14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

As a kid we had this very salad nearly every Sunday as part of our Sunday Smorgaasbord. Easy tasty recipe Thanks Lori

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy October 07, 2010

I haven't had pickled cucumber salad in many years, but my mom whose parents were from Finland made this frequently. This is a nice recipe for summertime when I don't want to cook. Really anytime you want something light to eat. I did add lots of minced garlic to liven the taste up more but don't tell anyone. Review written for Green Tag Thanks Gail

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SUGARBAKER03 March 15, 2010

I calculated a negative calorie intake. The energy it took to prepare consumed more calories than the conversion to calories after eaten. How 'bout "cash for cucumbers?" Could work.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng March 11, 2010

OUTSTANDING. I love simple salads like this. Totally reminds me of my childhood. And this is so inexpensive too!!! I love to have stuff like this on hand to munch on thru the day. Thanks so much for posting. Made for VEG*N tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride January 11, 2009

I substituted fresh lime juice for the vinegar and used red onions. Was well liked

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mila64 September 01, 2008

This is very good and easy to make. I used purple onions. Made for Market Tag 2007.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn December 22, 2007

I honestly expected this to be a little bland using white vinegar and only a little pepper for seasoning. I was wrong. The balance of the vinegar, sugar, and pepper is perfect in its simplicity. Just don't let it sit to long because the leftovers the next day got AWFULLY strong. Still tasty, but nearly pickles rather than salad. LOL

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3KillerBs April 04, 2007

I love this! I grew up eating a very similar version of this salad. It is always well received by everyone. I always include vidalia onions when making cucumber salad. I served this today with Baked Penne and Roasted Vegetables and it was wonderful. Thank you very much, Lauralie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev September 17, 2006

I've made this salad for the zaar world tour and I liked it. I did use the optional onions and would add them again. This recipe made a nice change from the yoghurt-dill dressing that my mother makes for cucumber salad, but I still like my mother's way better. However, I might consider using this recipe again if I don't have any yoghurt in the house. Thank's Lori for sharing this Danish salad!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tigerduck June 16, 2006

Just made 1 portion of this salad,its very tasty

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoraMarie June 08, 2006
Danish Cucumber Salad - Agurkesalat