Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Carol's Easy Pita Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carol's Easy Pita Bread

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on June 25, 2001

      if yoy substitute 1/2 cup cake flour for regular flour it will rise higher, plus if you heat your oven to its highest temp. and use a stone; it will cook in 3 to 4 min and doesn't have to be turned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2001

      Easy recipe - couldn't believe how easy. But I found there was too much flour -left out nearly i cup.And tastes great Janice

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2002

      great recipe! very consistant and easy. i've gotten lots of compliments. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      I've made these twice using our bread machine and found that six pitas are closer to the size we would normally get from the supermarket (instead of eight).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2002

      easy recipe to follow for good pita. i think i rolled some of my pitas too thin because i ended up with pita chips, which were still good, but didn't have that nice chewy texture. i also substituted one cup of white flour for one cup of whole wheat for a little more texture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      For those of you who were looking for a more chewy (rather than crispy) bubbled pita pocket, all you have to do is one minor change. I don't use quick rise yeast at all, only the regular Traditional Active Dry Yeast. I prepared it in nearly the same manner, I put the flour (2 cups) and salt together, gave it a good stir. I took a measuring cup, filled about 1cm high with warm water, tossed in 1tsp yeast (I decreased the amount because I didn't know if quick yeast was any different). This yeast-water mixture I let sit for 5 mins or so, let the yeast puff up. Then in the same measuring cup I just added water up to the original amount it required (1.25cups). Pour the contents of the measuring cup in with the dry mixture and follow the recipes steps from 2 onwards. **couple notes however: 1. I added some of the 1-1.5cup of flour while the dough was still in bowl because it was too sticky to begin kneading. (I used about 1.25cups in the end) 2. I divided my kneaded dough into 6 pieces rather than eight. 3. I left the 6 pieces on the cutting board to rise for about 25minutes. Strangely enough I did not cover it and they did not dry out. 4. Took a rolling pin to the pieces of dough, rolled them to the size i wanted them (about as big as my outstretched fingers/hand). 5. I threw some alumnium foil on the baking sheet, placed three on each baking sheet. DO put it on the bottom rack, DO keep it quite hot (425 on my oven), and DO follow the 4 minute per side rule! Also DO follow Step 10. Trust me, they'll turn out perfect. Now to find a fantastic tzatziki sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      Very easy and delicious! I was hoping they would bubble so i could have that "pocket" effect, and they didn't, but that was the only disappointment. did i do something wrong? Not a big deal, though, since they rose enough that i could cut them in half and create my own pocket. also i used 2 cups of whole wheat flour and one of regular. Thanks! I'll make them again next time i want fresh pita in a hurry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      Makes better pita chips id think. These didnt rise hardly any, and they werent very flexible or pita-y at all. I was making gyros and wanted pitas, so we kind of had gyro paninis instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      Made this pita bread for my Greek themed dinner, They were very good and easy to make. Thanks Carol . Bullwinkle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      These pita were really pretty and looked authentic. They tasted pretty good too; howver, for whatever reason, they did not form a pocket and were kind of heavy and chewy. I think it must have been because I used whole grain spelt flour. Also they dried out really quickly when I set them out to cool in the dish towel. Not sure what this needs... maybe more water or a little olive oil? Anyway, it was still good enough to where I will probably try it again and just tweak it some so it will work for the whole grain flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      I made the mistake of letting the individual rounds dry out a bit before baking. When I lifted them to bake, some of them cracked. The cracked pitas didn't have a pocket, but they all tasted absolutely heavenly. Thank you Carol!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      How easy was this?! This Pita was my husbands first attempt at bread and it came out delicious! We will never buy pita in the store, again!! Thanks for sharing this recipe, Carol!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      These were really cool! I followed the recipe except for taking the suggestion to turn up the temp of my oven and use a pizza stone. They turned out perfectly, puffing up to make a perfect pocket. My only concern is that they are slightly bland. Hopefully when I add all the gyro ingredients, they will shine. Thank you for the fun recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

    • on December 09, 2007

      I think I rolled these out too thinly...I'm not used to the imperial measurements! They turned out a lot harder than pita bread should be but they still tasted good...next time I'll just have to find a conversion table. :-)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      I used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose. I also didn't read the recipe correctly and let the dough rise before I divided into 8 balls. After rising, I rolled out the eight balls and pinched around the edges. It turned out awesome. A friend asked me where I bought them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2007

      These turned out great. I subbed whey ( I had just drained some lowfat yogurt tzadziki) for the water and used regular dried yeast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

    • on December 12, 2006

      Easy to make, tastes great, but the pocket does not form well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2005

      I made the recipe as stated and thought it turned out great! I'm also amazed how easy it is to make pita. I let my kitchenaid so the kneading-it was so quick! I'm very happy with this recipe and will be keeping this handy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carol's Easy Pita Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (701 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 173.9
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    63%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 147.5 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites