Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Corn Tortillas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Corn Tortillas

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on March 25, 2008

      I have been using this same recipe for years and we LOVE it! But believe me, don't leave out the salt! Using this recipe, I now make my enchilladas "grandma" style. Stacking enchilladas,lasagna style, like we learned while living in New Mexico, instead of rolling makes great individual casseroles. Yummie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      Oh, YUMMY! Thanks for the detailed instructions, they made it quite easy. Funny, it never dawned on me to make my own tortillas until I spotted a metal tortilla press for sale on a very top shelf at Rancho Market. I have made them twice now, and found that the addition of about 1/8 t. to 1/4 t. of xanthan gum to the flour makes them a little less likely to disintegrate. There really is no comparison with the store bought ones. These are tender and chewy, rather than stiff and dry. I can't wait to have one with mashed pintos and tabasco for dinner tonight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      This is pretty much the recipe from the Masaca bag, but less water. I like it a bit dry because it's easier to roll and peel. I like to roll on a masa dusted silicon baking mat and use half a zip-top bag on the top (Mexico style). I roll exclusively with a wine bottle. Great variation is to substitute 30% wheat flour (#118085). Can also be made with PAN from Venezuela -- a precooked corn meal, that is not soaked in cal/slacked lime. Increase the water to 1:1. PAN tortillas are a bit tender and crumbly -- add flour for strength.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2014

      Sigh, I had some trouble with this recipe but know it was all on me; I thought I had the dough just right (looked good to me) had added about 1/4 cup extra water, looked like dough - but when I rolled it out cracked and fell apart. From your notes sounds like I didn't add enough water. However; even with that mistake, the taste was great and we still used them just broke up in the taco's instead of rolled. Actually pretty good, guess it was more like a taco salad. I'm going to keep trying though - with the taste being so good just can't give up

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      I've tried tortillas before but never had as good a success as I did with this recipe. The others were just ok and a pain to make because they kept sticking to the tortilla press. Your instructions solved that problem, thank you! The ziplock bag is a must...they peeled right off, nice and round without tearing. I did add the guar gum as someone else suggested. Next time I'm going to add some lime juice just for kicks. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2013

      I never buy tortillas at the store any more. You can also add a little taco seasoning or cumin and chili powder with salt. I use the press and press between two ziploc bags. I also use a large electric griddle for cooking them. I put two down, make another, flip the first, make another, flip the next. They can dry out if they are kept warm in an oven, so what I do is just stack them on the end, but instead of putting the new tortilla on top, I put the new one on the bottom. The steam coming up from that one keeps them all perfectly moist. You can skip the wax paper with a griddle because you cook up more than one at a time (I do six small ones).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2012

      Very good recipe. I like mine a little wetter, so I added 1/3 cup more water. but the original recipe works, making a drier, slightly thicker tortilla. I use a 1 gallon plastic freezer bag with the sides slit (no oiling needed) and a flat-bottomed heavy pot to press the tortilla pressing down hard on the edges of the pot and twisting slightly back and forth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2011

      I prepared 12 big corn tortillas with this recipe.
      I had problem to peel off the dough, but I found out that using one silicon sheet on the bottom, then dough and finally with trasparent plastic wrap it was easier. Sorry, but my vaxed paper was soaking humidiry and the tortilla sticked to it (due to the quality of the paper).
      Though the plastic it was easy to roll the tortilla and check how thick it was. I removed the upper platic wrap and I trasferred the tortilla in the pan (silicon up). While cooking I removed the silicon sheet.
      Thanks a lot for this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2011

      I made them too thick to roll, but they were great for enchiladas. Instead of getting rolled, there was a layer on the bottom (over the sauce) and another layer over the filling. They came out great! Has anyone tried subbing lime juice for part of the water? Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2010

