Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Engine 2 Raise the Roof Sweet Potato Vegetarian Lasagna Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Engine 2 Raise the Roof Sweet Potato Vegetarian Lasagna

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on March 01, 2010

      Knock your socks off AND raise the roof! Wowee! This is one of the best lasagnas I've ever had. From Prose's review I knew to use my large 15x13 pan which worked out well. I also did things like, okay those three small onions equal 2 medium ones and this one huge bell pepper is enough! In other words, I tried to cut down as many veggies as possible which worked out well as the 15x13 pan was overbrimming! My guests really liked this and I LOVED it! Going into my Best of 2010 Cookbook. Thanks, Wish I Could Cook. Made for Veggie Recipe Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      This is absolutely delicious! The sweet potato mash is a surprisingly good sub for cheese. I didn't miss cheese at all. I had trouble finding gluten-free lasagna noodles, so I ended up using rotini, but I still layered it all in a 13 x 9 inch pan, just like lasagna, and it turned out amazingly lasagna-like. When I make this again (and I WILL), I will either find a bigger pan or reduce the amounts. I think the tofu/veggie mixture could be cut in half. I didn't even use all of it and my pan was overflowing, so I didn't bother with the tomato slices or ground cashews (but I will next time). Fourteen ounces of noodles is definitely enough, but I would not reduce the amount of sauce. I used green peppers instead of red. Anyway, this is a fantastic recipe for feeding a crowd. It's healthy, but it's also hearty, filling, and delicious! Reviewed for Veg*n Swap 14.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2013

      We made this lasagna last night for Mother's Day. Having read the reviews, I used a deep, disposable foil pan that accommodated all of the ingredients and this worked well. This makes a lot of lasagna! It is a bit prep intensive, which makes it a good company or special occasion dish. It looks really pretty in the pan with the sliced tomatoes on the top and it is chock full of healthy veggies. The dish itself got mixed reviews in my family. Myself and DH liked it, but some of my other family did not. I might recommend serving this recipe to those who mostly follow a vegetarian diet versus a mixed crowd. We served with Arugula Salad With Shaved Manchego. Made for Veggie Swap May 2013.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2012

      This is a delicious and versatile lasagna recipe. I also made changes to use what I had on hand, subbing ricotta for tofu, omitting the red peppers and tomatoes, and subbing walnuts for cashews and sprinkling it all at the end with a little parmesan and parsley for beauty's sake. I had to have seconds, it tasted amazing.
      I'll agree with the comments of it being too much for one pan; I used two pans and they were jammed. So, use two pans, and you'll be happy that you have one for a friend or for the freezer, or halve the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2012

      This is my new favorite recipe. It was so good I ate way too much of it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2011

      This was really good. I halved the recipe, used rotini noodles as suggested in the introduction and omitted the mushrooms to accommodate DD's preferences. Also, cashews were rather expensive so I had to omit them but I do feel they would have been a delicious addition. I wasn't able to fit all the pasta in that was called for, perhaps because the rotini takes up more space than lasagna noodles? We felt it would have been better without the sweetness of the corn and will leave it out next time. Thank you for sharing this lovely dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      This was very good. I didn't really miss the cheese! I agree that the veggie amounts could be cut in half. My favorite parts were the sweet potato mash (I think I would actually double that part!), the fresh tomatoes and the cashews. Thank you for a healthy, vegan recipe. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Engine 2 Raise the Roof Sweet Potato Vegetarian Lasagna

    Serving Size: 1 (479 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 552.4
     
    Calories from Fat 109
    19%
    Total Fat 12.1 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 2.6 mg
    0%
    Sodium 627.4 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 94.2 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 11.5 g
    46%
    Sugars 20.9 g
    83%
    Protein 20.4 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites