13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My husband woke from his nap this weekend and went straight for the kitchen. He just had to find out what that tantalizing smell that was wafting and lingering in the air. This is really good stuff (we used some later that night, per his request). As I've never had the canned type, I can't rate it against that, but it stands up on its own very well. Love the concentration of flavours. It took me closer to 1 hour 45 minutes to reduce liquid down. I divided this into several small portions and froze all but one. Can't wait to use it again. Thanks for your help on this!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
s'kat September 09, 2002

This turned out perfectly. I love the flavor. I added this to some tomato salsa I canned last summer and wow! It makes a great dip.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BW Morgan March 10, 2003

Fantastic! I rarely use chipotles, but is used this in my carnitas (#218399) and it was equal to if not better than before. I froze the remainder and now have enough for all year in individual packets. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jeff S February 07, 2009

Nice. I've grown jalapenos in my garden for the last 15 years. Made picante, roasted them, and gave most away. Got a new smoker 2 weeks ago and made some "chipotles" Made them with adobo sauce. WOW. this stuff is awesome. Made as recipe called for. Put it through the food processor after it was done. Smokey, sweet, and spicy. Thank You I've been looking for something like this for a long time! OOOps forgot to givethis one 5 stars. I'm impressed and making more as we speak

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WokRokr September 07, 2012

I made this with a bunch of red, vine-ripened jalapenos from the garden, after smoking them for a few hours in my smoker. This is the best recipe for chipotles in adobo that I've tried, and will only use this one from now on - thank you! It does smell fantastic while they are simmering like everyone says.. one of the reviewers said that their chipotles didn't soften up enough; some of mine where pretty brittle too when I started out, so what I did was mix all the ingredients together and let it soak overnight, then went with the 2-hour or so simmer the next day. They all came out fine. Hope this helps.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
steve in FL September 05, 2011

Help, please! I would love to be able to make this, but the one time I've tried was a disaster! I think it's me, and not the recipe, but I don't know what I did wrong. My chipotles would NOT soften enough. Should they be soaked in hot water first? And just a note, in my area it would be less costly to buy the canned chipotles, dried are pretty expensive, but I think this recipe ( if I could get it right ) would be worth the money. Anyone that has any ideas on how to get the chiles to soften properly, please drop me a note.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KlynnPadilla August 25, 2007

I used to use the canned version--never again! If for no other reason, the smell while they are cooking is amazing--people come to the kitchen like zombies summoned by the witch doctor. But the flavor is fabulous--and they keep well in a jar in the fridge or in the freezer. Thanks, Mrs. G!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate June 26, 2007

Very easy to make with great results. I used my onions as a topping on a cheeseburger. Mui calienté.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni May 03, 2007

I've made these several times and just realized, I haven't given it a review. :-/ These are sooo more tasty and hot than the canned ones. Very easy to make and has a wonderful aroma whilst cooking. Very versitile to use. I've used them in homemade BBQ sauce, Buffalo Wing Sauce, beans,dips etc. Last night I made Chipotle Pork Roast #23605, by E. Fullerton. The chipotles keep very well in the fridge in canning jars. Ms. Goodall? No disrespect intended, but I wish, when a recipe is adopted, a note will be added to the introduction or somewhere where it's easy to look up in case people forget to save to their cookbook or print it. I had misplaced the printed copy and almost didn't find this. This was Mean Chef's recipe. Somehow I remembered it was Mean Chef's, but didn't remember the exact name of the recipe and about over looked it when all the results of "Chipotle" came up. Anyway. Thanks for keeping the recipe alive. It's good one. LeeAnn

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L. Duch February 18, 2007
Chipotles in Adobo Sauce - Tex Mex