Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Cornmeal Breakfast Combo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cornmeal Breakfast Combo

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 22, 2011

      a filling, nutritious breakfast. very bland without the maple syrup, but luckily I had it on hand:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      This is a very different type of porridge that is quick and easy to make. A good healthy breakfast when you are looking for a break from oatmeal. DH said it was lacking depth and suggested adding nuts and maybe more raisins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      This was lovely for a change of pace for brekky, a bit different from your regular porridge. I topped with a little maple & some vanilla yoghurt, lovely thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      I liked this recipe just fine. It was a nice change up for a breakfast cereal. I didn't use any maple syrup or molasses, which might be why I thought it was good but not outstanding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      A delicious way to start the day! And it keeps me going. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2007

      What a great comfort, warming food. I was looking for recipes using polenta (although I would use freshly gorund cornmeal) and wanted to try this for something different in the morning. This is quite good, although I am not a maple syrup lover, so I used some freezer jam I had made this week and it was delicious! Another great healthy food idea from Paula.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      Another recipe so simple and delicious you scratch your head wondering why you hadn't come to the idea on your own. Pairing my morning staple of oats with polenta was a surefire hit - both are creamy and comforting. What really surprised me was just how well they went together with the cornmeal giving the dish a lovely sweetness that was heightened by the drizzle of maple. For the dried fruit, I used a combination of golden raisins, dried cranberries, and diced dried apricots. Will definitely keep a supply of the mix together for the future. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      this was great! after i realy wanted to make it i discovered i had no cornmeal, but i did have a bag of corn tortillas, so i just ground them up in the blender and added a bit more oat bran to make sure it thickened and it seems to be fine. i added a small handful of golden raisins, a couple tablespoons of dark molasses and a tbs or so of syrup and its perfect, thansk for a different and great warming recipe for breakfast in the cold months!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2007

      I couldn't get my blimmin broadband going this morning so I had to make this recipe from memory. In the end I made it with 1/3 cup oat bran, 1/3 cup polenta and 1 2/3 cups skim milk, then I covered it in golden syrup and ate it all up myself. Yummy! It definitely needed the extra liquid that I now see is listed (it was well stodgey!) and the cinnamon would definitely have added to it, but all in all this was a great, filling breakfast that definitely serves two (I just about managed to eat it all but I didn't need to eat again until 2.30pm after that!)! I'm a really boring breakfast person - weetabix in the summer, porridge in the winter, so it was such a nice change to be able to have a different hot breakfast that was still wholesome and tasty. I'll definitely have this again - next time I'll make it to the proper measurements and will add the cinnamon, but I'll probably continue to make it with milk because breakfast is the only time I get any calcium in me. Thanks for a great recipe, Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cornmeal Breakfast Combo

    Serving Size: 1 (291 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 167.8
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    10%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 16.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.8 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 11.1 g
    44%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites