Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Copycat Lawry's Seasoned Salt Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Copycat Lawry's Seasoned Salt

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on April 10, 2010

      I may not know the secret to life, but now certainly to Lawry's secret formula.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2002

      I made this sodium-free by using salt substitute.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2002

      I don't know what Lawry's salt is supposed to taste like, but I thought this was really good. I was making a recipe that called for Lawry's, and I didn't have any, so was really glad your recipe was here! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2011

      DELISH!

      I doubled up on the garlic powder because I didn't have any onion powder. The husband said it was a little sweet, so when I made it again, I only used half the sugar (used 3/4 the sugar for the double batch).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      This tastes JUST like Lawry's salt, even without the onion powder and cornstarch (which I did not have on hand). Delicious on steak!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      Lennie, this recipe is absolutely brilliant. I've made it a few times now. Since I've been in the UK, I haven't been able to find Lawry's Seasoned Salt in any of the stores, and have been searching for a recipe close to it. I also added celery salt, and will consider doubling the paprika next time. I honestly would not have guessed it wasn't Lawry's. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      Great, Thanks!!! Was in a pinch, not having any Lawry's, and this was so good, and super fast to put together, I won't need to ever buy Lawry's again! I took the suggestion to add 1/2 tsp of the celery salt, and doubled the paprika. Only thing is that I didn't have onion powder, so I just "upped" the garlic powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      Terrific! I added celery salt and it had a very nice flavor. I used arrowroot powder instead of cornstarch, because it's supposed to be very healthy, but I can never really find use for it! I sprinkled in on chicken breast, baked it in the oven, and my kids ate it up! That's a happy night in my house! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2004

      I actually made this low carb by omitting the cornstarch and replacing the sugar with splenda. VERY good! Lawry's is my favorite and this was a close second!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2011

      I use this all the time. I make it without the sugar or corstarch, and it tastes great. Don't know if it would still sub for Lawry's but it works for seasoning just about anything: scrambled eggs, microwaved chicken, homemade mayo, any roast....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      I love this MSG-free version! I took the suggestion of the most recent commenter, and added a pinch of cinnamon. I'm using this homemade seasoned salt in some dill veggie dip... right now the dip is chilling, but I tried a bit, and it already tastes great!! thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      This copycat recipe gets an A for effort, but I think it's lacking something. You know how on the Lawry's bottle one of the ingredients cryptically says "spices?" Well, I think it's one of those mystery spices that is the key to Lawry's signature taste. What I always notice when I use Lawry's is a distinct "floral" taste, like there's a pinch of *cinnamon* in there. There may be some other subtle mystery spices in there too, but for me, what makes Lawry's special is that cinnamon flavor. I'm curious to see what people would think if they took this copycat recipe, added a pinch of cinnamon to it and see if it compares more accurately to the original Lawry's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      Very good. Much cheaper than the "real" stuff. This is my new seasoned salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      This recipe was created by Todd Wilbur for his book entitled "Even More Top Secret Recipes" (Penguin/Putnam 2002)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      awesome I also added celery salt, and doubled the onion and garlic powders and paprika

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      I'm so delighted to not have to buy a jar of something I seldom use and to avoid MSG. It's worked great for all those recipes that call for "seasoned salt".

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2004

      Lawry's seasoned salt isn't available where I live. I needed it for another recipe. I've never tasted the original but this tasted good. The recipe I used the seasoned salt in turned out really well. Thanks for posting this recipe Lennie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2002

      I also used salt substitute. It's too bad that the Nutrition Facts are skewed by the serving size of "1 Spice Bottle".

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2014

      This is great! I think it's missing something like celery seed/salt. Will try mixing this with 1 tbsp. ground celery seed to lower the salt and reduce the actual salt amount to 1 tbsp. I prepare meals for family that need to be on a reduced-sodium diet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Copycat Lawry's Seasoned Salt

    Serving Size: 1 (49 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 44.8
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    21%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 13954.9 mg
    581%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes