11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I don't like eggplant. I REALLY REALLY enjoyed this recipe! The reviews that say "too sour" I could see that. If you don't like the flavor of vinegar, I would cut it a little bit - or use rice wine vinegar that is a little less sour. When I do this recipe again (which will probably be tomorrow because 4 Cups of eggplant was only about half the eggplant!) I am going to try a little hoisin too. I could see fresh ginger too as interesting variations.

The other note is that "2x2" is only two dimensions on a three dimensional object! I cut it about 1 inch thick and it kept its meatiness without being hard or tough.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ejadamek July 21, 2010

I thought I would love this dish so I doubled it. The vinegar was so strong it made the entire dish inedible. We had to chuck the entire batch and I'm so disappointed. I wonder if doubling the recipe could have ruined it? It's not something I would make again. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie October 19, 2010

I honestly did not expect to like this, but had to find something fast to do with my eggplant. I'm so glad I did!!!! It IS an extremely strong flavor, but I found it to be addictive, and I'm on my way to make a much bigger batch now. Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsMcC September 29, 2010

This is really good eggplant. :) Usually Eggplant Adobo in the Philippines is made without the vinegar, so this was a change for us. I liked the vinegar in it but thought maybe next time I'll use 1/4 cup to tone it down just a little. I think DH will really like this so once he gets back from his trip I'll make it again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enjolinfam May 29, 2008

We ate this on its own -- no rice needed! I used a little bit of black pepper and chili pepper flakes, because most people here don't like heat... if it were up to me, though, I'd pour it on. Great recipe -- thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brokenburner February 25, 2008

I liked this. It was a bit mushy, but I liked the taste. Eggplants are something I would love to love, so I keep trying new recipes. I am developing a fondness toward them. Thank you very much for this recipe, I plan to make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feej July 05, 2007

YUM! This was very tasty, and very quick to put together. I really love the idea of broiling the eggplant rather than just cooking them on the stove. This way they didn't completely break down in the sauce. I was a bit hesitant with the sauce at first, and added some brown sugar to even out all the vinegar, but honestly the sugar wasn't needed (unless you really want a sweeter sauce) The sauce IS strong but it all tones down a lot once the eggplant absorbs it all. Very yummy! This is my new favourite eggplant dish. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu June 06, 2007

Oh, yeah ~ You've gotten me hooked on [well, if not 'hooked on,' certainly willing to make, again] eggplant dishes! I made the recipe as is, & the results were gone in no time at all! Very tasty, & many thanks for sharing it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike February 16, 2007

Very tangy and too sour for our tastes. Will try again but with some adjustments. Next Time I will roast the garlic together with the eggplant and cut back on the vinegar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WizzyTheStick February 14, 2007

Ok, I am going to be honest- was very skeptical about this recipe. I kept telling DH, "No guarantees, I don't know what to expect." Engrossed--- this knocked our socks off. I will be making this every single time eggplant is on sale. I wanted more this morning because the smell was still in the air. It took less than 20 mins to make and less than 30 seconds to eat. :) Thank you for a keeper. ADDING TO SAY: This is now a weekly menu item. Love this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsMM February 01, 2007
Eggplant (Aubergine) Adobo