8 Reviews

Great recipe! It was very simple to make and tastes really good. The only thing missing is it needs some more heat. Maybe adding a hotter pepper than jalapeno would fix that or more jalapeno. Overall, I would recommend if you are looking for a good green salsa recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilcritta2 August 17, 2012

Love this salsa at Chipotle and this recipe is spot on. Thank you so much for sharing! I just cut the top off of the jalapenos and put everything else in the food processor plus the pepper flakes and tabasco. Just the right amount of heat for me. Thanks so much for solving the elusive mystery of the recipe for Chipotle's Medium Tomatillo Salsa!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
warnickk March 24, 2012

Just tried it and it is delicious! Almost spot on!!! The only thing I found missing was the heat. Like the reviewer before, I also keep the jalapeno seeds. I also doubled the chipotle hot sauce. Despite all that it was still quite mild, I remember the Chipotle grill green salsa is pretty hot. I have to go buy some from their resturant tomorrow and eat the two side by side! Still, overall this is a fantastic and easy green salsa! Thank you so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hamstahs January 06, 2012

Great! This is my favorite salsa at Chipotle too, so it is nice to be able to make a similar version at home! I left the seeds and ribs in the jalapeno when I ran it through the machine instead of adding the red pepper flakes, and it worked wonderfully. We enjoyed it both with chips and using it in enchiladas. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews March 10, 2011

WOW!!! This was awesome! Thanks so much for posting it. The only thing I changed was I broiled the tomatillos, tomatoes and onions with the jalapenos so it would have lots of those little charred bits. Yum!!! Thankyouthankyouthankyou!!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Traci C. March 29, 2015

Very good recipe, I chose to half it the first time I make just in case I end up not liking it. The only comment I would make is 1tbsp Cumin was too much. The color was off and so was the flavor.<br/><br/>It had plenty of kick to it without the Jalepenos but that could be the Chipotle Cholula Hot Sauce I used instead of Tabasco because I couldn't find any that had Chipotle in it. (This is the first time I have used this hot sauce so I am not sure if it really is any hotter than Tabasco as I dont really use that either lol. Not to say I dont enjoy Spicy foods!)<br/><br/>But anyways, it was a delicious recipe and I may try making it again but this time with half the amount of Cumin. Thanks for posting it ^-^

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StarChild89w August 26, 2014

Awesome! The only thing I left out was the tabasco, because I didn't have it on hand. Overall pretty darn close to the Chipotle version. Very delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zombie Sweetheart February 16, 2014

I agree with the other reviewers, the salsa is delicious and fresh tasting, and very spot-on. But I talked to a friend who worked at chipotle for a few years and he explained that it's a green chili salsa. So I used green chilies in mine and it was perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waleli November 20, 2012
Chipotle Grill Inspired Tomatillo-Green Chili Salsa