Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Canned the Summer in a Salsa ! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Canned the Summer in a Salsa !

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 28, 2013

      I love this recipe! I made it last summer and ran out by March. This summer I am definitely canning more jars. I typically leave some seeds in the jalapenos (we like it hot), add a little sugar, an extra can of tomato paste and extra cilantro. Sometimes I will even add black beans and corn. Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2011

      This salsa is great! The only thing I'm upset about is not realizing what a pint size is. You'd think after all these years I would. So...I have to refrigerate 1/2 of the salsa I made. That said, it's very good. Thanks for the great and easy recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2012

      We LOVE this salsa! Freshest tasting home salsa I have ever had. I will be making this for years.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      This is the best salsa! Everyone loved the heat. I chopped by hand some of the red tomatoes and then used the food processor to chop the rest of the ingredients. I used one habanero, 2 chili peppers and the rest jalapenos. I did use red and green tomatoes. Thank you Rita...you know I love your canning recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      very yumie!!! My family and I love this salsa. My mother in law also likes it also due to the fact that her home grown tomatos don't go to wast. The secound batch I made I put a little more lime juice in it that made it really good I think that it gave it more of a summer tast to it. It will be a recipe that get used alot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      Great salsa recipe; only filled 6 pints and put the extra in the refrigerator and tasted a few hours later; can tell it's going to blend together and have a nice balanced flavor; used quite a few green tomatoes to make up the 5 lbs and still think it's going to be great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      YUM YUM YUM! I love when my mom---Rita---makes homemade salsa from home grown veggies! This was soooooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      The chef was kind enough to give me a jar of this when we met for the second time on Christmas Eve. I've never tried canning myself. I personally don't like a tabasco taste on my corn chips but on a cheese burrito I prepared, this was top rate! Thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Canned the Summer in a Salsa !

    Serving Size: 1 (43 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 84

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 12.2
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    37%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 101.6 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.6 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites