Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Diana's Egyptian Lentils & Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Diana's Egyptian Lentils & Rice

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on April 26, 2009

      Loved this recipe, I used green lentils and brown basmatic rice with 6 cups of chicken broth. It turned out great. Topped it with a bit of cheese and chili pepper flakes because I like spicy. Will make this again and again. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      Good vegan comfort food. I used the Auto setting on my crockpot which has an hour on high and the rest of the time on low. This worked well with the basmati rice and mix of brown and puy lentils that I used. In fact it probably didn't need the 4 hours that it got and I probably could have gotten away with 2-3 hours judging by the look of it before we headed off to sports practice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      I wanted to like this because it was so healthy and easy, and it smelled really good. Just didn't do it for me, though. I ended up adding a ton of hot sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      The flavor of this is really interesting. It was a very gross looking meal. The rice became mush and the lentils stayed hard. If (a big If) I make this again I think I will cook them individually and mix them before serving.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      What a great recipe! I made this for dinner and served it over some fresh onion naan. i wasn't expecting for the flavors to work so nicely together. it was absolutely delicious. i didn't have any problems with the texture however i did turn off the crock pot an hour early because it seemed ready to me. (so i only cooked it on high for 3 hours and then left it on warm for about 30 min.) it turned out great. thanks roosie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      I really loved this recipe. The crockpot made it INCREDIBLY easy. I cooked it on high about 3.5 hours and used brown rice and brown lentils. I tasted great with Texas Pete Vinegar pepper sauce. My husband had 3 bowls!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      Very good combination of flavors and so easy to make! The house smelled wonderful! The dish comes our very mushy, so would go well with a nice crisp salad. Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2004

      This was very nice and we enjoyed it for dinner. I used long-grain Basmati rice and Homemade Maggi vegetable broth with onions for the broth. Will make this again. Thank you for sharing:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2014

      You don't use rice you use orzo, pasta that looks like rice. you only cook the lentils for a long time add the pasta about 40 minutes before its done. Grew up on this dish and it still is a personal favorite

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2013

      Great start! It cooked perfectly, and the texture was awesome, but it needed tons more flavor and spice! I'd make it again, but with some seasoning modifications. Great start to a comforting, filling vegan favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2011

      Simple and delicious! I used long grain brown rice, 5 cups of water with Better than Bouillon in place of stock, and cooked on high about 3.5 hours in my 3.5 quart slow cooker. Four of my five family members really enjoyed this, including one who doesn't like lentils much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2011

      Wow, this is delicious. I did add some cut up mushrooms. Will definitely make this again and again. Yummmmmmmmmy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      Easy to make, had a good flavor but it did get mushy. I did use 5 cups of liquid and kept checking on it and when I lifted the lid it did start to look a little dry so after stirring it up it still looked dry and started to burn around the sides (the setting was on low.) So I added another cup of liquid, big mistake. It made the dish mushy and didn't firm up after leaving the lid off for a bit, I'm thinking I probably should have tasted the dish when the rice looked cooked and dry...... probably could have added less than half a cup of liquid and it would have been fine. As it was it started to burn again and when we tasted it, it was fully cooked, I'm guessing the cooking time for our crock pot is different than on the one used, but still a good dish, will have to play with the cooking time and the liquid, maybe also spray the crockpot with a non-stick spray.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

    • on April 21, 2008

      This was very good! I was pleasantly surprised by the combination of cumin and cinnamon--and I don't usually like cinnamon in my savory dishes. I cooked this on high with 5 cups broth for 4 hours, and while the lentils weren't mushy the rice was (I used brown rice). Not sure how to fix that--I think maybe the key is to add some other veggies toward the end of cooking to add some texture. Also, I only used 1 T oil and it was fine. In fact, not cooking the onions in oil first might just solve the texture issue for me...a little crunch can go a long way! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      Made this for Freezer Tag 2008 - and my goodness, what a pleasant surprise! We had no idea what to expect, and it turns out we were thrilled! The house smelled fabulous all day, and the combination of cumin and cinnamon with the lentils and rice was incredible! We froze before cooking, and nothing could be easier: First, we sauteed the onions in the olive oil with 1/4 teaspoon of salt. Meanwhile, I just dumped the rest of the dry ingredients - lentils, 1/2 tsp. salt, and the spices, along with brown basmati rice - into a quart-sized freezer bag. Then the sauteed onions went right on top, and into the freezer. To cook, just empty the bag (still frozen!) into the crockpot, along with a large (49-oz.) can of low sodium chicken broth. We cooked on low for most of the day, then turned the crockpot up to high for about an hour until the liquid was absorbed. This recipe will definitely become a regular!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      I don't know if I did something wrong or what. I left it in the crock pot for the 8 hours and I used the lesser amount of water/stock. And when I got home, it was all mush. And not very appetizing looking. To be honest, I didn't taste it. We ended up getting an invite to eat at a friend's that night. I will try this again one day when I am home all day so I can check on it from time to time. I wonder if the cook time is off by a few hours...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      his recipe tasted good, but the texture was completely mushy; it had the consistency of mashed potatoes. Also, the color was very unappetizing and drab. I wonder if the size of my crockpot had any effect on how this dish turned out. I'll try it again, but with less water and a longer cooking time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      It was a little hard to decide how to best rate this recipe. The flavors are wonderful and the dish has just the right balance of onions, cinnamon and cumin. At the same time, I had some problems with the consistency and texture of the final dish. After cooking for about 3 1/5 hours, my top layer of lentils were tender and perfect but underneath was a mushy mash made up of the rice and some lentils. I think this might work better if the rice were added later, the water reduced or both. My other idea is that brown rice, though less authentic would work better since it's cooking time is closer to that of lentils. The flavor is tasty and well worth tinkering to get an easy and tasty meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      Catch this! I do NOT like lentils! The flavors in this were AWESOME! Mine turned out more like Egyptian re-fried beans as I put this in the crockpot before leaving home and returned an hour later than I thought I would. This didn't affect the flavor of the recipe it just made serving it a bit more of a challenge. I did decrease the cumin to 2 tsp. for my mild-tasting kids but I think they would have done fine with the entire 1 Tbsp. I will definitely make this again! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Diana's Egyptian Lentils & Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (269 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 319.3
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    17%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 451.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.6 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 15.7 g
    63%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 14.5 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites