Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Corn on the Cob - Boiled Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Corn on the Cob - Boiled

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on November 14, 2011

      This is the way I grew up eating corn on the cob and I can't remember the last time I boiled it! This really brought back delicious memories. The corn was topped with butter, salt and freshly ground black pepper. Made for Aussie Swap.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      It was THEE BEST corn on the cob I ever had, and I made it!! I used half and half instead of heavy cream! Get ready and put on your sunglasses, and whomever else that will be joining you, because the juice will definitely be scurting! LOL!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      I don't remember the last time I boiled corn. . .and BOY is it WAY better than my usual microwave style!!!! I boiled mine for about 10 minutes and it was fabulous!!! Thanks for reminding me to use the stovetop :) Made for AUS/NZ Swap Sept 2010, Team Beetroot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2013

      Just like mom used to make. We loved corn on the cob and this is the way I made it too. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2010

      I boil for about 3 min. When it's the correct ripeness, this should do just right for sweet, crisp ears. Thank you for the simple post; good corn doesn't really need all the extras people like to pile on! Oh, here's another tip: to prevent the kernels from drying out and shriveling, dump the corn in cold water or run it under the tap for 30 seconds immediately after removing from the pot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      Excellent...very easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      I love the ease of cooking the corn this way. I usually grill our corn which requires a close watch. I only boiled our corn for 5 minutes and everyone felt it was overcooked (we tend to like our corn very crisp-just heated through). However, since we had to leave our trusty old grill behind when we moved, I will try cooking my corn again this way and add a little sugar to the water as stated in another review. I will also cut the boiling time back a bit more. For those who like their corn "cooked", this is a recipe you should try. Made and reviewed for the 41st AUS/NZ Recipe Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Makes great corn (and when there are leftovers, warming on the grill makes even BETTER corn!) All I wanted to add is that I add a little sugar to the water to make the corn sweeter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      I have always put my corn on the cob in cold water than boiled to cook and often wandered if that was the best way to do it. Boiling the water first was nice because I think the corn came out tastier and a brighter color because all the good stuff wasnt boiled out of the corn. Never thought about using black pepper, love the stuff and will give it a try. Made and reviewed for the Australia/NewZealand Forum's Recipe Swap #28.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      Corn is DELICIOUS prepared this way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      This is very simple but delicious nonetheless! This is similar to how I usually boil corn on the cob. I never thought to add black pepper to it even though I love it! I made this recipe for the Aussie/NZ Swap #16.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      Perfect! I think this is a great recipe to explain how to boil corn on the cob for those who've never done it before. I love corn on the cob this way, very classic. I served mine with Smart Balance with Flaxseed Oil Spread and salt and pepper. Bf had his plain and enjoyed it also, although I didn't get any comments from him as he was totally distracted and busy with his computer game, heh. Thanks Chef floWer. I made this as a recipe-extra for my group in the Aussie/NZ Swap #15.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      This is exactally how we cook our corn with exactally the same seasonings. Made again tonight to have with Slow Cooked BBQ Ribs (For Crock Pot) and Roasted-Garlic Mashed Potatoes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      This is my most favourite corn except this time it hurt my tooth as it's wobbly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      Definately worth the 50 cents a piece I paid in winter! Yum! Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Corn on the Cob - Boiled

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 122.5
     

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes