Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Crock Pot Curry (Aloo Rajma) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Curry (Aloo Rajma)

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on September 22, 2012

      If you love really flavorful, hot food, this is the recipe for you. Between the heat of the cayenne and the intensity of the curry and cardamom, you'll have one, really good and spicy dish. Make sure to serve with plenty of rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

    • on November 17, 2009

      Spicy, delicious, and simple! Just what I love in a recipe! :) I added some cumin and corriader for additional flavor. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      spicy but not unbearable - very yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      Very good, easy and adaptable recipe, and I DID adapt it. First of all, I made it on the stove top. I added the following to the spice mixture: fresh ginger, some cumin seeds and mustard seeds, two cloves of garlic and some methi. I used extra potatoes because I love them, and I added about a cup of vegetable broth to make it a little soupy. I also had to use more vegetable oil. I threw in about a tsp. of salt at the end of cooking. Yummy recipe. Thanks BrotherAdso.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      We have made this recipe many times over the last year- only just now dawned on me to write a review! We love it! I hold back just a bit on the cayenne as I am a bit of a wus, and have at times added peas or some such appropriate veggie- but its always a hit and we will continue to make this- its actually in my stash of special recipes that I pass on when someone mentions a lack of dinner ideas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      Delicious and dead easy to make. I gave samples to three people at work and they each wanted the recipe, which is always a good sign. I made the recipe exactly as written (with all optional spices), and it's hot, but not annoyingly so to my palate. I think the heat is properly used to provide structure and depth of flavor to the dish, though more heat-sensitive palates may wish to moderate the cayenne and the heat of the tomatoes/chilies. Very highly recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      This was fantastic. Sauteing the spices to release their flavor into the oil seemed to really lend the dish an added richness. I will make this again, though perhaps I will add something fatty, coconut milk or ghee, and perhaps some garlic and salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      We liked this. I used kidney beans and followed the recipe exactly. Thank you for this healthy tasty keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      Wow! Was this every good. Hearty, easy and a wonderful flavour! I used two 14 ounce cans of diced tomatoes and 1 small can of diced green chillies (couldn't find Rotel brand) and one can each of chickpeas, and substituted navy beans for kidney beans. I did reduced the amount of cayenne, but added the cardamom and ginger. I will be making this again! Yum!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      We didn't dislike this recipe, but there are other kidney bean, and rajma, recipes we like better. I am sure we would not make this again, but I do encourage others to try it- it's very simple, and as Brotheradso states with the 'optional' spices, it's easy to modify to your tastes. One thing though- I used 2 10 oz. cans Rotel- which was more than enough. I wonder if any more would be just too much. Followed recipe completely, just added red chili powder/garam masala to spice it more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Curry (Aloo Rajma)

    Serving Size: 1 (326 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 288.0
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    18%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 972.8 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.8 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 11.2 g
    44%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 11.3 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites