Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Cuban Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cuban Bread

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on March 27, 2004

      I made this bread today and it was very good. The bread is dense and chewy and has a good crust. My husband really liked it also. I did let the dough rise longer (45 min)on the first rise and I also allowed for a second rise of 30 minutes in the pan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      These are ok but not spectacular. I let it rise a lot more than the recipe said, 3 rises (1.5h, 1h, 15min.) but the bread was still very dense. I would have liked a more airy bread considering all the yeast it used. I probably won't make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      I really liked how easy this bread was to make, and the dense, chewy texture of it was perfect for sandwiches. I don't think it would be something I'd make regularly since the basic wheat bread recipe I normally make uses less yeast and yields more bread overall(hence more bang for my buck), but it was nice to try something a little different.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      I can't believe how fast this went. I also like the idea of starting it in a cold oven to save electricity. The flavor was good and well rounded. I messed the crust up because I forgot the pan of water. Mine didn't rise as high in the oven, but it was probably because I subbed one cup of white flour with spelt (I'm trying to use it up) and it is lower gluten. The only thing that would make this better is if I could figure out how to make it 100% whole wheat, but I can see myself making it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      I made a half batch, just to try, and I wish I had made more! It was so fast! I started shortly after 10am, and by 1130 I was done! The loaf was quite crusty and chewy on the outside, but delicious. I will definitely be making this again and again....in larger quantities!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      I couldn't believe how easy and quick this was. I used my kitchen aid mixer to knead it for about 5 minutes and let it rise for about 20 minutes. It made 15 rolls for us, and we baked it about 20 minutes or until the rolls "thumped" like a loaf of bread. thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      Five stars for ease and flavor! I've been wanting to make this since I read the "Gazette" recipe. 1 1/2 hours from start to finish. And the bread, oh MY it's good. I only had 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour left so I used mostly white. I can't wait to try with more ww flour, or with some other grain choices. I didn't use the pan of boiling water (I got invovled in making another dish for dinner and just plain forgot!) The end result was still quite wonderful. I made half the batch as rolls and the other as an artisan loaf. Both baked up beautifully. We ate all the rolls that night and started in on the loaf! We had slices from the loaf the next day and they were just as good as when first baked. If I had time to allow a longer rise, I'd probably use half as much yeast, just to save a few pennies. But I love that I now have yeast bread in "quick bread" time. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      I've made this a lot except used all white flour. I love it, because it only takes one hour and fifteen minutes from beginning to end. This is really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      This bread is very addicting! I made it with the help of my KA mixer and it came out beautiful. This was good dunked in olive oil and balsamic vinegar mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2007

      I make this bread often and was glad to see it already posted here!! Just a note: In the book Amy mentions you can make it with 1 T. of yeast instead of 2. I found the 2 T. a bit too yeasty sometimes, but the 1T. works beautifully. I hope that helps someone :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2007

      I made half this cuban bread recipe to go with the cuban sandwich#155359. I wanted to make with the leftover puerto rican pork I had. This recipe made a small round loaf. It was very dense and chewy. I added the sesame seeds..I liked this bread..If I make it again,I might make the rolls..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      This bread is great! So simple to make, but it tastes great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2006

      as everyone has said - very easy to make and so good. (Better than my mothers!!!!) I will try making the dough into rolls or subs next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2005

      I made rolls with this bread recipe and they were awesome! I loved the crispy crust and the mellow inside! These were just what I wanted and I will be making these agian. They were also very attractive (I put the X on the small rolls)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2005

    • on October 15, 2004

      As you said in the description, "This is wonderful bread!" It is so easy and fast (for a yeast bread) and produces such a wonderful loaf! I made 2 subs- I used whole wheat pastry flour instead of white and sucanat instead of sugar, but other than that, followed the recipe exactly. I made a half recipe, and found I only needed the lesser ammount of 'white' flour (1 cup for me, but 2 cups for the full recipe). It is wonderfully dense chewy with a wonderful artesian crust. I baked mine on my pizza stone and followed your suggestion of brushing the top with water and sprinkling with sesame seeds. Only 1 thing- My bread hadn't really risen at all after 15 minutes, so next time I might give it a longer rising time, or let it rise in the pan or both. It did make a rather smallish loaf (which is fine by me, since its just BF and myself). This is a wonderful recipe for a simple healthful bread. It worked perfectly (I have had issues with other yeast bread recipes I have tried) and is SO EASY! Thank you, Jen... I will make this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2004

      These loaves whipped up in my Kitchen Aid in no time flat. The results were two attractive, slightly chewy loaves. (The chewy part is a good thing, BTW.) I just finished off a slice warm & it was very good. I will try the rolls next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2004

      This is a really great recipe. Since it is just the 2 of us, I did cut the recipe in half and make just the one loaf. It worked just fine this way. I used the food processor method and followed the directions to a T. I will be making this bread again. Wish I had a digital camera to show everyone what a beautiful loaf this bread makes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cuban Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1031 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 945.9
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    82%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3507.4 mg
    146%
    Total Carbohydrate 199.6 g
    66%
    Dietary Fiber 20.5 g
    82%
    Sugars 13.4 g
    53%
    Protein 33.9 g
    67%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites