50 Reviews

I used 3 large cucumbers and doubled the other ingredients with the exception of cutting back on the sugar. Added thinly sliced onion as we like pickled onion and it adds to the flavor of the cukes too. This is the easiest and best pickling marinade I have ever made and will continue to use this recipe. I want to try it on beets as soon as I get some. Will have to see if it works on boiled eggs as well. Omited the dill and parsley as the family does not care for it but I personally think it would be tasty. Thanks very much Elmotoo! Terra

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nana-Terra August 14, 2010

Can I give this 25 stars?? This, for me, is the quintessential flavor of summer (along with ripe tomatoes), and this recipe gets the sweet/tangy/salty ratios just right. I made as written with dill and wouldn't change a thing! Thanks for posting--I believe this may go straight to my Best of 2011 cookbook! Made for Veg Swap 35.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian May 30, 2011

Cucumbers at their best, with a nice level of tang verses sweetness. I did not have fresh dill so used 1 teaspoon dry. It is really hard to wait the suggested 3 hours before serving. Made for team Soup-A-Stars during ZWT9 2013

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J August 11, 2013

I'll never use another pickled cucumber recipe again! The marinade was perfectly balanced - not too tart and not too sweet! Like Diner524, I used both dill and parsley. Incredibly good! Thanks so much for posting! Made for team Gourmet Goddesses, ZWT9.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jostlori August 09, 2013

Yum, yum, yum!! We love cucumber salad and this is a wonderful one!! I made this as written, except I cut back a bit on the sugar, as we like it more tart then sweet, and I added both the dill and parsley. I did add a bit of very thinly sliced sweet onions as DD is here visiting and insisted on that addition. Served this with our bacon wrapped chicken with bacon/parmesan cream sauce, rice pilaf and corn on the cob!! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe. Made for ZWT 9.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 August 05, 2013

This is how my mom used to make cucumber salad and I loved it! She didn't use the dill and it is a great addition. This is perfect to keep in the fridge and add to lots of meals, and also great to take to a pot luck. It was a walk down memory lane for me and something I will make a lot more often. I had forgotten how good cucumbers are! Made for ZWT9

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlaskaPam August 04, 2013

A nice change from the ones mom used to make. Mom used one and no dill so found replacing the onion with dill to be a refreshing change of pace. I made using an English cucumber so there was no need to peel. Thanks for the post.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl August 04, 2013

Very light & refreshing, a lovely way to jazz up some cucumber. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** March 11, 2013

I love cucumbers, and I'm of Danish heritage so when I saw this I thought I would try it. Delish! I'm not big on sweet flavors so I was skeptical about the sugar but it was great. I'll make this one again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
choco chip July 13, 2012

What everyone else said and more! Screams SUMMER! Good stuff! Used raw organic apple cider, local cukes, fresh parsley and some fennel fronds for fresh dill which I didn't have unfortunately. Reviewed for Veg Tag/June.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl June 21, 2012
Danish Pickled Cucumbers (Syltede Agurker)