51 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

As is, I rate this a 4 but with my modifications it would be a 5. I had to add about 2 more tbs of sugar and more cinnamon because they were very very bland. BUT they rose beautifully! I have made a handful of different vegan pancakes and these are the best I've ever made! Rather than leaving them to rest for 3-5 min, I let them rest for 15 min. The batter was kind of foamy looking and then I poured them into a very well buttered pan. Make sure your pan is very hot, that's a must! I flip mine over as soon as they're flip-able which is when the ends are cooked. That's it! I have a new go-to pancake recipe. Thanks for the basics!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Veganista April 26, 2010

I just made these for a family brunch and they were fantastic. I just used water since I had to accommodate both dairy and soy allergies, but they still tasted great and everyone loved them. I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and the rest white, upped the sugar by about a teaspoon, added some vanilla extract and also added chocolate chips to half of the batter. This made about 18 pancakes for me. Definitely a keeper!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
day-hee July 10, 2010

These turned out perfect! My anti-vegan husband couldn't even tell that these were vegan. I used 2 1/4 cups whole wheat flour and they came out very fluffy and soft. I added a dash of vanilla and cinnamon to the batter. This will now be my go-to pancake recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bugeah June 06, 2010

Added another Tbs. of sugar & 4 TBS, of ground flax for nutrients. Made choc. chip pancakes for the kiddos, really yummy! thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurenhanna April 08, 2010

Yummy! used unsweetened applesauce instead of oil and used both whole wheat and reg flour. FLUFFIEST pancakes I've ever made! Makes a lot. Thanks for the recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veganprincess April 04, 2010

So light, fluffy and delicious! This is the third time I've made these pancakes and they are such a hit with my kids everytime. I add a splash of vanilla and pumpkin pie spice instead of the cinnamon (shhhh, I also added an extra tablespoon of sugar).

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Double_Happiness March 11, 2010

Very nice, and so simple. I used the recipe as a guide for proportions and made mine with soya milk, spelt, aluminium-free baking powder, a slug of olive oil and a banana. They were fluffy with crispy edges. Ate them with butter (sorry - not vegan but delish) and maple syrup. Lovely. Thanks.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spoiled and Lazy March 01, 2010

These are the best! I add blueberries and a little nutmeg. Yummy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lilmsbritches May 24, 2011

These certainly taste no different then "regular" pancakes. Upon reading reviews I added 2 tbsp more sugar and thought they were perfectly sweet. Used 8th continent vanilla soy milk and that gave them a nice vanilla rich flavor. Very fluffy! I'm not a big fan of fluffy pancakes, they're usually heavy, but these aren't heavy at all! Can't wait to try adding some blueberries to the next batch. I got 16 good sized pancakes from this recipe (which is definitely more then 4 servings here! More like 8) These also cook much quicker then most other pancakes. As the Vaganista said below - my best results were when i flipped them as soon as they were flippable. Thanks for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma January 12, 2011

Superb! i made another vegan pancake last week that wasn't a success so I was so happy these turned out. Of course... I modified a bit. Used 1 c white, 1 1/4 c wheat flour, cut sugar to 1 TBS, omitted oil and used 2 TBS applesauce instead. Added 1 very finely chopped apple (as another reviewer had) and (I KNOW NOT VEGAN!) used regular milk, because I didn't have any soy and our household is only half-vegan! Added a splash of vanilla too and lots of cinnamon. Very good apple/cin pancakes. Served with fresh strawberries! A winner!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mapsmay February 17, 2010
Easy Vegan Pancakes