Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Crisp-Fried Onions (Stegte Log) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crisp-Fried Onions (Stegte Log)

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2013

      I made these to go on top of grilled burgers, and they were delicious! Nice and crispy. I used vidalia onions, so there was a hint of sweetness. Made for Football Pool 2013. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2013

      These were so good atop of my grilled turkey and avocado burger! I made them in my fry daddy so they would get extra crispy. Wish I would have made more to snack on! Made for Football Pool 2013-14 Win.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2013

      Yummy onions. I was like diner524 and made them ahead to use later with dinner. I probably devoured about half of them before dinner. lol. Simple and good. Thanks for sharing Bayhill and congrats on your football win!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2013

      What a quick and easy way to make onion rings! I did deep fry them so they came out crispier than they would in a skillet. Thanks for sharing, made for your football win 2013

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2011

      These are so easy and delicious! I put the onion slices into a 1 gallon zip lock bag with some seasoned flour, shook to coat and put them in the frig for about 2 hours. Deep fried in my mini fryer at 375°F for about 1 minute. They came out crispy and oh so good! Thanks for posting. Made for FOOTBALL POOL 2011 - Week 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      Just love this onions!!! What is so much better is how quick and easy they are to make!!! We are grilling steaks for dinner tonite, so made these ahead of time and will serve these on top of our steaks. I sliced the onions, then added them to a bowl with some milk, then I threw them in a bag with the flour (which I added sea salt to) and tossed them. I have eaten several, they are addictive, before even being close to our dinner time. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for your win in the football pool game, congrats!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      These were delicious and so easy to make. They were perfect served alongside grilled burgers. Made for X-tra Hot Dishes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      Perfect! We had these with grilled rib-eye steaks and they went over BIG. So easy and so tasty, I will make these again. Made for ZWT6: No-Nonsense Nibblers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      These are not as heavy as most onion rings so give the impression of being healthier! I shallow fried mine in a skillet with nut oil and added some salt to the flour. Very tasty! Made for ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      Delicious. DD (toddler) devoured hers. Not healthy but you know that. I did make ours gluten free with a white rice flour & tapioca starch blend. (Half the amount of starch) I also dipped the onion rings lightly in beaten egg before adding them to the flour. I used canola oil & sea salt. I might make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      So simple, and so amazingly great. I stumbled on this recipe while planning a Scandinavian menu for a party. My Danish guest of honor saw them and said, "Stegte log!" Thank you, Bayhill. (Oh, one more thing: Go Colts! Beat Saints!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      I love oninon rings and these were both easy and not as "heavy" as the usual ones I make. Thank you for a great, easy way to make my onion rings from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      Amazingly easy and soooo tasty!!! I served them with BBQ Ribs and we dipped them in the BBQ sauce. I also added a little seasoned salt to the flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2007

      Oh my gosh these were good. Not as "heavy" as most onion rings and the added salt made these delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      These are the best onion rings I have EVER had! I had never made onion rings before and they came out amazing on the first try. As long as you pay attention to them, they are impossible to screw up. I lightly dipped them in egg before I put them into the bag. They were lightly and evenly breaded and had an amazing flavor. I will make these again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      I cut up too many onions tofay for a salad so I had some "strips" left over so I thought this recipe would fit the bill. Pretty good recipe, but I couldnt get the flour to stick to the onions.... so I mixed a bit of milk together and dipped the onions in that.... Made for ZWT 3!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      Well, I don't know what we were doing wrong, but the flour wasn't staying on the onions, so we dipped them in a beaten egg first, then fried them and they turned out delicious! I know we didn't follow the recipe exactly, but I don't think our change detracted from it at all...just enhanced a wonderful, simple recipe! Thanks for sharing this great recipe Bayhill, and congrats on winning the football pool! This was a great Sunday fottball-watching snack!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2006

      Easy is right! I enjoyed this along with fried zucchini for lunch! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2006

      Very good alternative to the commercial brand. Quicker, cheaper, FRESHER. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crisp-Fried Onions (Stegte Log)

    Serving Size: 1 (362 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 57.9
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    33%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes