89 Reviews

This is a great workable cake flour substitute - but try this much easier method of measuring. Measure out 2 cups of flour into your mixing bowl, then remove 1/4 cup and replace with 1/4 cup of cornstarch.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pjbiggles March 23, 2008

This worked ok for me. Honestly we felt we could slightly taste the corn flour in the cake I made with it, which wasn't the best. The cake rose beautifully though! Unfortunately, the cake was also kind of dry and just not great but I can't attribute that to the cake flour necessarily since I had never made that cake recipe before either. In a pinch, I would use this recipe again to see if I had better luck since I don't have cake flour around the house on a regular basis.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
run for your life January 01, 2011

This for run for your life. In her review, she said that she had used Corn flour. The recipe called for cornstarch which is another product entirely. If you make it again, using the correct ingredients, you will understand why this recipe has many good reviews.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mean Mary August 16, 2014

I have enough different types of flour in my house that i don't need to buy another. Plus this stuff is expensive in the store... SHEESH! I don't find myself using it enough either to justify buying a whole box of it. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Lennie! its been a big help to me!! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes December 27, 2011

Worked very well :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Igarashi August 15, 2014

As everyone else has said this makes fine cake flour. I put 1 3/4 cup of AP flour into the bowl, added 1/4 cup of core starch and proceeded to make Rich Sour Cream Scones, from 1928. Two thumbs up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia May 05, 2012

I needed cake flour for this recipe (Grandperes) and it was perfect. So easy to do. Thanks Lennie :) Made for All you can cook buffet

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette March 09, 2012

This worked great for the basic Southern Yellow Cake recipe which called for 3 cups of cake flour. So I had to modify if to 6 tablespoons. Worked beautifully! Light and fluffy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CurlDiva December 31, 2011
Cake Flour Substitute