Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Ciabatta Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ciabatta Bread

    Average Rating:

    55 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 55

    Sort by:

    • on November 03, 2010

      I have been enjoying this bread for several years now and wanted to comment in response to some folks who have had trouble with the stickiness. It IS sticky, and I usually don't have time to be bothered with shaping sticky dough into loaves, so my solution has been to pour the dough from the bread machine pan directly into a lightly greased 9x11 pyrex. Then (with oiled hands) I push and pull the bread to spread it evenly across the pan, trying to be as ginger as possible so as not to lose the lovely air pockets. Then I cover it with a tea towel and slide it into a warm oven to rise (a minute at 200 degrees usually does the trick). Then, pull it out to preheat and bake as usual (maybe a bit longer than normal due to the thickness of the "loaf"). I realize that the finished product isn't nearly so traditional, but it has been a simple, fool-proof solution for me, and makes a tasty pan of bread! Thanks for the great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2005

      I wanted to clear some things up on this bread for those who have never made it before. The batter will be VERY wet, it is tricky to handle, for it to bake the way Ciabatta should do not treat it like other breads, you need the wet dough, do not add flour to it, also avoid overhandling the dough, after its rise you need to handle it with a very light touch (like a baby as they say in Italy) so that those precious air bubbles we worked so hard to get dont break. Ok, so you handle it carefully, with well floured hands you pull and stretch the dough into a rough rectangular shape, dust the loaf and your hands with flour again, then neaten and plumpen the dough with your fingers tucking the sides under to create a fairly tidy appearance. I will post a pic (making this again tomorrow) of the dough in its uncookes phase so everyone can see how it looks. If you have never made this before it can be unnerving LOL. So, wrinkled, messy, lumpy flat looking dough that is sticky and unmanageable is normal, dont worry! ;p

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      easy and delicious. made just as posted except that i separated the dough into 6 steak roll size portions and used them - fresh and hot from the oven - for philly cheesesteak sandwiches. because the dough was split into 6 smaller portions, i only had to let it rise 20 mins the second time. they turned out perfect!! my hubby said twice that he thought the bread was awesome! a keeper recipe, for sure. thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      I really don't know how this recipe had gotten so many good reviews. I followed it exactly and it came out an awful mess. The bread did make somewhat of loaf but there was no flavor to it at all. I am really disappointed. I've never had any problems with any other breads that I've made until now. Won't be doing this one again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      Lovely bread - I made it exactly as described... well, I did replace one cup of white bread flour with wheat bread flour. I definately think spritzing the bread while in the oven is important, and I also had a cast iron pan in the oven with water in it, too. Thanks for the easy recipe - I'm using it as a base for one of my ZWT recipes! PS - definately read Eadaein's review on how to handle the dough - I'm very glad I did!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      This was the very first bread I made in my new breadmaker and it came out perfectly. I had dough not batter, but I did use real bread flour as the recipe recommends. I used some of the other rater's hints: Left it in the machine with it unplugged for the first rest period, shaped it into dough right onto my baking stone, and sprayed the plastic wrap with non-stick spray. The results were fantastic! The only thing I didn't do was spray the crust every 5 minutes. Based on the finished product, there was really no need!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      I found the original recipe and it says to make the dough into a 3 X 14 loaf not 13 X 14. morhttp://italian-baking.suite101.com/article.cfm/ciabatta_bread_bread_machine_e sense.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      This makes a flat loaf of bread..I wouldn't call it a loaf. It is tasty and easy but I'd rather do some work and make bread that looks like bread. I've purchased chiabatt many times that actually looks a lot like a loaf of Itallian Bread. This is not it. If you want a bread to serve with dip or cut open or to make buns with maybe it would be fine. It was not what I wanted.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      I really did not enjoy working with this wet dough at all.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2007

      Great recipe! Instead of placing the dough on a lightly floured board in step 3, I have been letting it rest in the machine. I just unplug it after 10 minutes. Then just pour it into the shape of the loaf. It seems to work fine, and less to clean up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2004

      Ciabatta bread bt Trish, have a problem with making each loaf into a 13x14 oval. Is that the right measurements?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2004

      5 stars is not enough!!I make this twice aweek,thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2003

      Works and tastes great! Especially good if you use a baking stone (or pizza stone).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2003

      I live at 7000 feet. Therefore, I usually have to adjust for extra dry air and quick rising. I adjusted the flour by only using 3 even cups. The power went out during step 8 and I had a 2.75 hour rise time. That said, this was the BEST bread I have ever made. My husband is incredibly impressed. I will try again soon with standard rise time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2014

      Delicious! I did as another reviewer suggested, pouring the dough in a 9x13 inch glass dish. So easy and it came out of the dish without any problems. The result was a loaf full of nice holes and just the right size to cut into rectangles for panini sandwiches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2013

      Family loved this! And so easy, just set to dough setting, prepare the parchment paper, dump dough onto it and let rise. Touch as little as possible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2013

      I also don't understand the great reviews, as I didn't care for the texture and blandness of this bread. The only thing that helped was dipping it in oil and Italian seasonings. Today I will try to use the leftovers for making croutons. I continually use an Italian bread recipe and the dough cycle, form a couple loaves, and bake in the oven. It always turns out nice and flavorful, as do other recipes I've used for baking bread directly in the machine. If I want ciabatti, I will buy the real thing in the store.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2012

      Delicious!!!
      Made this morning and it is lovely. So light and fluffy and hard to resist.
      Will definitely be making this again!
      Thank you so much for a great recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2012

      Great tasting bread! I made it for Barefoot Contessa's Roasted Pepper and Goat Cheese Sandwiches. Both were excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      Enjoyed both MAKING and EATING this bread! It's soooo easy! Took the advice of AlaskanAmateur (sort of - thanks!) and used a 17x11 pan, sprayed with Pam, then lined with foil, then buttered, before putting the dough in. I then patted it out (with oiled hands) as much as possible. Turned out great. Used 2-day old leftover pieces to top off French Onion Soup. I sliced pieces of the bread in half through the middle and used for sandwiches. Uses for this bread are limitless! Would also be great for dipping in balsamic vinegar and olive oil. Used some for garlic bread for my sister's birthday dinner (along with Penne ala Vodka). I'm making a second batch tonight--just to have on hand because it's so versatile. Thanks for sharing Tish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ciabatta Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (66 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 136.1
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    84%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 292.5 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes