Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Canned (Bottled) Salsa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Canned (Bottled) Salsa

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on July 12, 2010

      I made this salsa last September when our tomatoes were so abundant we couldn't eat enough to keep up with them. I was excited about making a recipe for salsa with cilantro and lime, which I love, and that did not have sugar or vinegar, which I hate in salsa. When I cooked it up and put it into the jars, I took a taste and thought it might be an epic fail. It was salty and very lime-y. I fretted until I decided to name it, Salsa Margarita. I put it up in the garage. When we opened our first jar a few months later...oh. my. goodness...It was SO GOOD!! It just needed time to sit. This is the best canned salsa recipe I have ever tasted. Our family greedily ate every single jar I put up. I'm making double this year for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2011

      Having grown up in Georgia and spent 17 years in West Texas, then back to Georgia, I have tasted so many recipes for salsa. This is by far the BEST recipe ever. To the lady who won't be making it again, she needs to immediately go for a taste IMPLANT. Thank you so much for this recipe. Making the second batch now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      I have canned for years and made so many different types of salsa and hot sauce and it was good. This stuff is the best. we have to make more. authentic taste

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      Very fresh tasting salsa, the lime gives it a nice flavor (I agree it's certainly a great alternative to vinegar)....the only reason I refrain from all five stars is I feel the recipe is a little too vague. I found myself guessing on ingredient amounts. Would be helpful to give 'cups of chopped tomatoes' or 'cups of chopped peppers' rather than '6 large bell peppers', etc. Especially for a canning recipe, where your ratios are so much more important (for safety reasons). Ultimately, about 50% of my veggies were chopped tomatos, with the other 50% made up of the onions, garlic and peppers. Again, very good salsa....really does come as close to a fresh, Pico de Gallo taste and texture as any canned salsa I've tried. Thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      The best of all recipes I tried this year for salsa - I quit searching after this one! I used regular tomatoes from my garden, but I did seed them. I used 1 lb jalapenos seeded + 10 single jalapenos with seeds left in---turned out medium heat...will use 8 with seeds next time. I was worried too much garlic, but it was perfect salsa!! Use fresh limes NOT bottled---makes a difference. So good! My yield was higher than indicated.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2005

      I have been canning salsa for years. This was easy and very tasty. My family wanted me to trash my old recipe and make lots of this one to share. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2004

      This is a great recipe. Is very easy to vary in heat for everyones taste. My family and friends beg for more!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2004

      This is pretty good salsa. I made a half-batch, followed the instructions pretty much exactly. When i first put the mixture into the jars with the salt and lime, i had an "uh oh moment", as it seemed to be too salty... but i perservered and canned it up anyways. Seems the processing and storage allowed the flavours to blend and mellow, because when we opened our first jar a few weeks later, it didn't seem excessively salty after all. I quite like the lime flavour in this, and would say it's about as close to a "fresh salsa" taste as you're going to get in a home-canned product. Good job!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2013

      So I had to scale down the recipe I'm not sure quart wise how many tomatoes I had but I knew mine was less than that. I had 15-20 garden tomatoes, after blanched peel chopped and drained for 6hrs that was the soonest I could get back to it, I had 5 cups of tomatoes. I used 3Tbs of course Sea Salt didn't have pickling salt. I guessed I had 1/3 of the recipe so I reduced everything. 1/2 can of tomato paste, 2 medium onions, 2 med bell peppers which was tricky to peel, I got them mostly peeled, yellow and green, 1head( bulb) garlic, and I guessed 1Tbs Cumin. 1cup chopped cilantro, 5 seeded jalapeños diced and 7 whole diced ones so w/ seeds all jalapenos were tiny size peppers. I used 4-12oz jars w/ 2 Tbs bottled lime juice in each, and 3-8oz w/ 1.5 Tbs of lime juice. So far it tastes awesome w/o the lime, can't wait for it to merry a few weeks and then try the final product! Excited! I'm a salsa snob but I am pretty sure this is going to be Awesome! Total of 72 oz made

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

      I have been looking for a Salsa recipe that I like, and I really like this one .. So Thanks<br/> Will be making 2nd batch shortly with my daughter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2012

      I didn't really care for this. I thought the lime flavour was overwhelming and I wasn't a huge fan of the texture either. For some reason, mine didn't taste like fresh salsa but rather like cooked salsa that was undercooked! I'm not sure what I did wrong since it sounded so good and most of the other reviews were so positive. Since I have so many other salsa recipes that work well for me I won't likely be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      This is good for a fresh salsa, less all the lime juice. Then when you go to process it, you add 3 Tablespoons lime juice to each 500ml jar??? GAG! It just was not good. Way to limey. Was the Tablespoon amount a typo?? Should it have been 3 teaspoons? Please let me know. and confirm. I won't plan on making this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      Oh my goodness - I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this salsa. Thank you so much for posting. I made several quarts, took some to my mother in law for a big family get together and it was a HUGE hit!!! Can't wait to make more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      This was the first thing I ever canned. I wasn't sure at first how it would come out but once I got it canned and tried it out I couldn't get enough of it. I already going to can my second batch. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      I made this yesterday. Tastes great. Very mild. I used the full pound of jalapeno's but I seeded and deveined them. Next time I will leave some seeds in. I used 17lbs of roma tomatoes, two bunches of cilantro and the lime juice from the bottle. I got 11 pint jars and 4 quart jars. The only mistake I made was I didn't wear gloves when chopping the jalapeno's. BIG MISTAKE! I don't eat hot peppers so I didn't know I could burn your skin. I thought my hands were on fire. Thank God the salsa was so good to make it all worth while. Thanks so much for posting Jenny!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      Yummy! We made this last week and just opened the first jar. I won't drain so long next time because we like a little juice in our salsa, but still very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      Excellent! Made 2 batches so far this year and have used other types of tomatoes, seeding some of them to avoid too much liquid. I substituted parsley for cilantro since my husband is not a fan. I also added a second can of tomato paste...Great recipe! Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      I made this recipe using my summers bumper crop of tomatoes and peppers.Fantastic!! It was very fresh tasting and everyone I gave a jar to loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      I tried 3 recipes for salsa this week and this is my favorite. This batch stayed thick and chunky and FRESH tasting. The plum tomatoes aren't as juicey or as sweet and that made all the difference! I'll always use plums for salsa from now on. I like the lime, and the cumin is barely detectable but gives it a little extra something. Next time I will use more hot peppers or a few hotter peppers. This came out pretty mild. I'll also cut back slightly on the cilantro. But this is THE recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      We love this recipe, mainly because we don't like the vinegar taste in salsa either. The flavors blend real nicely. I do not blanch and peel my tomatoe, because we don't mind the skins. Brenda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Canned (Bottled) Salsa

    Serving Size: 1 (8484 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 178.6
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    52%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 140.7 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.0 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 10.5 g
    42%
    Sugars 21.1 g
    84%
    Protein 7.7 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites