Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Curried Chickpeas and Black Beans-Low Fat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Curried Chickpeas and Black Beans-Low Fat

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on February 06, 2004

      DELICIOUS! This is so similar to a chickpea curry that I already make, minus the black beans, and with an addition of garlic. I increased the amount of curry powder to our tastes and I had to use fresh tomatoes as I didnt have any canned available! The lemon juice is essential! Such a quick and delicious dish! Thanks becky! We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2004

      Very tasty! I have been looking for bean/veggie dishes for my DASH diet and this one is a great one. I did add some carrots. Next time I will remember the lemon juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2012

      Just as described; quick, simple and tasty! I love that this uses items that I almost always have in the house. I made this as written, using both the cilantro and the parsley. The fresh lemon juice was a great finishing touch. Thanx for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2012

      I totally forgot to add the lemon juice, but I don't know that it would have necessarily made this dish any better. Indian food is probably my favorite genre of food, so I make it often. Very few of my dishes ever turn out as well as in a restaurant, though. Most recipes I've tried before are decent and I would make them again, but this one blows them all away! This is definitely my new fave curry recipe. Served with Indian Cauliflower

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      I really enjoyed this. Ate it straight with no rice but I look forward to trying it again with some rice. It was very flavorful and seemed pretty healthy! Didn't use the cilantro or parsley, and my husband threw in bottled lemon juice before I could remind him we had a fresh lemon, but still tasted wonderful in the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2010

      Great recipe, lot's of good flavor! I do feel like it makes way more than the suggested serving size though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2003

      A quick and easy dish that's oh so yummy. I served it with coconut and mango chutney as condiments.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2013

      Tasty! I wanted mine a little thicker so I took half and blended it, then added it back in. I also added some cumin and garlic. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      Wonderful and easy to make. I have been cooking East Indian for years and I came across this recipe, and I am glad I did. Thank You Kozmic Blues. The only change I made is I used seven bean mix as I had no black beans. My wife loves beans and she wants this again.
      Wayne
      Nakusp, B.C.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      Really enjoyed this! I did add a lot of veggies - celery, fennel bulb, mushrooms, leeks, kale. Only because I had them in the fridge. The simplicity of the recipe gave me the confidence to add them. Definitely a keeper! Thank you, Kozmic Blues!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2011

      I could eat the whole pot! Hubby and I finished it in one sitting. Made a double batch within the week so I could finish using up the lemon and cilantro. I added a few cloves of chopped garlic, frozen spinach, and added sour cream before serving. You can leave it out when cooking in case someone prefers it without.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      Great, easy & quick vegetarian recipe. We're not veggies, but we're trying to lose our pregnancy weight (myself AND DH, lol). I followed the recipe exactly, except using bottled lemon juice because it's all I had. Will definitely make again, thanks K B!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      Wow - love the blend of flavors. It's a great recipe as is but also one that is so versatile you could add your own favorites -- I included some mushrooms; it would also be good with sauteed celery. I agree with other reviews -- the lemon juice is a must.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      Was looking for a black bean recipe that didn't have rice in it. This was great. I added about 1/4 c. of sour cream, just a personal preference. Will definitely make this again. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2004

      5 stars just does not do this dish justice! Indeed, it's one of the best curry dishes I have ever eaten. The lemon juice is the key - it finishes the dish increadibly well, and really balances the flavors of the ginger, curry, and onions. The only modification I made was to add a sweet potato, because I love the combination of curry and sweet potato. I peeled and chopped the potato into 1" cubes, and then baked the cubes for about 20-30 minutes until just tender. I then added the baked potato cubes to the pot just before the curry powder in step 3. Wow! Overall, a fabulous vegan meal, and an interesting combination of beans. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2014

      Yummy! My family loved it. I used my pure clay pot to cook it to make sure I get all the nutrients from the food. The special steam locker lid seal all the nutrients in and gives healthy food and it cooks the food with far-infrared heat emitted from the walls of the pot let seasoning & spices penetrate deeper giving you delicious food, perfectly cooked. I got mine from mecware.US

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2013

      This was pretty awesome. I couldn't believe how quick this dinner came together. I served ours on brown rice. We'll be having this one again - thanks! <br/><br/>p.s. I did make chicken on the side to add to this, which you may be able to see in my photo. We didn't need it, though. The husband - the I-must-have-meat eater - said this was good enough that we could have skipped the chicken!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2012

      I wanted to adore this recipe, but as written I found it just so so. I admit to loving spicy curries, so I had to adjust a good bit. I wound up using about 1-1/2 Tablespoons of curry powder, plus about 1/4 tsp cayenne, PLUS a good Tablespoon of a spicy Vindaloo curry paste. Even then it was only mildly spicy for me.
      I love the fact it's vegetarian and low fat. I try to do several meatless meals a week. I'll make it again probably, as it's also an economical meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      Very easy and delicious. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2011

      This is great. It is healthy, filling and under about $4 for the whole recipe! DH said "this is really good" 3 times. That is quite a compliment from him! I might like it with a spicier curry powder next time! Thanks so much Kozmic Blues...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Curried Chickpeas and Black Beans-Low Fat

    Serving Size: 1 (334 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 281.0
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    10%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 326.9 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.7 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 13.8 g
    55%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 13.7 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites