Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Crock Pot Roasted Garlic Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Roasted Garlic

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on July 28, 2002

      Thank you Mirjam for this ingenious recipe! I needed some roasted garlic for a recipe I was doing, and I didn't want to heat up the oven in this heat! I then remembered I had stored this in my cookbook. Put this going last night before bed and I woke up to the most wonderful smell drifting from my kitchen! The garlic got to the right "mushy" consistensy and really mellowed in flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2002

      Thankyou for a great way to prepare roasted garlic! These turned out beautifully. And the best part... it's so easy and I didn't have to watch them. Just forget about it for 8 hours, then enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2004

      Made this today, and it made the house smell wonderful. The only thing I found, and I guess you can't get away from it is the mess on your hands when you pulled them apart. I put the cloves in a jar and covered with olive oil till I need to use it, I'm hoping I did this right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2012

      This is a no-brainer. Like another reviewer said, probably never do this in the "real" oven again! I add fresh branches of rosemary and thyme to mine as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      What a great idea! This is perfect for summer when I want roasted garlic for salad or crackers but wouldn't dream of starting the oven. I'm never roasting garlic in the oven again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      I would have never thought of this, thanks! I kind of messed up and had it on high - which just meant that it was done sooner (as in 4 hours), which was fine, but it really got dark brown, almost too brown. And I used my small crock pot. So, next time I will read the recipe properly and cook on low for 8. Still worked out tho, love it!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      I wasn't sure if I was supposed to cut off the top like I've done for other recipes, so I did, 'cause I figured it couldn't hurt. Two of the heads fell apart and roasted in pieces of four cloves or so. I shouldn't have done that. They caramelized and weren't exactly spreadable (though they were yummy). I squeezed out what we didn't eat and have stored them in the fridge until we use them to make Creamy Roasted Garlic Hummus. Next time, I'll probably try storing the leftovers in oil in the freezer (not at room temperature, which can be a perfect environment for botulism).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      just PERFECT... I too like another reviewer( Bonnie Baker) suggested put the excesses of cloves in a glass jar covered with oil.. love being able to do it this way..works so well a big THANK YOU from me to you

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      Great way to roast garlic. Made this before I went to bed and woke up hungry cause my house smelled so good! lol. Thanks mirj!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      So easy and works really well. Used some in French Bread With Roasted Garlic as well as Creamy Roasted Garlic Hummus. Will use this method often. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

      I *so* cannot wait to give this a try. Hopefully, the icy roads will be gone tomorrow so I can get to the grocery and report back. Thanks, Mirj. All of a sudden, I'm seeing lots of roasted garlic requiring recipes on the horizon. - eileen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      I don't think I'll ever do this in the oven again. This was super easy, and the results were perfect. Thanks for sharing this gem!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Roasted Garlic

    Serving Size: 1 (369 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 102.6
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    15%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 10.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.8 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes