16 Reviews

Carol's hummous is awesome! Carol recently gave me her recipe when she couldn't make a family get-together[I'm her sister]. Easy recipe, although I should add make only 1 batch at a time, I found my double batch very hard to work with. I also found hot water is very important, as does tend to seize up. Otherwise, quick, easy and delicious! Cathy

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cathy January 12, 2002

this was super easy to make, and quite tasty, although it had rather a strange flavour to it. i found it quite bitter... i think i would put a little less tahini in next time. also, i left it out on the counter for a few hours, and much of the flavour seemed to dissappear... so i would be sure to cover it right after making it next time!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pollen January 25, 2002

Delicious! My houmous recipe is similar but without the cumin. Always top with extra virgin olive oil; never use vegetable oil (it won''t give the authentic, rich, fragrant middle-eastern taste or fragrance). For a change: rub pita bread with cut garlic cloves-brush with olive oil-toast in oven until crispy and cut into triangles. Or just scoop it up with non toasted pita. Serve with olives-middle-eastern, small green ones, if you can find them (Atlantic Ave.,Brooklyn, NY, or in a city with a large arabic population, look for an Arab grocery). Or, try Nichoise olives (French, small black).

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelley (aka Rachelle) July 16, 2001

Sorry, Carol, I made this several weeks ago and now I see that I forgot to review it. It was wonderful and very easy to make - I followed the recipe exactly. We served it on pitas with chopped tomatoes, chopped onions, and EV olive oil for a picnic. It was fabulous, I'll make it again for sure. Thanks for posting!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Titanium Chef August 05, 2002

I have made this recipe several times and have neglected to review it until now. It's so quick and easy to whip up a batch of this flavourful hummous. My family loves it and it has been a hit at parties as well. Thank you for sharing this excellent recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mkorte33 February 24, 2011

Very tasty and much lower in fat than the olive oil-y version I usually make...I didn't care for the taste imparted by the pine nuts, but as that is an optional ingredient, I don't feel that this recipe should lose a star because of it. Great for dipping and spreading on sandwiches! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drbecca26 March 09, 2009

very nice hummous. i replaced the beans with dried, soaked and cooked chickpeas and it turned out really tasty. i will serve mine with pitta breads and carrot sticks to dip. Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Natalia #3 July 10, 2008

I reviewed this as a double whammy - For the Dish of The Week & Spice of The Month Club in the NA*ME Forum. I really enjoyed this hummous - I've never had it with cumin & was interested to see how the flavours worked together...It was really great! I added the cucumber & parsley as a garnish & it was enjoyed by all the family. The cumin adds an earthiness to the hummous & rounds the flavour off - it makes a lovely change to regular hummous. Thanks Carol for this delicious recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Um Safia April 23, 2008

Great! Thanks Carol for a delicious and easy hummus recipe. I used a large can of chickpeas undrained for this recipe. I think next time I might drain a bit of the liquid out because the final result, while delicious, was a little to thin for my liking. Thanks again Carol, a keeper for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oloschiavo April 07, 2007

This is a great hummous recipe. It's very similar to my standard recipe which I got from some Arabic friends; obviously it's very 'authentic,' lol. I did add 1 Tbsp of olive oil in the blender, to give it an even creamier texture, but other than that followed the recipe exactly. I probably used the equivalent of just under 1/4 c hot water, for those looking for measurement approximations. I'll definitely be pulling this out again...my hummous-addicted children finished off the whole batch at dinner. ;) Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
winkki July 12, 2005
Carol's Hummous