Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Carol's Hummous Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carol's Hummous

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on January 12, 2002

      Carol's hummous is awesome! Carol recently gave me her recipe when she couldn't make a family get-together[I'm her sister]. Easy recipe, although I should add make only 1 batch at a time, I found my double batch very hard to work with. I also found hot water is very important, as does tend to seize up. Otherwise, quick, easy and delicious! Cathy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2002

      this was super easy to make, and quite tasty, although it had rather a strange flavour to it. i found it quite bitter... i think i would put a little less tahini in next time. also, i left it out on the counter for a few hours, and much of the flavour seemed to dissappear... so i would be sure to cover it right after making it next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2001

      Delicious! My houmous recipe is similar but without the cumin. Always top with extra virgin olive oil; never use vegetable oil (it won''t give the authentic, rich, fragrant middle-eastern taste or fragrance). For a change: rub pita bread with cut garlic cloves-brush with olive oil-toast in oven until crispy and cut into triangles. Or just scoop it up with non toasted pita. Serve with olives-middle-eastern, small green ones, if you can find them (Atlantic Ave.,Brooklyn, NY, or in a city with a large arabic population, look for an Arab grocery). Or, try Nichoise olives (French, small black).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2002

      Sorry, Carol, I made this several weeks ago and now I see that I forgot to review it. It was wonderful and very easy to make - I followed the recipe exactly. We served it on pitas with chopped tomatoes, chopped onions, and EV olive oil for a picnic. It was fabulous, I'll make it again for sure. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      I have made this recipe several times and have neglected to review it until now. It's so quick and easy to whip up a batch of this flavourful hummous. My family loves it and it has been a hit at parties as well. Thank you for sharing this excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      Very tasty and much lower in fat than the olive oil-y version I usually make...I didn't care for the taste imparted by the pine nuts, but as that is an optional ingredient, I don't feel that this recipe should lose a star because of it. Great for dipping and spreading on sandwiches! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      very nice hummous. i replaced the beans with dried, soaked and cooked chickpeas and it turned out really tasty. i will serve mine with pitta breads and carrot sticks to dip. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      I reviewed this as a double whammy - For the Dish of The Week & Spice of The Month Club in the NA*ME Forum. I really enjoyed this hummous - I've never had it with cumin & was interested to see how the flavours worked together...It was really great! I added the cucumber & parsley as a garnish & it was enjoyed by all the family. The cumin adds an earthiness to the hummous & rounds the flavour off - it makes a lovely change to regular hummous. Thanks Carol for this delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      Great! Thanks Carol for a delicious and easy hummus recipe. I used a large can of chickpeas undrained for this recipe. I think next time I might drain a bit of the liquid out because the final result, while delicious, was a little to thin for my liking. Thanks again Carol, a keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2005

      This is a great hummous recipe. It's very similar to my standard recipe which I got from some Arabic friends; obviously it's very 'authentic,' lol. I did add 1 Tbsp of olive oil in the blender, to give it an even creamier texture, but other than that followed the recipe exactly. I probably used the equivalent of just under 1/4 c hot water, for those looking for measurement approximations. I'll definitely be pulling this out again...my hummous-addicted children finished off the whole batch at dinner. ;) Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2005

      This was SUPER easy and very very good! There are several new hummous fans in Kansas, thanks to this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2005

      Super easy, simply yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2004

      I had never made it before and now I've made it 3 times. It makes quite a bit and it is very very good! When we've had our fill with pita chips I put it on some good hearty bread and eat it in sandwiches. I like it best when it's warm. Good recipe! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2004

      I made this recipe using garbanzos that I cooked myself using only 1/2 teasp. of salt which makes this recipe much lower in sodium than when you use the canned ones. I also cut back on the garlic to 6 cloves as the first time I made it we found it to be too much garlic for our tastes. I did not use the pine nuts as they are extremely expensive here ($18 a lb.) Also, we like our food a little on the spicy side so I added 1 tsp. of cayenne pepper. Then I also added 2/3 cup of olive oil. It was great! My husband is Lebanese and he said it was the best hummous he ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2003

      This was a very good hummous recipe. The texture is very authentic: rich, creamy, and smooth instead of chunky and rough. Delicious, Thanks, Carol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2002

      Quick and easy to make, tastes great...I've never made Hummus before and was given rave reviews from my dinner guests. Ended up passing the recipe on to them. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Spreads Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carol's Hummous

    Serving Size: 1 (336 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 252.7
     
    Calories from Fat 73
    28%
    Total Fat 8.1 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 429.8 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 9.6 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites