Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Crumpets Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crumpets

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on July 14, 2011

      These are awesome! Absolutely scrumptious. Taste like the authentic British crumpets I used to eat back home. I prepared the batter in the bread machine, and used 1 packet (2 1/4 tsp.) of dried yeast instead of the compressed yeast. I've made these twice now, and both times, they turned out GREAT! They can be refrigerated or frozen, and then toasted. Slather with butter, let it melt into the holes, then enjoy!!!

      Edited to say that I've made these many times over the years, and they have never failed me! It is the only recipe I'll use! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      These are yummy. My family was very excited when they woke up to freshly made crumpets. I found that as the batter sat between cooking batches it thickened, and the characteristic bubbles could not form. I solved this by mixing in a little water before pouring the next batch. By adding this step I get the bubbles every time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      One word describes my reaction - WOW! I can't believe that I have actually made crumpets after buying them all the time. These are better than store bought. I got 31 pcs and I think my egg rings are regular size ones. Unfortunately I only possess 2 egg rings so it took forever. I would recommend getting at least 4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2006

      Thank you, Thank-you!! I've been looking for just the right recipe for years and this is the one. The taste and texture are perfect. Crusty bottom, slightly chewy texture with tons of tiny bubble tunnels, and just the right sharpness to the flavor. I followed the recipe (super easy)exactly except for filling the rings with batter only 1/2 or 2/3rds. My rings are english muffen rings and are slightly deeper. I also turned them over after removing the rings for less than a minute to give the top a slight toasted appearence. Thanks again - Bob

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2004

      I cut this recipe back to 8 crumpets, toasted 2 before I even took the picture! Excellent. Used a large fry pan that held 4 rings. I do not have egg rings so I took a juice can and with tin snips cut off the bottom part of the can and the top discarding the middle part of the tin. Remove bottom lid before cutting the can, you get two rings from each can. When the surface of the crumpet was covered with holes I removed the rings let them cooked a couple of minutes longer and then flipped the crumpet over for abouta half minute. Lovely toasted lathered in butter and some honey on top. I will post a further picter of the toasted crumpet later. Thanks Doreen Randal great recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2014

      Worst ever. Leaves a awful after taste too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2013

    • on March 02, 2013

      Made these for breakfast this morning. WOW! The whole family loved them! I made them in my pikelet pan so they were a tad smaller. Made over 24 and all went bar 4! Wanted to make crumpets for a long time, if I had realised how easy they are to make, I would have made them sooner! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      I make these a lot and I quite love the recipe. it is quick and easy to mix up. The only reason I don't give it a perfect score is...I always seem to have to add a bunch more water to get the holes to form on the top. thanks so much for sharing this. I live in a country where proper crumpets are hard to come by

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      I don't know what I am doing WRONG! My crumpets come out doughy and heavy. I have tried 4 (yes, FOUR!) times as the idea of homemade crumpets appeals so much and all the other reviews are so good! Maybe it was my oven? Maybe the yeast is somehow different in New Zealand?? Ah well...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      the best ....... i still toasted but were great no left overs

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      Good thing you can't rate me on my cooking skills...The recipe is excellent, but I have some problems with the procedure, probably because I've never even seen crumpets made. I also had to use tin cans, they're great molds when sprayed with Pam (I tried the old fashioned greasing method first, did not work asa well). Before I try these again I will buy some egg rings and use my electric frying pan. Even with my limited crumpet skills they're still delicious. I'll post my edit next time I try with the proper equipment. Thanks Doreen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      The only reason that I didn't give this recipe 5 stars is that I'm still working on getting the cooking part down pat! The recipe is great and easy but last night when cooking, I overfilled my forms. Add that to not having my heat quite high enough and I ended up with some pretty light and a bit doughy (but still yummy!) crumpets. Now that I've made notes for my personal stove, I know my next batch will be just wonderful and I'm planning on giving them (along with a half-pint of homemade jelly) as favors at our annual Thanksgiving dinner. Thanks for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2005

      mine went toatly bad inside, didn't cook at all. And I did everything it's said in the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2005

      amazing!! although mine were definitely made using a soup can. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2004

      This is an excellent crumpet recipe...much better than bought crumpets. I halved the recipe, too, but next time I'll make the full recipe and freeze some. Thanks Doreen for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2004

      *BIG hug to you Doreen!* These sooo beat Thomas dry, chewy, little english muffin things. These are real! These smell way too good! These are down right excellant! I made a half batch last night so I could have them this morning, and it was so hard not to bite into one right when it came off the griddle. I waited though, like a good girl :P and my reward was the biggest one that I made last night with a big tablespoon of butter and honey. OH! It was sooo good! It makes me just wish that I had made the whole batch; next time I will just have to do that. Thank you, thank you, thank you for this wonderful recipe. (P.S. Did you ever think of opening a bakery? lol)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2003

      Yum! I actually prefer these to the bought ones! I halved the mixture and got a rather thick batter but it worked well enough especially as I don't have egg rings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crumpets

    Serving Size: 1 (1269 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 78.0
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    53%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 237.6 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes