Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Chickpea Crunchies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chickpea Crunchies

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 27, 2002

      Addictive!!! These were downright fabulous, Dancer! And quite nutritious if you eat it in moderation, which of course, I won't do ;-) I didn't have cayenne pepper so I used red chili powder, and I think it made it a tad spicier, but no complaints! I also used freshly ground coriander seeds, which added a lot of flavour. I baked for 35 minutes, which was about right, though a few got burnt... next time 30 minutes should suffice. What a wonderful, unique way to use chickpeas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2002

      Well, these are great! I strongly suggest that the various seasonings used in this recipe are made fresh, i.e., use of each freshly ground seasoning imparts a flavour of its own in this fantastic snack. I substituted the cayenne pepper with red chilli powder following Anu's review. Yes, this did make it a bit spicy, but for spice lovers, this is just great! I used 1 can of chickpeas to make this(it was equivalent to 2 cups). After washing and draining the chickpeas, I boiled them in plenty of water for 5-7 minutes. Then, I drained the water and dried the chickpeas on clean kitchen towels. (I like to boil the chickpeas when I'm using them out of a can because I find the chickpeas have a funny taste that I really don't like if I dont boil them). I tossed the dried chickpeas with the seasonings in a flat baking dish and baked the chickpeas at 200C for 30 minutes. These wonderful crispy treats will vanish off the serving bowl within seconds if served with some wine, IMHO:) Personally, I couldn't resist tasting the chickpeas when I'd tossed them with the seasonings, i.e., before baking them in the oven. I love them like that and for myself, I'll not be baking these, since, I loved the taste more when the chickpeas were just boiled and tossed with the seasonings than what they tasted like after being baked(That's just my taste buds talking) :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2004

      These are great. I used canned beans. I do think just a bit more flavor is needed. Garlic salt would be a nice addition. I have some lime flavored garlic salt that I intend to try next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2003

      These are good, and a great alternative snack instead of junk food! Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2003

      I used canned chickpeas which I rinsed and drained. I had not read the review that suggested boiling, but will give that a try next time. (I, too, think that canned chickpeas have an odd flavor.) I did have to bake for about 45 minutes in order to crisp the chickpeas. This makes a nice snack and could easily be added to a savory trail mix.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      I have to agree with eclairkat's review - these really didn't work for me and I really wanted them to. The spices were just right, but my chickpeas were also soggy or hard and I was afraid to cook them any longer because the spices were beginning to burn. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      This really didn't turn out for me. Either the chickpeas were soggy or too hard. I also thought there was way too much pepper on this. Thanks for the recipe, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      Easy and Awesome... Enough said!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2007

      I made these as a healthy snack for myself but my healthy food hating hubby ate them all! Next time I'll make a bigger batch :) Thanks for such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      These came out too salty for me, and I didn't realize they would shrink so much! All together a nice idea but I didn't care for the spice mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2007

      OMG these are good. I have switched up the spices and stuff depending on who will be eating them, but the first time I brought them out my husband said "oh my gosh I cannot believe the things you can do with food. This is fabulous." And it's healthy!!!!THANK YOU Dancer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      This was great! I made it tonight to go along with some veggies and tofu...I omitted the coriander. The cumin was such a striking flavor. Really great, love the crunch...thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2006

      These were very tasty but I added more spices and overdid it a bit (my fault, not the recipe!) Next time I will add more salt and less spice. I loved the crunch of these healthy little snacks! Thank you for posting your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2004

      I thought I was going to love these because I really like chickpeas in almost any incarnation. For some reason, these just didn't work out for me. I didn't like the texture of the dried peas at all. It was almost... gritty. The flavour was great though. Sorry this one just wasn't for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chickpea Crunchies

    Serving Size: 1 (486 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 465.5
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    24%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2080.4 mg
    86%
    Total Carbohydrate 88.3 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 17.6 g
    70%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 19.3 g
    38%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites