69 Reviews

I didn't have 2 cans of chickpeas so I used chickpeas and kidney beans and my tahini was a bit sketchy so I used peanut butter instead. This was DELICIOUS! I almost sauteed my onion like someone else suggested but at the last minute threw it in raw and I'm glad I did. It adds just enough bite but keeps the dish tasting very fresh. I will make this again and again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rileysmummy April 17, 2010

I did as others did, doubled the spices and tahini. Very good. I liked it a lot, but it seems to need a little something that I can't put my finger on. I'd like to try it throwing in some peas for a little sweetness next time. There's a vegetarian/vegan group that meets for potluck dinners every couple months here and i do believe this is what I'll be bringing next month. Thanks a bunch!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma February 03, 2010

Definitely comfort food. I added a small amount of finely chopped kale just because it's what i had. Added a little soy and lemon as other recommended. Added a little pepper flake because I like a little heat. My youngest commented that it tasted like lasagna and most of my family had 2nd's. I will make this again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MargoMart January 21, 2010

One of the beauties of this recipe is that it is so flexible. We have been enjoying it for over 4 years now with many variations to suite the mood. Sometimes pinto beans with mexican spices, sometimes chickpeas with moroccan spices, today I am making it with black beans, added a bag of frozen spinach, loads of fresh heirloom tomatoes and mediterranean spices. It's hard to go wrong. Thank you Christine! We truly have enjoyed this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy in California September 01, 2012

I really wanted to like this more. The flavors are very basic. I followed the recipe besides that I doubled the tahini-water mixture based on advice from previous reviews. I should have also listened to other reviewers and sauteed the onion, because it was actually still very crunchy & almost raw in the finished dish. It is a very affordable dish and makes a LOT. It is definitely not bad by any means, but I at the same time nothing stood out about it that would make me want to try it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veggie_chef February 09, 2011

We loved it! I followed the recipe exactly except my rice was white Jasmati that I had cooked with chicken bouillon which made the meal no longer vegan. This was so quick and easy too! Not to mention healthy! (Next time I'll go for brown rice, I promise.) Oh and I halved the recipe and baked it in a 9x9 pan for about 30-35 minutes. I only needed 1/2 Tbs. sesame seeds so I rubbed them off of some crackers I had so I wouldn't have to go to the store. haha Thank you!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lemon Drop August 08, 2010

I made several changes to this recipe and liked it quite a lot. Didn't really love it, but more than liked it, and would make it again. I made it on the stovetop instead of in the oven. Kept the rice separate and served the finished "stew" over the rice. Added some water to make it more brothy. Also added veggie bouillon, nutritional yeast, salt, pepper and a couple dashes of hot sauce. With these additions it was very flavorful; without, fairly bland. This is a good recipe to tinker with and add to according to your preferences or what you have on hand.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kokeshi doll September 13, 2006

This is a very simple recipe and I am definetly going to make it again. I actually halved the recipe and it turned out wonderfully. The only thing I would change is that my roommate and I felt it needed more tomatoes and perhaps more garlic. I might use the entire amount of tomatoes called for next time but keep the rest of the ingredients halved. Overall, it is a very good recipe and I will be making it again. Thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KTB March 06, 2005

This is a wonderful dish, creamy, hearty and tasty! Do note step 6 though, I found this needed quite a lot of salt. I added just a dash (as I usually do with vegetable dishes, if I don't omit it altogether) and I had to sprinkle on quite a lot more when this was on my plate - but this is obviously the "to taste" part! I omitted the sesame seeds as I didn't have any. I can't wait to tinker this to perfection spice-wise and wow my vegetarian friends! This also makes quite a lot, the 6 servings are so generous that I think you can stretch them to 8! Thank you for posting this, Christine!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee January 26, 2004

So easy to put together and really tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moll Moll May 22, 2013
Creamy Chickpea and Tahini Casserole