Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Cake Flour Substitute Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cake Flour Substitute

    Average Rating:

    89 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 89

    Sort by:

    • on March 23, 2008

      This is a great workable cake flour substitute - but try this much easier method of measuring. Measure out 2 cups of flour into your mixing bowl, then remove 1/4 cup and replace with 1/4 cup of cornstarch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      This worked ok for me. Honestly we felt we could slightly taste the corn flour in the cake I made with it, which wasn't the best. The cake rose beautifully though! Unfortunately, the cake was also kind of dry and just not great but I can't attribute that to the cake flour necessarily since I had never made that cake recipe before either. In a pinch, I would use this recipe again to see if I had better luck since I don't have cake flour around the house on a regular basis.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2012

      Used in Boston Cream Pie with good results. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2014

      This for run for your life. In her review, she said that she had used Corn flour. The recipe called for cornstarch which is another product entirely. If you make it again, using the correct ingredients, you will understand why this recipe has many good reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2014

      Worked very well :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2012

      Great substitute for the cake flour. I used it in Three Ingredient Italian Sponge Cake, to be served with The Ultimate Strawberry Shortcake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2012

      As everyone else has said this makes fine cake flour. I put 1 3/4 cup of AP flour into the bowl, added 1/4 cup of core starch and proceeded to make Rich Sour Cream Scones, from 1928. Two thumbs up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2012

      I needed cake flour for this recipe (Grandperes) and it was perfect. So easy to do. Thanks Lennie :) Made for All you can cook buffet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2011

      This worked great for the basic Southern Yellow Cake recipe which called for 3 cups of cake flour. So I had to modify if to 6 tablespoons. Worked beautifully! Light and fluffy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      I have enough different types of flour in my house that i don't need to buy another. Plus this stuff is expensive in the store... SHEESH! I don't find myself using it enough either to justify buying a whole box of it. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Lennie! its been a big help to me!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      Thank you.
      I used it for sponge cake recipe. Came out great.
      I followed the advice of others and used lemon juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      We can't buy cake flour here, and I see it used in so many recipes, so I did a search and found this recipe for making my own. As far as I could tell, it worked out just fine! I used it to make Peachtree Street Gingerbread Cake ( Peachtree Street Gingerbread Cake ). Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2011

      I was completely out of cake flour.. anyway I came on here and saw this one. This worked out like a charm for my Italian strawberry wedding cake recipe! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2011

      I used this to make my cream cheese crostada with orange marmelade and it worked perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      I couldn't find cake flour at the store, but I really needed it to make the husband cannoli for Valentine's Day. Thanks for saving me! This worked perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2010

      This worked great for me. I made gingersnap biscotti. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2010

      Thank u for posting this since i had no clue what cake flour was. Just a beginning baker but trying to get better does anyone know things to help me

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2010

      Thanks so much for posting this recipe! It worked great in my donut recipe using the Wilton Donut Pan. Yea! I didn't have to run to the store for cake flour!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      This worked really great for my sponge cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      This did not work with angel food cake. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cake Flour Substitute

    Serving Size: 1 (251 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 459.0
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    11%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 98.0 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 11.3 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes