Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Egyptian Fava Bean Dip (Foul Mudammes) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Egyptian Fava Bean Dip (Foul Mudammes)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on February 24, 2002

      Made this for brunch today. Delicious with warm crusty french bread like you suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      Wow, this was delicious!! My husband and I ate it all in one sitting!! I used a package of vacuum-sealed fava beans from Trader Joe's -- it was only 12 oz. but worked out just fine. I didn't add the potato--it would probably just make it more filling. We ate it with garlic naan bread -- yummy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2013

      yummy recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      This dip was a big hit last night at our opening ceremony party! Thanks for the awesome receipt :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      I have been using this recipe on and off for about 6 years. I love it every time. I usually use dried favas which I soak for a day or two in advance. It's always a big hit with guests. It stores well for a few days and warms up quick in the microwave. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2011

      This is a good version of foul mudammes. I still have another favorite though, Foul Medammes With Dill (Masr). I used Cedar brand canned cooked fava beans. Make sure to use the small beans not the really big ones at least unless you are going to peel them, I used less chili powder (the mixed spice kind), Iraqi Curry Powder, no turmeric as it is already in Iraqi Curry Powder, freshly squeezed lemon juice, sea salt, no optional potato, plus the rest of the ingredients including a good olive oil swirled over top. Served warm with rice crackers as a part of suhoor (the meal before dawn and fajr prayer in the month of Ramadan) I may make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

    • on November 25, 2008

      Love Middle Eastern food in general, and Foul is no exception. Made this, but with a couple of alterations. Used dried beans (cheaper & better than canned) and didn't have a spud so used a bit of sweet potato, which goes really well with this spice mix. Must have been good as I took some of what was left to the Iraqui guys who run my local fish shop, and they gave me a discount on that day's fish. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      Fantastic! I made exactly as specified, with the potato. Delicious on warm naan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      This dip was very easy to make and so tasty. The mix and flavour of all the spices is fantastic. My DH and I enjoy dips as a quick snack and often take them to work with some crackers or vegetable sticks. It will definitely be added to our list of favourites. Thanks for sharing it with us! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      Very flavorful, with the perfect amount of spice. I did not include the optional potato, but I think it would have been a very nice addition. I really enjoyed this with some flatbread for breakfast. This was my first-ever recipe using fava beans, and I was pleasantly surprised. By the way, it's a good idea to let the leftovers come to room temp before serving (it's not as good cold, I don't think). Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      This recipe is awesome -- my new favorite appetizer/dip/mush, surpassing longtime favorites hummous and baba ghanooj. I omitted the oil to make it virtually fat free (I mostly practice a Dean Ornish-style diet). That made it a bit dense but the flavor was still superb. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      Well I have to say thank you for putting this recipe up. I was looking for ethiopian foul so I found this a bit different, it must be the spices but it was still pretty good. I added some sugar to sweeten it up a bit and chopped some raw jalapeno and red onion and added it as a garnish at the end. I also used butter as that is what I've had in foul before. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2005

      my husband is egyptian and he had been asking me to make this in particular because it is one of his usual meals at home. wow. it was wonderful. the first time I tasted ful he made it , but he cannot cook, so I didnt like it at all, but I made it this morning for breakfast and I love it. thanks for putting this on here. Im sure he will be very happy when he gets up and because it will taste right. lol. its great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Egyptian Fava Bean Dip (Foul Mudammes)

    Serving Size: 1 (218 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 139.4
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    58%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 14.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 6.9 g
    27%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 8.9 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes