Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Chipotles in Adobo Sauce - Tex Mex Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chipotles in Adobo Sauce - Tex Mex

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2002

      My husband woke from his nap this weekend and went straight for the kitchen. He just had to find out what that tantalizing smell that was wafting and lingering in the air. This is really good stuff (we used some later that night, per his request). As I've never had the canned type, I can't rate it against that, but it stands up on its own very well. Love the concentration of flavours. It took me closer to 1 hour 45 minutes to reduce liquid down. I divided this into several small portions and froze all but one. Can't wait to use it again. Thanks for your help on this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2003

      This turned out perfectly. I love the flavor. I added this to some tomato salsa I canned last summer and wow! It makes a great dip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      Fantastic! I rarely use chipotles, but is used this in my carnitas (#218399) and it was equal to if not better than before. I froze the remainder and now have enough for all year in individual packets. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2003

    • on September 07, 2012

      Nice. I've grown jalapenos in my garden for the last 15 years. Made picante, roasted them, and gave most away. Got a new smoker 2 weeks ago and made some "chipotles" Made them with adobo sauce. WOW. this stuff is awesome. Made as recipe called for. Put it through the food processor after it was done. Smokey, sweet, and spicy. Thank You I've been looking for something like this for a long time! OOOps forgot to givethis one 5 stars. I'm impressed and making more as we speak

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      I made this with a bunch of red, vine-ripened jalapenos from the garden, after smoking them for a few hours in my smoker. This is the best recipe for chipotles in adobo that I've tried, and will only use this one from now on - thank you! It does smell fantastic while they are simmering like everyone says.. one of the reviewers said that their chipotles didn't soften up enough; some of mine where pretty brittle too when I started out, so what I did was mix all the ingredients together and let it soak overnight, then went with the 2-hour or so simmer the next day. They all came out fine. Hope this helps.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      Help, please! I would love to be able to make this, but the one time I've tried was a disaster! I think it's me, and not the recipe, but I don't know what I did wrong. My chipotles would NOT soften enough. Should they be soaked in hot water first? And just a note, in my area it would be less costly to buy the canned chipotles, dried are pretty expensive, but I think this recipe ( if I could get it right ) would be worth the money. Anyone that has any ideas on how to get the chiles to soften properly, please drop me a note.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      I used to use the canned version--never again! If for no other reason, the smell while they are cooking is amazing--people come to the kitchen like zombies summoned by the witch doctor. But the flavor is fabulous--and they keep well in a jar in the fridge or in the freezer. Thanks, Mrs. G!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2007

      Very easy to make with great results. I used my onions as a topping on a cheeseburger. Mui calienté.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2007

      I've made these several times and just realized, I haven't given it a review. :-/ These are sooo more tasty and hot than the canned ones. Very easy to make and has a wonderful aroma whilst cooking. Very versitile to use. I've used them in homemade BBQ sauce, Buffalo Wing Sauce, beans,dips etc. Last night I made Chipotle Pork Roast #23605, by E. Fullerton. The chipotles keep very well in the fridge in canning jars. Ms. Goodall? No disrespect intended, but I wish, when a recipe is adopted, a note will be added to the introduction or somewhere where it's easy to look up in case people forget to save to their cookbook or print it. I had misplaced the printed copy and almost didn't find this. This was Mean Chef's recipe. Somehow I remembered it was Mean Chef's, but didn't remember the exact name of the recipe and about over looked it when all the results of "Chipotle" came up. Anyway. Thanks for keeping the recipe alive. It's good one. LeeAnn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2005

      Made these because I didn't have any canned ones on hand, might not bother with canned ones anymore (except in emergencies, since these are a little time-intensive). I found them to be much more flavorful than the canned ones, which project mostly heat. They really did smell wonderful while they were cooking, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2005

      Ran out of cans, had dried chipotles, and needed chipoltles in adobo.... so gave this a try. Easy, great results and, yes, better than the canned stuff. Only problem is that there is a lot of variation in dried chipotles. I estimated 1 oz = 10 nominal dried chipotles. My guess. Would be nice if you specified approximate weight in your recipe for others.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2005

      I haven't done this with Chipotles as they are very hard to come by where I live. I just finished a batch with dried THAI peppers from last year's harvest though, and it is kickin'. I added a tsp of maple syrup to help counter the extra heat from the Thai peppers. Will use this recipe for all the excess dried peppers from this year's harvest as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chipotles in Adobo Sauce - Tex Mex

    Serving Size: 1 (1356 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.1
     
    Calories from Fat 20
    12%
    Total Fat 2.2 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1318.4 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.3 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 7.9 g
    31%
    Sugars 40.1 g
    160%
    Protein 10.4 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes