18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are awesome! Absolutely scrumptious. Taste like the authentic British crumpets I used to eat back home. I prepared the batter in the bread machine, and used 1 packet (2 1/4 tsp.) of dried yeast instead of the compressed yeast. I've made these twice now, and both times, they turned out GREAT! They can be refrigerated or frozen, and then toasted. Slather with butter, let it melt into the holes, then enjoy!!!

Edited to say that I've made these many times over the years, and they have never failed me! It is the only recipe I'll use! :)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truebrit July 14, 2011

One word describes my reaction - WOW! I can't believe that I have actually made crumpets after buying them all the time. These are better than store bought. I got 31 pcs and I think my egg rings are regular size ones. Unfortunately I only possess 2 egg rings so it took forever. I would recommend getting at least 4.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
francoise August 11, 2009

These are yummy. My family was very excited when they woke up to freshly made crumpets. I found that as the batter sat between cooking batches it thickened, and the characteristic bubbles could not form. I solved this by mixing in a little water before pouring the next batch. By adding this step I get the bubbles every time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wood stove stoker February 20, 2008

I cut this recipe back to 8 crumpets, toasted 2 before I even took the picture! Excellent. Used a large fry pan that held 4 rings. I do not have egg rings so I took a juice can and with tin snips cut off the bottom part of the can and the top discarding the middle part of the tin. Remove bottom lid before cutting the can, you get two rings from each can. When the surface of the crumpet was covered with holes I removed the rings let them cooked a couple of minutes longer and then flipped the crumpet over for abouta half minute. Lovely toasted lathered in butter and some honey on top. I will post a further picter of the toasted crumpet later. Thanks Doreen Randal great recipe

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy June 18, 2004

Thank you, Thank-you!! I've been looking for just the right recipe for years and this is the one. The taste and texture are perfect. Crusty bottom, slightly chewy texture with tons of tiny bubble tunnels, and just the right sharpness to the flavor. I followed the recipe (super easy)exactly except for filling the rings with batter only 1/2 or 2/3rds. My rings are english muffen rings and are slightly deeper. I also turned them over after removing the rings for less than a minute to give the top a slight toasted appearence. Thanks again - Bob

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bob Jr October 27, 2006

Worst ever. Leaves a awful after taste too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
murrayville5 January 03, 2014

Made these for breakfast this morning. WOW! The whole family loved them! I made them in my pikelet pan so they were a tad smaller. Made over 24 and all went bar 4! Wanted to make crumpets for a long time, if I had realised how easy they are to make, I would have made them sooner! Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Batlady March 02, 2013

I make these a lot and I quite love the recipe. it is quick and easy to mix up. The only reason I don't give it a perfect score is...I always seem to have to add a bunch more water to get the holes to form on the top. thanks so much for sharing this. I live in a country where proper crumpets are hard to come by

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luisawoods May 22, 2010

I don't know what I am doing WRONG! My crumpets come out doughy and heavy. I have tried 4 (yes, FOUR!) times as the idea of homemade crumpets appeals so much and all the other reviews are so good! Maybe it was my oven? Maybe the yeast is somehow different in New Zealand?? Ah well...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Riss January 20, 2010
Crumpets