18 Reviews

This recipe is from the book "Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day" (I received the book for Christmas). The bread is excellent, and so easy to make that we've been having fresh, hot bread almost every day for the past month! I highly recommend the book - it has a lot of variations that you can make with this same recipe. The basic recipe is an excellent way to get started, but eventually you'll want to experiment with other ideas (like the baguette or cinnamon rolls!). The only change I've made is that I cover the bread during the "rest" before baking (I use loose plastic wrap). I think the crust gets a little too tough if I don't (although that's a personal preference).

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dianamite January 28, 2008

This deserves so much more than 5 stars. A friend put me on to the you-tube video, then I found you had posted the recipe....thanks so much. Well, this is simply the easiest and by far the tastiest bread I've ever made. (I'm going to borrow the book from the library) I'm THAT person that never makes a good loaf of bread, until now. The crust is probably my favourite, although the inside is pure heaven. If you have any doubt at all...put it to rest and grab a bowl. I cut the recipe in half and used 1 cup of multi-grain flour with the all purpose. Next time I will try increasing it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 November 03, 2010

Warning, do not try to do this with only whole wheat flour! I use only ww pastry flour in my house and this came out like a doorstop. I'm sure it's great for white flour but I won't be doing it again until I can find a healthy whole wheat version.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joop October 13, 2010

I was looking for a whole grain bread so I played with this recipe and the results were outstanding. I used 2 cups whole wheat, 2 1/8 cups unbleached bread flour, 1 cup Quaker Multi-Grain Hot Cereal (not cooked), 1/2 cup flax seed, 1/2 cup cracked wheat, 1/4 cup sunflower seeds, and 1/4 cup kamut seeds. Other than that I followed the directions exactly. When resting the dough I covered it with a cloth, I also wet the top of the loaf when putting into the oven and also a few times while baking. This was some of the best bread I've had.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Awingsnutoo November 05, 2012

This is a great way to make great bread with a minimum of effort. I used weights instead of volume for better control (32.6 oz AP flour, 25.6 oz water, .49 oz active yeast, 0.88 kosher salt). I also used whole wheat flour for 25% of the total flour by weight).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Apple Guy October 10, 2009

WOW !!! Hubby has just said "Now this is what real bread should taste like. Nice crust on the outside, slightly chewy on the inside " . It is so simple. I halved the recipe as I thought I did not have a big enough container and my fridge is small. I made a mistake and added the yeast and salt to the flour and then then added water. I do not have a pizza peel and can not get cornmeal here, so simple mixed rice flour with some semolina onto my plastic chopping board. It slid off so easily into the oven onto my oven pan. Did not have a broiler so used my ss sugar bowl (lol) . My loaf was quite small as I did not take up enough dough. Yet it turned out fantastically. I have since ordered the book the recipe came from"Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day" . Thanks Dianamite for putting this in your review. I now have another batch getting ready and am trying to keep my kids paws off this small loaf as it is all I have for lunch.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Out of Africa May 27, 2009

Great bread! I only made one change and used 1 envelope of fast rise yeast-turns out wonderful! This will be used often in my house.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
We Cook together February 20, 2008

By joop<br/>on October 13, 2010, you said you used only ww pastry flour, but it doesn't have the gluten or the protein that bread flours provide. I think if you use a whole wheat bread flour, or add some vital wheat gluten to your ww pastry flour, then you could make a nice loaf that meets your healthy criteria. I'm using a 7 grain and sunflower millet blend with some ww bread flour and I have had no issues with any of the combinations being dense or not rising. Blessings and good health!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kara_5411614 September 25, 2013

This is a great recipe but as another reviewer wrote, it IS actually from the book "Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day" (so your local paper should have made that acknowlegment).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu October 08, 2012

Delicious, easy to make and simple ingredients. It's a trifecta! I first heard about this refrigerator dough several years back in Mother Earth News and thought it was a brilliant idea. Now that I've finally tried it, it's beyond brilliant! The first day the bread flavor was bland but it had great texture. Also, bland or not, it was fresh and homemade bread--it's hard to beat that. Two days later I cut a fist-sized lump from the refrigerator dough and baked it and the flavor was better. I didn't let the dough come to room temp, just tossed it in a little flour and threw the whole lump into the hot skillet and used kitchen shears to slash the top. The result was delightfully airy and very close to a perfect sandwich bread. Both times I baked my bread in a cast iron skillet that pre-heated along with the oven. This amount of dough/bread will easily supply our 2 person household for a week or more. Even though this isn't a whole grain bread, it still feels wholesome to make your own "daily bread". If you're looking for a good bread recipe to try, look no further!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedFarmGirl December 18, 2011
Enjoy No-Knead, Fridge-Friendly Dough Healthy Bread-In 5 Minutes