Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Crock Pot Lentil and Apricot Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Lentil and Apricot Soup

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on February 02, 2003

      Very good! I did throw in a few extra veggies. I didn't have time for the crockpot, so I did it on the stove. Stovetop took about 3 hours start to finish. I brought the lentils to a boil, and let cook about an 1 hour over med-high heat, covered, then lowered to low for another 2 hours, covered. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2003

      Delicious! I wasn't sure about the AUTO setting, so cooked mine on high 4 to 5 hours. The lentils were soft and the apricots did seem to disappear. The consistency was pretty thick, almost like a stew, but I prefer that anyway(more stays on my spoon:^) Loved the mix of spices and the turmeric gave it a nice color. This was super easy. I'll be sure to make it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2003

      I have made it several times using a crockpot and it is very easy and absolutely delicious! I serve it with cornbread. A friend made it and substituted raisins for apricots. She also loved it. Mrs. Spike

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2003

      I enjoyed this soup very much and will make it often! Next time I will puree it to hide the onions from my boyfriend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2004

      Absolutely gorgeous - I made it on the stovetop, as I wanted to make it for dinner tonight. Ingredients as stated, simmered for about an hour or so - turns more or less into stew.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2012

      I had high hopes for this soup but wasn't really crazy about it. I even added extra seasonings (like curry powder, garam masala) but still felt like it was pretty boring. Glad I cut the recipe in half because I did not feel like eating these leftovers.....but my boyfriend liked it well enough so he ate them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2012

      Tried it with a little tomato paste, ground ginger, no coriander, and lemon pepper - delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      I tried this as I had some dried apricots to use up in the cupboard. It's a keeper in our house though I did have to add more lentils to make it a thicker consistency. I think I might increase the spices next time as it was sweet enough to have a bit more bite! Heated up lovely for lunch the next day too. Well done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      We really enjoyed this super easy soup, which I also think will freeze great for lunches! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      The apricots make this lentil soup really sweet - which compliments the cilantro really well. Great tasting and filling vegetarian meal - I'd make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      My daughter is the lentil lover in our family and she rates in a 4 stars. This is a very quick & easy recipe. Healthy & easy clean up. I couldn't ask for a nicer recipe. I am sure I will be making again. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      Made this for dinner. Omitted a lot of ingredients although I am not sure why. Basically the only ingredients I used were red lentils, onion, vegetable stock, powdered ginger, turmeric, and cumin. No salt or pepper or anything else. My husband did not like the smell of it cooking so he wouldn't even try it. I loved it and my 15 month old did too. I ate mine over couscous. I like this recipe and will make it again following the recipe exactly. Had 4 and 1/2 tall baby food jars leftover which I froze. *** Turns out my crockpot emits an odor and makes the house smell so my husband not liking the smell had nothing to do with this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      This is average lentil soup. Very good but nothing special. I have made lots of lentil soups because I love it. This recipe was simple and traditional as opposed to exotic. I love apricots so I was curious to try it out. I used double the amount of apricots because other reviews mentioned you could not taste them. All you really taste is that the soup is a little sweeter. I will probably make it again but I would leave out the apricots.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      This soup was bland to my tastes. It was definitely easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      This is a nice weeknight meal. I doubled the apricots. Like a lot of the other reviewers, I could barely taste the apricots. I was expecting that the apricot would make the entire soup sweet, but you could only taste them until you bit into one. It was very nicely spiced, and so easy to make! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      This is pretty good. The apricots did dissolve in mine, and I couldn't exactly taste them in the finished product but I think they lent a hint of sweetness. It was easy enough to make, but my crock pot doesn't have an auto setting. I cooked it on high about 5 hours, trying to get the onions to soften. I think next time I'd fry them in a little oil before adding to the crock pot to enhance their flavor and texture. It smelled wonderful while cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      Very good soup! I've been wanting to try but leary of what my family might think. Well, they all loved it! I cooked on high for about 2-3 hours and then the rest on low. After cooking I blended it a bit with my immersion blender and it gave it a very nice consistancy. I added 1tsp of lemon juice and just a touch of salt and pepper. Yum! It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe with its multi-layered flavors. We thought it was rich and delicious. Like other people mentioned, I doubled the apricots. My husband loved it so much that he's requested it again and again. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      Beautiful taste thanks! I used fresh vegetable stock - My only problem was the lentils were still quite firm even after several extra hours, even a couple on HIGH - so I dumped it out of the crock pot and heated up on the stove which seemed to do the trick. Does anyone else have a tip for softening lentils for crock pot use?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      Wow. This soup was so good! Loved all the spices and didn't feel it needed anything else. I did saute the onions before adding to the crockpot as I didn't want them crunchy, but that may not have been necessary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Lentil and Apricot Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (238 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 216.8
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    11%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 40.0 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.9 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 13.0 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes