Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Bulgur Pilaf With Broccoli and Peppers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bulgur Pilaf With Broccoli and Peppers

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on October 22, 2011

      Very good! I used a frozen stir fry veg mix and threw in some fresh spinach. Used rotel because that's what I had on hand. Definitely going to make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      Wow! Great stuff!! I'm not a fan of whole wheat pasta or brown rice, so was skeptical about making bulgur; so glad I tried this recipe. Not "whole wheaty" or dry tasting. Moist with great flavor; my new favorite, healthy comfort food. Used about 6 tsp of olive oil (instead of 1/2 Tbsp) in order to get healthy oil in each serving. Used a yellow bell pepper instead of green. Chopped the onion and bell pepper into fairly small little pieces. Used 1 cup of drained canned tomatoes flavored with oregano, basil, and garlic. Also added 1 Tbsp. fresh, minced oregano. Used the broccoli from a bag of microwaved steamed broccoli (I steamed it in the microwave, then chopped it into really small bits, just before adding it into the pilaf.) NOTE: I used a bit more water (maybe 1/4 cup) after adding the tomatoes/bulgur/water/salt/pepper, while it was cooking over low heat (somewhere between steps 8 and 9).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      Delicious! We love bulgur and always look for good recipes. This was so simple, yet so healthy and it looked good also! I used diced tomatoes with green chiles, because it's what I had. I also used a stock in place of the water. We used it as a main dish, but it could definitely be served as a side dish. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2010

    • on February 09, 2010

      Good & healthy recipe. Thank you! I served this with some parmesan cheese. The leftovers will make a nice lunch for tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      My husband actually liked this and he is picky. It's odd because I am not the picky one, but I did not like it much. It was "ok" but something about it did not taste good for me. Saying my husband liked it is saying something though! So anyone reading this, I would say try it! You may like it, you may not. Either way, it's a good healthy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      Enjoyed this recipe so much! I used italian stewed tomatoes and added a bit of parmesan cheese before I served it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      I would have never tried bulgar but this recipe sounded good so I tried it. It was pretty good! Nice change of pace from our usual side dishes. The second time I made it without the green pepper and with pinto instead of black beans and I liked it even more! Great recipe. My DH said he felt healthier just be eating it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      It's everything they say and more.. (eating leftovers now actually!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      Lots of color and flavor. I used hot chicken broth. Served with Thai Grilled Chicken Thighs Thai Grilled Chicken Thighs and Sweet and Sour Green Beans Sweet and Sour Green Beans

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      Delicious, healthy and quick...everything I could have hoped for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      Another tasty, healthy recipe from Ladypit! I served this with her baked tilapia( # 99709)last night and had clean plates all around! Great combination of flavors- I'm looking forward to having the remaining pilaf for lunch today. Thanks for a keeper, Ladypit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2006

      I used fresh red bell pepper. It was good both warm and cold. Also, I only had diced canned tomatoes, so that is what I used. I would make it again, it was yummy. I might add a bit more oregeno to it. But it was good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2005

      A very enjoyable dish. I too increasedd the oregano and added pepper and salt. I used a combination of red, green and yellow peppers. I slo found a bit more water was required to get the bulgur just right. A great, healthy dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2005

      Very good...I added a little bit more water, and used an orange bell pepper instead of green (I just don't care for the green ones). I definately would make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2005

      Very satisfying and tasty recipe. I upped the garlic but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. This is something I can make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2005

      I liked this a lot and will certainly make it again!! Had it as a main dish for two, with just enough leftover to try it cold. Was good, too, but I added a few drops of lemon juice to the cold dish to brighten the flavor. I made the dish with 1/2 t oregano, a little over 1/2 t salt and I had to sub the black beans with kidney, as black weren't available. I further added 1 really hot chili pepper and cooked it whole in the pilaf to add some heat that we usually like with beans and with broccoli, and it turned out just great!!! Oh, and I used ea red bell pepper as suggested in the description. :) Thank you for a great addition to my cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bulgur Pilaf With Broccoli and Peppers

    Serving Size: 1 (257 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 207.8
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    10%
    Total Fat 2.5 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 272.6 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 11.0 g
    44%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 8.5 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites