Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / California Carrots Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    California Carrots

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on January 02, 2002

      I added lemon juice to the water in the steamer and, after the carrots were cooked, I mixed all the ingredients in a couple of tablespoons of orange juice over very low heat. Delicious recipe - thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2002

      In spite of rocket scientist Brawny's remarks, my family found these quite delightful, and a very nice change from boiled or steamed plain carrots. I used naturally sweet mandarin oranges.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2002

      These are excellent. My family loves carrots and we'd never had them like this. I threw in some cooked pearl onions just for the heck of it. This one's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2002

      These were not my favorite....maybe I didn't add enough orange rind or something.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2002

      I really enjoyed the freshness and tang of the oranges. I thought it complimented the carrots very well. I might try a little tarragon with it next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2002

      Thanks for such a lovely fresh tasting recipe for carrots. Will certainly be having them this way again. Cheers :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2002

      Sorry....but carrots and orange juice are LOADED with sugars.... of course you didn't need to add any.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2011

    • on October 05, 2008

      These weren't really anything SPECIAL... the carrots were oddly somewhere between raw and cooked, and the flavors just didn't blend very well for us. It was worth a try, though. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      I thought these were just okay. The combination of carrots and orange just didn't work for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2007

      Very refreshingly different! I don't use baby carrots (I was told they are really regular carrots that are machine cut to appear to be baby carrots....don't know if it's true, but they don't taste that much different to me!), so I just cut mine up to the approximate size and proceeded with your recipe. I will definitely make them again. Tasty, easy and healthy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      This was terrific! It never would have occurred to me to put this combination together. I particularly liked the combination of carrots and orange; I'm not sure I'll use the green onions next time, though -- I may like this even better with just the sweetness of the carrots and orange. A really lovely, fat-free recipe -- thanks so much for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      What a delightful change, very delicious carrots. I will be making them again we loved them. the orange and green onion added a freshness to them. thanks for posting !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      How surprising! These little carrots were delicious. My 9 year old step-daughter made them for our Easter Dinner. She doesn't like orange too much but she came back for seconds. And then took the leftovers home with her! They were wonderful. I did add some butter to the carrots after we drained them for personal taste preference. I also ended up omitting the onions as they seemed to have been forgotten during the shopping trip. I will make these again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      Sooooo very easy to prepare and sooo very tasty. Served this at a family dinner, doubled the recipe, and there wasn't so much as a sliver of green onion left over. This is definitely a keeper and a pleasant change from plain steamed carrots.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2006

      loved it very light and fresh! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2006

      We really liked the flavours in this simple carrot dish, I served them with a citrusy sweet lamb shank recipe...creamy mashed potatoes and baby peas. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2005

      Nice change from the ordinary carrots. We liked the citrus flavor, but my husband wasn't overly fond of the onions. He doesn't like raw things in cooked dishes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2005

      This was good but it needed a little salt to bring out more flavor. Made a nice side dish for a luncheon on the patio...Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2005

      What a flavorful way to prepare cooked carrots! I was a bit unsure how to "chop" an orange, so I peeled and sectioned it, then sliced each section as thinly as possible. I also used a sweet onion because I did not have a green onion, but the green onion would have added some nice color. I also added about a tablespoon of butter at the end to help the flavors blend. It was a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for California Carrots

    Serving Size: 1 (148 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 56.0
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    49%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 88.7 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites