready and am trying to keep my kids paws off this small loaf as it is all I have for lunch.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      Great bread! I only made one change and used 1 envelope of fast rise yeast-turns out wonderful! This will be used often in my house.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2013

      By joop<br/>on October 13, 2010, you said you used only ww pastry flour, but it doesn't have the gluten or the protein that bread flours provide. I think if you use a whole wheat bread flour, or add some vital wheat gluten to your ww pastry flour, then you could make a nice loaf that meets your healthy criteria. I'm using a 7 grain and sunflower millet blend with some ww bread flour and I have had no issues with any of the combinations being dense or not rising. Blessings and good health!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2012

      This is a great recipe but as another reviewer wrote, it IS actually from the book "Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day" (so your local paper should have made that acknowlegment).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      Delicious, easy to make and simple ingredients. It's a trifecta! I first heard about this refrigerator dough several years back in Mother Earth News and thought it was a brilliant idea. Now that I've finally tried it, it's beyond brilliant! The first day the bread flavor was bland but it had great texture. Also, bland or not, it was fresh and homemade bread--it's hard to beat that. Two days later I cut a fist-sized lump from the refrigerator dough and baked it and the flavor was better. I didn't let the dough come to room temp, just tossed it in a little flour and threw the whole lump into the hot skillet and used kitchen shears to slash the top. The result was delightfully airy and very close to a perfect sandwich bread. Both times I baked my bread in a cast iron skillet that pre-heated along with the oven. This amount of dough/bread will easily supply our 2 person household for a week or more. Even though this isn't a whole grain bread, it still feels wholesome to make your own "daily bread". If you're looking for a good bread recipe to try, look no further!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      Made this several days ago &, as with the previous reviewer, I wanted to make several loaves before posting a review! Definitely a recipe worth keeping & in the future I want to try different flour combinations! No doubt about it, though ~ This recipe is a serious keeper! Thanks for sharing it! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2011

      Wow, I love this recipe! I have been wanting to try this concept for some time now, and truly it does not disappoint. I halved the recipe for 2 loaves and used a combination of whole wheat, white wheat, and AP flours. The dough took moments to throw together, then it was quite easy to work with and shape for loaves. The salt adds a lot to the flavor IMHO. I waited to review this until I had made both loaves so I could weigh in on the flavor change over time--yes, the sourdough-like flavor really comes forward after a few days in the fridge. Thanks so much for posting; I know I will use this often. Made for PRMR tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      I love this recipe! It's quick and simple. I bake the bread or pinch off a smaller amount to make a pizza or a stromboli. It's always ready when I want something special for a meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      This bread was very easy. My dough did pop the lid off of the container overnight and I lost a bit of it due to it drying out. I did like the bread but it was a bit chewy and the crust a bit tough. It had great flavor!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      This bread is great and so easy. I mixed this up last night and had it for an early lunch. Since I was trying it for the first time. I just used a cookie sheet, not a pizza stone. The crust was perfect and the inside tender and flavorful. My two kids devoured the bread. I will try the variations that I see in the book. For anyone interested in trying this recipe, you may want to halve the recipe before making a full 4 loaves full of dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      This did not work out for me at all. I tried following the directions precisely, but it just did not turn out well. We ate a couple slices and had to throw the rest out. I thought it was too salty, my boyfriend thought it was too sour. I must have done something wrong. Sorry, but I won't be attempting this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      Absolutely fantastic. Really easy and very tasty bread. I used 1/3 of wholemeal flour and 2/3 of normal flour and followed the recipe. The first time at point 11 I had problems transfering the bread to the baking sheet. Second time I used a piece of parchment paper (on the pizza peel)dusted with flour. It was much easier then. Thanks for posting. Update after 3 weeks. I have a bowl with bread dough all the time in my fridge. The method of baking from bread #194745 is much easier so I have used this - in this way I do not worry about sticking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      This is a fabulous idea and makes it so easy to have fresh bread at all times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Enjoy No-Knead, Fridge-Friendly Dough Healthy Bread-In 5 Minutes

    Serving Size: 1 (1568 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1005.3
     
    Calories from Fat 27
    78%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3503.8 mg
    145%
    Total Carbohydrate 209.1 g
    69%
    Dietary Fiber 8.9 g
    35%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 30.4 g
    60%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes