Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Butternut Squash Fries Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Butternut Squash Fries

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on January 08, 2013

      5 Stars for flavor, I love butternut squash. 1 Star for recipe time. The first batch at less than the 40 minutes specified were BLACK sticks. 2nd batch worked. The small ones at 10 minutes and the larger ones at about 18 minutes. Would also be good with a kick like paprika or some other spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2012

      This is crazy good! No leftovers good. I was worried at first because I didn't have any ketchup, but didn't miss it.

      I DID cook on a raised rack over a baking sheet, so they didn't stick to the pan.. Covered the pan with foil to make cleanup easy.

      Next time I make this, I will pile them on a plate and try melting Parmesan or asiago cheese on top.

      To reduce the mess from spraying oil/ sprinkling salt, I tossed the squash in a bowl with seasoned salt and olive oil to evenly coat everything. (this also lets you control the amount of ingredients so not too salty/oily)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      Really quite good, although be warned that the fries will shrink significantly by the time they are done cooking. I used a whole squash and I barely had enough for four tiny servings. They were so tasty, so we were sad that we didn't have any more. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      SUPER easy & yummy! Sprayed w/butter cooking spray & baked for closer to an hour but LOVED these!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2011

      Loved the flavor! I took mine out at 35 minutes because they were starting to burn, but they weren't crisp at all. I'm not sure if that meant I cooked them too long or not long enough. The flavor was excellent though. I adore sweet potato fries and these definitely rivaled them. I just wish they had been at least a little firmer. My Pampered Chef serrated peeler made peeling it a breeze. Will definitely make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2010

      Yummy! This was so easy and completely delicious! This is the first time I tried butternut squash so I wanted something simple to start with so I could really get a feel for the flavor of this veggie. This recipe sure fit the bill! Thanks so much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2014

      Love love love these!!! Made for the first time last night. Buttered the bottom of cookie sheet cuz I hate cooking spray. Used kosher salt and fresh ground pepper. DELICIOUS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2014

      I tried it last night with a half of my pre-cut butternut squash. I, too, ended up with black burnt squash fries like Ambervim reported last year. Half weren't too bad and were edible. They were edible. Next time, I'll try it differently by adjusting the temperature and the time to cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2014

      I liked the sweetness of the "fries". I wouldn't say they were crispy at all, but they sure were yummy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2013

      I am giving this 5 stars for the lovely sweet taste of the fries. <br/>My fries, didn't turn out very well. Some were mushy, some were crisp and some were black sticks. I couldn't seem to turn them during the process as they were all too mushy to turn. I will try this again. Perhaps I put too many on one sheet. I did cook one full butternut squash. Not half. <br/>Thanks for this delicious option for cooking butternut squash. The sticks that did turn out to be fries were sweet and crispy. I could have eaten the entire squash if all the fries turned out this good! <br/>I definitely am going to make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2013

      These were great! I added a touch of garlic powder too. The cooking time was perfect for me, they got nice and browned on the outside. I guess it depends on how thick you cut them... I cut them around 1/2 inch thick. Would probably be delicious dipped in maple syrup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2013

      These were fantastic. These are going to be my new favorite treat. Thank You.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2013

    • on March 26, 2013

      Delicious taste for DD1 (5 years old) DD2 (15 months) and I, however they did not crisp like fries. I think it does depend on the pan somewhat. As that was the case I had with two pans of sweet potato fries once. I used 2 steel pans this time I think. Instead of kosher salt I used sea salt, organic extra virgin olive oil instead of garbage spray. We loved these without ketchup (had none on hand though) also no syrup either alone they were yummy but just like cooked squash which we like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2012

      I could not get these crispy. Ended up just being cooked squash that was a lot of work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2012

      Fantastic! We were so excited to have a different idea for butternut squash, since we stock up in the Fall. Thank you! It was delicious! Biggest difficulty for me is peeling the squash when it is raw. Anyone have any good tips for that?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2012

      made turnip fries other day and like better, but this still good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2012

      Thanks for sharing this recipe. So tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2012

      I'll be darned...these aren't bad! If the reader is like me and very skeptical I encourage you to go ahead and try them. I cut up regular potatoes to make as a back up just in case we didn't like them. I guess we'll have to eat them tomorrow. They taste like regular fries with ketchup and like sweet potato fries without. We liked them both ways. Even my guys who don't like butternut squash ate them up. Wish I had made more.
      In a nutshell, if you're a doubter like me don't be afraid, you'll be pleasantly surprized

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2012

    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Butternut Squash Fries

    Serving Size: 1 (113 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 255.3
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    87%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 22.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 66.3 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 11.3 g
    45%
    Sugars 12.4 g
    49%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes