24 Reviews

I won't rate this right now. I have a horrible cold/sinus infection, and found this recipe on the internet (or one pretty much like it). I adore ginger, but not sure I want to sip on this, but was trying it to see if it helped open up the ears/nose. It got rave reviews for just that, so crossing fingers.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bliss~ March 26, 2013

I am amazed at how simple and great tasting your recipe is! I will definitely be using this again. Can hardly wait for my wife to get home for her to try it. <br/><br/>I do want to make a comment in general about rating recipes. If the recipe is modified in any way I believe it's unfair to rate it. For example, Lennie's recipe... see virtually all ratings are 5 stars but one that used candied ginger instead of ginger root ..... then that person dropped the rating to 4 stars!!!! Booooo! <br/><br/>Thanks for the recipe Lennie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StormiN' Orman March 31, 2014

Delicious, love this tea! try making your own tea bag out of a small piece of cheesecloth. Wrap the ginger up inside and tie in a knot, and leave a long piece coming off from the knot. Leave this long part sticking out of your teapot and simply pull it out when you're done steeping! This relieves you of having to strain it when it's done. It works great! Also try adding some lemon zest into the teabag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laurenremmers January 17, 2012

Thanks so much for posting this seemingly ultra simple recipe. Late one night, I was desperately looking for a single-cup homemade recipe of ginger tea to hopefully soothe my week-long ailing stomach. I knew ginger was known for helping the digestive tract so I wanted something simple & without extra ingredients, but I had never actually made, or had, just "Ginger Tea" before (so off to recipezaar I went). The ratios & the steep time of this recipe created the absolute perfect cup! It was Intense, but addicting - Somehow just right! This is now my permanent basic ginger tea recipe to which I have already repeatedly used. I do use honey in place of the sugar. Oh, and it really was therapeutic for my stomach :) Thank You!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gaia22 September 27, 2010

Wonderful! I made this with ginger paste and didn't bother to strain it. Thank you so much for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VeganJen March 22, 2009

i drink this all the time, usually with a slice of lemon. it's great, with/without sweetener. Great after a karaoke session, it really soothes the throat. thanks lennie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WaterMelon November 18, 2003

I love this tea, thank you for posting it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bristol jen November 14, 2012

Super easy and delicious. I used sweetener vs the real sugar b/c I am watching my carbs/sugar intake but it was just as good. You could also use honey. This is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claidan January 14, 2010

This is very good and easy! I have had a stomach ache for several days, and this tea immidiately started to ease the ache! I used blue agave nectar for the sweet, and it tastes great! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jhawkjen January 08, 2010

The Best! This is so tasty and is also great for an upset stomach. As I have a bit of a sweet tooth did add a little more sugar. Thanks so much for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl January 03, 2010
Easy Ginger Tea