      I love homemade tortillas and do not have a press so I take a piece of Saran wrap (big enough to place under and over a reg.size tortilla) place my small ball of Masa in the center fold over the saran wrap and press down with the bottom of a dinner plate....works for me! Even and round.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      I took a chance and made a batch of this recipe for corn tortillas because it had only three ingredients and I had them in my pantry. I had the masa harina in my pantry because my family get together 2-3 times a year to make tamales. I rolled out my tortillas and deep fried a couple of them in hot oil. Although the appearance was no where near a store bought tortilla, the taste was amazingly better. I will be on the look out for a tortilla press for future use. I used a 2-gallon ziploc bag to roll out my tortillas, this made it much easier to roll them out and remove for frying. I will continue to purchase tortillas, but now I have a winning recipe for homemade chips that taste better than any you can buy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      I made half a recipe then added 1/2 t. brown sugar, 1/4 t. each garlic powder, onion powder, cumin, paprika and 1/8 t. cayenne. then baked them at 400 deg. on the pizza stone. When cooled used them in Fantastic Taco Casserole which was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      I have used this exact recipe for years using masa harina flour. This is an excellent recipe. There is only one thing that I do that is not said, I do use wax paper but I lightly spray with Pam before putting the each ball down on the wax paper. I have never had any paper stick. The secret I think to this recipe is the time you let the dough sit. I am happy that you have posted it and I am glad I have reviewed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      My go to recipe since I tried it. Very simple. I add 1 tsp of salt and be sure you use warm water. Add more water if necessary but just til you can make it stay together and not be crumbly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      this was just the flavor i was looking for. the dough was pretty dry though and had to keep sprinkling water to keep it from cracking while rolling out. after being frustrated for a while, i found a better way to roll them out: i cut the sides of a ziploc bag, put the ball of dough inside and rolled the tortilla on top of the bag with my rolling pin. i still didn't get them round, but they released pretty well into the pan to cook. i think i will be on the search for a tortilla press before i make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      I made these this afternoon for the first time. I bought myself a tortilla press as I thought it would save time and I was right. I loved the texture of the tortilla and I'm going to make fajitas with them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      I like the idea of using the wax paper to lay down the tortillas, though I have not tried it yet. I use a tortilla press and have tried using parchement paper which works pretty well and is much more sturdy than wax paper. I have re-used the same parchment paper for other times making tortillas. I add salt to my masa as well as cumin powder and sometimes a sprinkle of granulated garlic. Just enough of each to give a slight hint of a mystery flavor that is plesant, yet undefinable. For the shape of the balls of masa my teenage son helped me once and figured out if your portions are made more into rounded cubes they form better into a circle, true it does. I think it could help keep the edges from being uneven and thiner on one part than the other as well, but you be the judge of that yourselves. These kinds of things are always so subjective.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      This was my first time making tortillas, and I gladly found the process simple and quick, once I got the hang of it and developed a system that worked well for me. The first one I rolled between waxed paper, but I really didn't like how it came out. The rest I rolled on a single piece of nonstick aluminum foil (skipping the top piece), which seemed to work better for me. (I placed a damp paper towel under the foil to keep it from sliding around while I was rolling.) I kept them covered until I was ready to cook them, but found that once I got a momentum going, I was pretty well able to cook them as I rolled them out. I wanted larger tortillas, so I doubled the recipe but still made 16. This is essentially the same recipe that is on my package of masa harina, but it does not call for salt, which I think is necessary (and I'd probably add even more next time). We ate half of them with Simpler Posole, Navajo (Hominy Pork Stew) and the rest in Sonoran Black Bean & Corn Enchiladas. They were delicious--thanks for posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2006

      Delicious. I, too, have tried to make tortillas from other recipes in the past, and this is the first time that the tortillas turned out really good! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2004

      I've been struggling for months to make corn tortillas from the recipe on the bag of masa harina and failed everytime. They always fell apart. This recipe worked perfectly! And, they taste so good. The only problem is that now my hubby no longer wants store bought tortillas, so I'm adding another thing to my weekly 'to do' list. Letting the tortillas cook for a few seconds before peeling off the wax paper really made a difference as far as not falling apart goes. This is a definite keeper. Thanks for a great recipe, Roosie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Corn Tortillas

    Serving Size: 1 (29 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 52.0
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    51%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 73.8 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites