15 Reviews

This is the way I grew up eating corn on the cob and I can't remember the last time I boiled it! This really brought back delicious memories. The corn was topped with butter, salt and freshly ground black pepper. Made for Aussie Swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG November 14, 2011

It was THEE BEST corn on the cob I ever had, and I made it!! I used half and half instead of heavy cream! Get ready and put on your sunglasses, and whomever else that will be joining you, because the juice will definitely be scurting! LOL!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wife2uRick September 08, 2011

I don't remember the last time I boiled corn. . .and BOY is it WAY better than my usual microwave style!!!! I boiled mine for about 10 minutes and it was fabulous!!! Thanks for reminding me to use the stovetop :) Made for AUS/NZ Swap Sept 2010, Team Beetroot.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride September 13, 2010

Just like mom used to make. We loved corn on the cob and this is the way I made it too. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour September 12, 2013

I boil for about 3 min. When it's the correct ripeness, this should do just right for sweet, crisp ears. Thank you for the simple post; good corn doesn't really need all the extras people like to pile on! Oh, here's another tip: to prevent the kernels from drying out and shriveling, dump the corn in cold water or run it under the tap for 30 seconds immediately after removing from the pot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amy.cleaveland August 23, 2010

Excellent...very easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Raelene July 25, 2010

I love the ease of cooking the corn this way. I usually grill our corn which requires a close watch. I only boiled our corn for 5 minutes and everyone felt it was overcooked (we tend to like our corn very crisp-just heated through). However, since we had to leave our trusty old grill behind when we moved, I will try cooking my corn again this way and add a little sugar to the water as stated in another review. I will also cut the boiling time back a bit more. For those who like their corn "cooked", this is a recipe you should try. Made and reviewed for the 41st AUS/NZ Recipe Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate June 01, 2010

Makes great corn (and when there are leftovers, warming on the grill makes even BETTER corn!) All I wanted to add is that I add a little sugar to the water to make the corn sweeter!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jillomonster September 07, 2009

I have always put my corn on the cob in cold water than boiled to cook and often wandered if that was the best way to do it. Boiling the water first was nice because I think the corn came out tastier and a brighter color because all the good stuff wasnt boiled out of the corn. Never thought about using black pepper, love the stuff and will give it a try. Made and reviewed for the Australia/NewZealand Forum's Recipe Swap #28.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 May 11, 2009

Corn is DELICIOUS prepared this way!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Hughes February 15, 2009
Corn on the Cob - Boiled