Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Eggplant (Aubergine) Adobo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Eggplant (Aubergine) Adobo

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on July 21, 2010

      I don't like eggplant. I REALLY REALLY enjoyed this recipe! The reviews that say "too sour" I could see that. If you don't like the flavor of vinegar, I would cut it a little bit - or use rice wine vinegar that is a little less sour. When I do this recipe again (which will probably be tomorrow because 4 Cups of eggplant was only about half the eggplant!) I am going to try a little hoisin too. I could see fresh ginger too as interesting variations.

      The other note is that "2x2" is only two dimensions on a three dimensional object! I cut it about 1 inch thick and it kept its meatiness without being hard or tough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      I thought I would love this dish so I doubled it. The vinegar was so strong it made the entire dish inedible. We had to chuck the entire batch and I'm so disappointed. I wonder if doubling the recipe could have ruined it? It's not something I would make again. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2010

      I honestly did not expect to like this, but had to find something fast to do with my eggplant. I'm so glad I did!!!! It IS an extremely strong flavor, but I found it to be addictive, and I'm on my way to make a much bigger batch now. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      This is really good eggplant. :) Usually Eggplant Adobo in the Philippines is made without the vinegar, so this was a change for us. I liked the vinegar in it but thought maybe next time I'll use 1/4 cup to tone it down just a little. I think DH will really like this so once he gets back from his trip I'll make it again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      We ate this on its own -- no rice needed! I used a little bit of black pepper and chili pepper flakes, because most people here don't like heat... if it were up to me, though, I'd pour it on. Great recipe -- thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      I liked this. It was a bit mushy, but I liked the taste. Eggplants are something I would love to love, so I keep trying new recipes. I am developing a fondness toward them. Thank you very much for this recipe, I plan to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      YUM! This was very tasty, and very quick to put together. I really love the idea of broiling the eggplant rather than just cooking them on the stove. This way they didn't completely break down in the sauce. I was a bit hesitant with the sauce at first, and added some brown sugar to even out all the vinegar, but honestly the sugar wasn't needed (unless you really want a sweeter sauce) The sauce IS strong but it all tones down a lot once the eggplant absorbs it all. Very yummy! This is my new favourite eggplant dish. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2007

      Oh, yeah ~ You've gotten me hooked on [well, if not 'hooked on,' certainly willing to make, again] eggplant dishes! I made the recipe as is, & the results were gone in no time at all! Very tasty, & many thanks for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      Very tangy and too sour for our tastes. Will try again but with some adjustments. Next Time I will roast the garlic together with the eggplant and cut back on the vinegar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2007

      Ok, I am going to be honest- was very skeptical about this recipe. I kept telling DH, "No guarantees, I don't know what to expect." Engrossed--- this knocked our socks off. I will be making this every single time eggplant is on sale. I wanted more this morning because the smell was still in the air. It took less than 20 mins to make and less than 30 seconds to eat. :) Thank you for a keeper. ADDING TO SAY: This is now a weekly menu item. Love this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      This was a tasty way to eat eggplant and I love that it has only cooking spray as most eggplant recipes I come accross have a ton of oil. The sauce was really, really tasty. The cooking time was not long enough for us and about half of the eggplant chunks were hard. Next time, and there will be a next time, I will cook them for a longer time. I may also cook in the oven so that they can cook longer without getting burned. My husband, who tells me he can't stand eggplant, ate his whole portion and said it was good. We served this over mixed grains with steamed veggies on the side and leftovers were great on a green salad the next day. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Eggplant (Aubergine) Adobo

    Serving Size: 1 (132 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 39.8
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    63%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1008.9 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes