Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Cucumbers in Vinegar Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cucumbers in Vinegar

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on January 20, 2006

      This is the way I grew up eating cucumbers. My mother always used apple cider vinegar, and they were great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      I LOVE this! I've had this since I was kid. Instead of just vinegar I usually add a little salt, pepper, onion powder, and garlic powder and let it sit for a bit. And we actually use white vinegar for this rather than apple cider, though both work great! If you do use white vinegar and want to tone down the tang, I suggest adding a little sugar or for us diabetics, use some splenda... works amazing. If you love this, try it with some jicama! You will definitely fall in love!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2012

      Cucumbers in vinegar are nothing new to me. This is a "southern thang".Down here in the south,we know how to eat and how to fix good and tasty dishes. This is one of them.However instead of 2-3 spoonfuls of vinegar you are supposed to pour in a cup or two of vinegar to allow the cucumbers to be covered so the vinegar will saturate into the cucumbers better. That's where the tangy flavor comes from. We also will cut up an onion or two into small slivers and put the onions in the vinegar with the cucumbers.Oh so good! I usually eat them right out of the vinegar straight,but sometimes I will sprinkle very lightly a little salt on them. Again,oh so good! Here in the south, most of us use white distilled vinegar and not apple cidar vinegar. The apple cidar vinegar is too whew! and tangy,where the white distilled vinegar is just tangy to taste. Anyway,we've always used the white. So just remember people,you heard it right,cucumbers in vinegar is a southern thang! A thang with a twang!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2013

      I didn't marke this since i didn't have any vinegar on hand, so i ended up just having cucumbers with a little salt and pepper, but i will have to try this next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      I thought I was going to go crazy for these but they were just ok. I needed a bit more zip, maybe some garlic salt next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      I also love cukes this way, however I add a tiny bit of sugar to offset the acidity of the vinegar. Kind of a sweet and sour thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      My mom served cucumbers this way too! Sprinkle with s & p... I love them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      I love this, my mother taught me this one when I was a little girl. Now I've passed it on to my kids! I like adding a little salt when nobody is looking....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      Delicous and very easy, I love this idea! I made this for a late night snack for my husband and he really enjoyed it. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT 4 :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      Love cucumbers, love vinegar! I added a touch of sugar. These were great and quite refreshing! Made during ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      these are a very light and easy snack to make! I wasn't sure what vinegar was best to use so I used balsamic vinegar! i also added salt. I will def keep this recipe in mind for when i'm in the mood for a quick and easy snack! thanks luv 2 bake! made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      I made with my son this for ZWT4. I made it as posted, with the exception of adding a little ground sea salt. I wanted to add a little fresh dill, but we didn't have any. We refrigerated it overnight before eating them. I was surprised how much I liked this very simple version! My husband's grandmother used to make a version with sugar, which is also very nice, and we often make a balsamic vinegar version with tomato slices as well, and some fresh herbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      Great recipe that has stood the test of time. I did add some sliced onion (thinly) and sliced my cucumbers on a mandolin. We have this every Saturday Lunch at the Farm and sometimes I even add a tiny bit of red pepper flakes, or some fresh chives. Make the day prior, cucumbers are chilled and great. Thanks for the memory! Made fof *ZWT4* May 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      One of my favorite ways to enjoy cucumbers (other than plain!). Love vinegars...and this is just a lovely, fresh and fast side to compliment any summer meal - or a tasty German feast!! My family used to also eat it with onions and tomatoes sometimes as well. Will make regularly! Thank you for posting! Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      Fresh and light, perfect as a luncheon side dish. Used grapefruit flavored vinegar (from Trader Joes) and added tomatoes. Garnished with avocado, but I have to say that it tasted great mixed in and took away some of the tart flavor. Will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2007

      I grew up eating a version of this salad as an accompaniment with pork or chicken satay. My BF grew up eating this as his favorite, fresh out of the garden salad. He loves his cucumbers sliced up chunky, with a couple of cherry tomatoes, lots of vinegar and plenty of salt and pepper. He loves to drink the vinegar out of the bowl after he has finished his snack too!!! Thanks for reminding us both of some great childhood food memories!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      A very refreshing recipe which I rustled up as a last minute accompaniment to smoked salmon this lunch time! I used cider apple vinegar for an extra taste dimension! Made for ZWT3 - thanks for such a simple and refreshing recipe! FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      Good, simple, what else is there to say?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      This was delicious! I did add in some salt and pepper. Made for ZWTIII

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      I say quadruple the recipe, add a little salt, pepper and ice to the mix and have it at your next BBQ!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cucumbers in Vinegar

    Serving Size: 1 (82 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 13.1
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    10%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.9 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes