57 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

5 Stars for flavor, I love butternut squash. 1 Star for recipe time. The first batch at less than the 40 minutes specified were BLACK sticks. 2nd batch worked. The small ones at 10 minutes and the larger ones at about 18 minutes. Would also be good with a kick like paprika or some other spice.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ambervim January 08, 2013

This is crazy good! No leftovers good. I was worried at first because I didn't have any ketchup, but didn't miss it.

I DID cook on a raised rack over a baking sheet, so they didn't stick to the pan.. Covered the pan with foil to make cleanup easy.

Next time I make this, I will pile them on a plate and try melting Parmesan or asiago cheese on top.

To reduce the mess from spraying oil/ sprinkling salt, I tossed the squash in a bowl with seasoned salt and olive oil to evenly coat everything. (this also lets you control the amount of ingredients so not too salty/oily)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ttarrantula June 25, 2012

Really quite good, although be warned that the fries will shrink significantly by the time they are done cooking. I used a whole squash and I barely had enough for four tiny servings. They were so tasty, so we were sad that we didn't have any more. Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer December 28, 2012

SUPER easy & yummy! Sprayed w/butter cooking spray & baked for closer to an hour but LOVED these!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LillyZackMom October 25, 2011

Loved the flavor! I took mine out at 35 minutes because they were starting to burn, but they weren't crisp at all. I'm not sure if that meant I cooked them too long or not long enough. The flavor was excellent though. I adore sweet potato fries and these definitely rivaled them. I just wish they had been at least a little firmer. My Pampered Chef serrated peeler made peeling it a breeze. Will definitely make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) October 08, 2011

Yummy! This was so easy and completely delicious! This is the first time I tried butternut squash so I wanted something simple to start with so I could really get a feel for the flavor of this veggie. This recipe sure fit the bill! Thanks so much for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realtor by day, Chef by night September 18, 2010

I really enjoyed this recipe, however the rest of the family gave it a zero star rating.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eldeevee January 21, 2015

Love love love these!!! Made for the first time last night. Buttered the bottom of cookie sheet cuz I hate cooking spray. Used kosher salt and fresh ground pepper. DELICIOUS!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MLemons August 03, 2014

I tried it last night with a half of my pre-cut butternut squash. I, too, ended up with black burnt squash fries like Ambervim reported last year. Half weren't too bad and were edible. They were edible. Next time, I'll try it differently by adjusting the temperature and the time to cook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristen H. May 24, 2014

I liked the sweetness of the "fries". I wouldn't say they were crispy at all, but they sure were yummy. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word April 01, 2014
Butternut Squash Fries