Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Cake Flour Substitute Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cake Flour Substitute

    Average Rating:

    87 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 87

    Sort by:

    • on March 23, 2008

      This is a great workable cake flour substitute - but try this much easier method of measuring. Measure out 2 cups of flour into your mixing bowl, then remove 1/4 cup and replace with 1/4 cup of cornstarch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      This worked ok for me. Honestly we felt we could slightly taste the corn flour in the cake I made with it, which wasn't the best. The cake rose beautifully though! Unfortunately, the cake was also kind of dry and just not great but I can't attribute that to the cake flour necessarily since I had never made that cake recipe before either. In a pinch, I would use this recipe again to see if I had better luck since I don't have cake flour around the house on a regular basis.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2012

      Used in Boston Cream Pie with good results. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2012

      Great substitute for the cake flour. I used it in Three Ingredient Italian Sponge Cake, to be served with The Ultimate Strawberry Shortcake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2012

      As everyone else has said this makes fine cake flour. I put 1 3/4 cup of AP flour into the bowl, added 1/4 cup of core starch and proceeded to make Rich Sour Cream Scones, from 1928. Two thumbs up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2012

      I needed cake flour for this recipe (Grandperes) and it was perfect. So easy to do. Thanks Lennie :) Made for All you can cook buffet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2011

      This worked great for the basic Southern Yellow Cake recipe which called for 3 cups of cake flour. So I had to modify if to 6 tablespoons. Worked beautifully! Light and fluffy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      I have enough different types of flour in my house that i don't need to buy another. Plus this stuff is expensive in the store... SHEESH! I don't find myself using it enough either to justify buying a whole box of it. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Lennie! its been a big help to me!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      Thank you.
      I used it for sponge cake recipe. Came out great.
      I followed the advice of others and used lemon juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      We can't buy cake flour here, and I see it used in so many recipes, so I did a search and found this recipe for making my own. As far as I could tell, it worked out just fine! I used it to make Peachtree Street Gingerbread Cake ( Peachtree Street Gingerbread Cake ). Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2011

      I was completely out of cake flour.. anyway I came on here and saw this one. This worked out like a charm for my Italian strawberry wedding cake recipe! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2011

      I used this to make my cream cheese crostada with orange marmelade and it worked perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      I couldn't find cake flour at the store, but I really needed it to make the husband cannoli for Valentine's Day. Thanks for saving me! This worked perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2010

      This worked great for me. I made gingersnap biscotti. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2010

      Thank u for posting this since i had no clue what cake flour was. Just a beginning baker but trying to get better does anyone know things to help me

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2010

      Thanks so much for posting this recipe! It worked great in my donut recipe using the Wilton Donut Pan. Yea! I didn't have to run to the store for cake flour!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      This worked really great for my sponge cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      This did not work with angel food cake. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      perfect! so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      This is perfect! I needed something quick and this worked out like a gem! So much cheaper than buying yet one more type of flour!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cake Flour Substitute

    Serving Size: 1 (251 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 459.0
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    11%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 98.0 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 11.3 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites