12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thank you Mirjam for this ingenious recipe! I needed some roasted garlic for a recipe I was doing, and I didn't want to heat up the oven in this heat! I then remembered I had stored this in my cookbook. Put this going last night before bed and I woke up to the most wonderful smell drifting from my kitchen! The garlic got to the right "mushy" consistensy and really mellowed in flavor!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yooper July 28, 2002

Thankyou for a great way to prepare roasted garlic! These turned out beautifully. And the best part... it's so easy and I didn't have to watch them. Just forget about it for 8 hours, then enjoy!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi November 23, 2002

Made this today, and it made the house smell wonderful. The only thing I found, and I guess you can't get away from it is the mess on your hands when you pulled them apart. I put the cloves in a jar and covered with olive oil till I need to use it, I'm hoping I did this right.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie Baker January 29, 2004

This is a no-brainer. Like another reviewer said, probably never do this in the "real" oven again! I add fresh branches of rosemary and thyme to mine as well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QOU4LIFE September 08, 2012

What a great idea! This is perfect for summer when I want roasted garlic for salad or crackers but wouldn't dream of starting the oven. I'm never roasting garlic in the oven again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CptShane December 14, 2009

I would have never thought of this, thanks! I kind of messed up and had it on high - which just meant that it was done sooner (as in 4 hours), which was fine, but it really got dark brown, almost too brown. And I used my small crock pot. So, next time I will read the recipe properly and cook on low for 8. Still worked out tho, love it!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner April 17, 2009

I wasn't sure if I was supposed to cut off the top like I've done for other recipes, so I did, 'cause I figured it couldn't hurt. Two of the heads fell apart and roasted in pieces of four cloves or so. I shouldn't have done that. They caramelized and weren't exactly spreadable (though they were yummy). I squeezed out what we didn't eat and have stored them in the fridge until we use them to make Creamy Roasted Garlic Hummus. Next time, I'll probably try storing the leftovers in oil in the freezer (not at room temperature, which can be a perfect environment for botulism).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anonymous23 February 28, 2008

just PERFECT... I too like another reviewer( Bonnie Baker) suggested put the excesses of cloves in a glass jar covered with oil.. love being able to do it this way..works so well a big THANK YOU from me to you

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gruntlady January 05, 2008

Great way to roast garlic. Made this before I went to bed and woke up hungry cause my house smelled so good! lol. Thanks mirj!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liara September 21, 2008
Crock Pot Roasted Garlic